Umar Akmal omitted from Champions Trophy squad after failing fitness tests.Updated with new episodes- his fitness test + mujra video

Kami taya take on it

Most bizzare thing i have heard.................bade bhaiya hi aisa sochte hai to baakiyon ka kya hoga

"This fitness issue is not a new one - how fit were we in the old days?"

"If fitness was the only criteria then as Shoaib (Akhtar) said, he wouldn't have played even once for Pakistan"

"Fact is we are fit and our fitness cannot be judged by making us run as match fitness is more essential"

"In the old days, Rana Naveed and Shoaib Akhtar were not bothered about fitness but focused on practicing on match skills alone"

"Every player is fit enough and Umar Akmal just played here in such hot weather in the Pakistan Cup"

"Umar passed the yoyo test here and I believe Inzi Bhai conducted that himself"

"I have no idea what's happened in England and only the team management can tell us more"

I'm really confused and would appreciate if someone can clear things up for me. So the guy was deemed fit in Pakistan after the fitness test conducted there. But when he landed in England he was deemed unfit. So I've two questions as I'm sure I'm missing something...

Q1. If a player has passed a fitness test in Pakistan, how could he become "unfit" while getting to England? What sort of magical flight was it that the player suddenly became unfit? Or is it the fitness test was never conducted in the first place or was rigged.

Q2. Why would a team conduct a separate fitness team in England after the selectors and the board had already conducted a fitness test and selected the players based on the test? This basically means the team management has no faith in the fitness tests conducted in Pakistan and think they are rigged.

Either way the inescapable conclusion I can draw is that the team management and the selectors/board don't think eye to eye on the fitness issue. And if the chief selector (Inzi) himself was involved in conducting the fitness test in Pakistan which was overruled by the test held in England, it paints a very damning picture about the selectors, board and Inzi.

Would love to hear from Pak fans here coz I find this incident quite intriguing and it seems there's a lot behind the incident which hasn't made it out into the open.

Edited by Ultimate_Game
18 minutes ago, Ultimate_Game said:

I'm really confused and would appreciate if someone can clear things up for me. So the guy was deemed fit in Pakistan after the fitness test conducted there. But when he landed in England he was deemed fit. So I've two questions as I'm sure I'm missing something...

Q1. If a player has passed a fitness test in Pakistan, how could he become "unfit" while getting to England? What sort of magical flight was it that the player suddenly became unfit? Or is it the fitness test was never conducted in the first place or was rigged.

Q2. Why would a team conduct a separate fitness team in England after the selectors and the board had already conducted a fitness test and selected the players based on the test? This basically means the team management has no faith in the fitness tests conducted in Pakistan and think they are rigged.

Either way the inescapable conclusion I can draw is that the team management and the selectors/board don't think eye to eye on the fitness issue. And if the chief selector (Inzi) himself was involved in conducting the fitness test in Pakistan which was overruled by the test held in England, it paints a very damning picture about the selectors, board and Inzi.

Would love to hear from Pak fans here coz I find this incident quite intriguing and it seems there's a lot behind the incident which hasn't made it out into the open. 

On your Q2, Pak team flew from West Indies straight to UK where farewell of YK was also organized. So Management took fitness test of players coming in from West Indies and in process they took another fitness test of Akmal. So it's not like Management lacks faith. 

However Akmal was probably given a pass in fitness test unfairly it seems or he was barely borderline.