PBN Posted June 19, 2017 Posted June 19, 2017 So it just wasn't the India you expect in a final. It was a total collective failure. 1. Toss. Now everyone is saying we should've batted first considering Pak are poor chasers against us in the past. And then there's pressure of a final.Losing to the lankans and the result of the last few matches likely influenced the decision of bowling first. In any case, I don't think anyone thought India would be chasing anything over 300. I think it was a good toss to lose as Sarfaraz was also going to bowl first. It's the execution that was flawed. 2. Bumrah No Ball. This was a HUGE turning point in the match for me. A wicket there and pak would've gone in defensive mode 3. Bowling attack composition 4. Lacking wicket taking bowlers up front. Infact we let pak enjoy a huge opening partnership which basically set the platform. It was like a Indian batting approach. 5. India def'n felt the pressure of the mamoth target for sure as the top 3 collapsed inside the first 10 and the pressure of wickets falling at the same time. 6. Jadhav at #4 as he would have been more able to rotate the strike than Yuvraj who was blocking one end with Dhawan hitting at the other end 7. We did not chase anything over 300+ this CT so which meant India were banking on their bowlers to restrict to something below 300 8. Honestly there wasn't that much movement from Amir in the initial overs, just the angle was there and should have been able to see him off. 9. Match Awareness. With Amir into the last ball of his 5th over, Dhawan could have easily left it alone considering that was likely his last ball of the spell but he poked at that one. 10. Poor bowling changes...in the middle overs. Should have tried Jadhav a lot sooner even when Ashwin was looking innocuous. Just from the top of my head two back to back overs of Jadeja/ Ashwin went for 16+17 runs. 11. Those early wickets of Rohit and Kohli meant the chase was rudderless from the start. There wasn't any partnership at all. 12. For balance, India def'n needs a leggie in their ranks. Everybod bowls off spin at the moment. 13. In the opening spell Bhuvi was great putting pressure on one end, but the other end was basically bleeding runs. No pressure whatsoever was being built. All in all, it was a really poor effort from the lot, some good performances from Bhuvi/Pandya being the exception
Yoda-esque Posted June 19, 2017 Posted June 19, 2017 In short ,everything Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G890A using Tapatalk
PBN Posted June 19, 2017 Author Posted June 19, 2017 Just now, Yoda-esque said: In short ,everything Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G890A using Tapatalk True, everything went wrong from the start. India were chasing the game after that No ball from Bumrah
PBN Posted June 19, 2017 Author Posted June 19, 2017 Ashwin used to be a real wicket taker.. off late he has been lacking that killer instinct once he gets hit for a few runs. A express bowling 1
beetle Posted June 19, 2017 Posted June 19, 2017 All that plus luck None of the throws hit the stumps. When the ball hit the stump ,the bail did not move. Nothing went our way. PBN, Rasgulla and Adi_91 3
Dirk_Diggler Posted June 19, 2017 Posted June 19, 2017 I'm still struggling to comprehend Pakistan could do this to us, I'm not being spoilt guys, I lived through the 90's when it seemed like they always won. My defence mechanism is telling me that it was a huge slice of luck as to why we lost, the no ball, the run out chances and that ball that hit the stumps but the bails didn't come off! Brainfade, Vilander and ThePhenomenal1 3
Haarkarjeetgaye Posted June 19, 2017 Posted June 19, 2017 Just now, Dirk_Diggler said: I'm still struggling to comprehend Pakistan could do this to us, I'm not being spoilt guys, I lived through the 90's when it seemed like they always won. My defence mechanism is telling me that it was a huge slice of luck as to why we lost, the no ball, the run out chances and that ball that hit the stumps but the bails didn't come off! that ball hit the stumps was like 49th over? how would it have mattered anyway
Dirk_Diggler Posted June 19, 2017 Posted June 19, 2017 3 minutes ago, Haarkarjeetgaye said: that ball hit the stumps was like 49th over? how would it have mattered anyway It's all part of the luck Pakistan had. It was their day.
Laaloo Posted June 19, 2017 Posted June 19, 2017 Ashwins line was pathetic. Not even trying to take a wicket express bowling and Lord 2
Cricketics Posted June 19, 2017 Posted June 19, 2017 8 minutes ago, Praggy said: Ashwins line was pathetic. Not even trying to take a wicket Negative line to start with. You have slip fielder and bowling down the line on leg to protect runs. Should have attacked. Its fine to bowl few but not every ball or majority of your deliveries. ThePhenomenal1 1
PBN Posted June 19, 2017 Author Posted June 19, 2017 (edited) ashwin's strength used to be he would look for a wicket if he had been hit the previous ball. perhaps different conditions this and opposition. chalo anyways, just been one day and i'm over the loss 95% Edited June 19, 2017 by PBN Cricketics 1
Laaloo Posted June 19, 2017 Posted June 19, 2017 1 minute ago, PBN said: ashwin's strength used to be he would look for a wicket if he had been hit the previous ball. perhaps different conditions this and opposition. chalo anyways, just been one day and i'm over the loss 95% It's easier to cope because its not a world cup lol. If it was a world cup final, I would never be able to watch cricket again. PBN, Adi_91 and maniac 3
DGBOSS Posted June 19, 2017 Posted June 19, 2017 1 hour ago, PBN said: True, everything went wrong from the start. India were chasing the game after that No ball from Bumrah Just like zaheer started with awide in that WC 2003 final and then everything went wrong for India after that!!!!
SecondSlip Posted June 19, 2017 Posted June 19, 2017 That no ball from Bumrah cost us at least 80 runs. Pakistan would have gotten nowhere near 340 had Zaman gotten out early
LordPrabhzy Posted June 19, 2017 Posted June 19, 2017 28 minutes ago, Cricketics said: This Pehle ek jadeja ne desh ka naam kharab kiya, ab ye naya Jadeja bhi yahi kar raha hai
Rasgulla Posted June 19, 2017 Posted June 19, 2017 1 hour ago, Praggy said: It's easier to cope because its not a world cup lol. If it was a world cup final, I would never be able to watch cricket again. Well you shouldn't have after 2003... you are still watching.. This is worse than 2003 losing to pak without fight in finals
Laaloo Posted June 19, 2017 Posted June 19, 2017 3 minutes ago, Rasgulla said: Well you shouldn't have after 2003... you are still watching.. This is worse than 2003 losing to pak without fight in finals Let me clarify. WC Final against Pakistan