Shastri - another ten days of practice here would have made a difference. Kohli contradicts him

54 minutes ago, putrevus said:

How is that Kohli's fault that they are in squad, you suddenly expect Rahane to do well after he failed miserably in Sl series without any practice matches.

Rahane and tendulkar or Kohli or not the same. Rahane is  a one dimensional player who made his own bed by flopping miserably in SL. Rahane was given all the chances which anyone could have given to show that he was able to bat.If he flopped there is no one to be blamed except himself.

How do you know he did not look like crap in practice?? That's all they had before first test and one Rohit was given a chance they could not have made two changes once they gave Rahul a chance . 

Gavaskar was first person to criticize that move of dropping Dhawan also.

who is a better test player rohit or rahane?????? obv rahane 

Who is a better overseas test batsman rohit or rahane????? obv rahane 

So u wud go with him

how do u expect rohit to become a better overseas batsman when it hasnt happened in years . 

Rahane struggled in India coz he isnt a gr8 player of spin but he is a gr8 player of pace , seam n bounce infact ill say best in indian team. Obv anyone will expect him to do well in his comfort zone. throw a rohit or dhawan from a flop overseas tour to a patta track in odi and see the diff . Its the same with rahane 

Even if rahane is batting crap in nets u have to back ur better batsman as his chances to do well is more. Rohit ka dekh lia na

Gavaskar to Sathiyaa gaya hai..........ye to saari dunia kitne saalon se jaanti hai . Koi gavaskar se ye puche whats dhawan overseas avg - 28 . Bolti band ho jayegi 

28 minutes ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

who is a better test player rohit or rahane?????? obv rahane 

Who is a better overseas test batsman rohit or rahane????? obv rahane 

So u wud go with him

how do u expect rohit to become a better overseas batsman when it hasnt happened in years . 

Rahane struggled in India coz he isnt a gr8 player of spin but he is a gr8 player of pace , seam n bounce infact ill say best in indian team. Obv anyone will expect him to do well in his comfort zone. throw a rohit or dhawan from a flop overseas tour to a patta track in odi and see the diff . Its the same with rahane 

Even if rahane is batting crap in nets u have to back ur better batsman as his chances to do well is more. Rohit ka dekh lia na

Gavaskar to Sathiyaa gaya hai..........ye to saari dunia kitne saalon se jaanti hai . Koi gavaskar se ye puche whats dhawan overseas avg - 28 . Bolti band ho jayegi 

That is just conjecture on your part that Rahane would have done well, Rohit after getting s many chances in ODI finally turned the corner and has become the most feared LOI/T20 player.It is not wrong on anyone's part in giving him the chance.

So what are your biggest complain non selection of Rahane , if that is biggest blunder Kohli has made then he is doing just fine.Let us see what rahane does in third test.

Why are you trying to impose your views on Kohli, he is the captain made his call based on what he saw, don't you think he should be allowed to do so.He gave Dhawan a chance he failed so gave people choice Rahul a chance but he flopped more miserably.

So whatever selections he makes if the players don't perform he won't win.

12 minutes ago, putrevus said:

That is just conjecture on your part that Rahane would have done well, Rohit after getting s many chances in ODI finally turned the corner and has become the most feared LOI/T20 player.It is not wrong on anyone's part in giving him the chance.

So what are your biggest complain non selection of Rahane , if that is biggest blunder Kohli has made then he is doing just fine.Let us see what rahane does in third test.

Why are you trying to impose your views on Kohli, he is the captain made his call based on what he saw, don't you think he should be allowed to do so.He gave Dhawan a chance he failed so gave people choice Rahul a chance but he flopped more miserably.

So whatever selections he makes if the players don't perform he won't win.

ODi n t20 cricket doesnt challenge u as much as wkts around the world are flat and game has gone in favour of batsman

Even in ODI or t20 whenever the ball has jagged around he has been abysmal , so lesson is there

We do keep writing our complains here every day u can keep checking or for ur benefit ill tag u next time. Selection of wrong player is just one part there is a lot more that isnt going right 

I have my opinon, how am i imposing my views on kohli he isnt even sitting next to me. I have strong opinions and i back it up with stats. 

Agreed if players dnt perform u dnt win doesnt mean u wnt play ur best player. 

If u keep choking n changing after 2-3 failure ull never be able to build team. Most Legends of games wud have  gone through low phases doesnt mean they were dropped. 

1-1 game a chance hahahahaa

Dhawan has had his share of chances and has failed which were given on regular bases 

Now rahul deserves those chances, and how on earth is rahul a failure after one test. Dhawan has been a failure overseas on basis of 25+ innings. 

4 hours ago, Khota said:

If we dont have Kohli, dhawan, rahane and Rohit to bat we dont have our top bats in the line up. These four have to play for sucess of the team.

Rahul, Vijay and Cheteshwar are a notch below.

I have attached the records outside Asia in this thread, care to comment?

11 hours ago, Khota said:

If we dont have Kohli, dhawan, rahane and Rohit to bat we dont have our top bats in the line up. These four have to play for sucess of the team.

Rahul, Vijay and Cheteshwar are a notch below.

LOL....NoH!t and Dhawan! 

I like Dhawan actually, when he gets going its a treat to watch.

NoH!t, that 3rd class, patta wicket, SL and WI bashing superstar. Cant stand him, India's most overrated batsman........Period!

3 minutes ago, shortbread said:

LOL....NoH!t and Dhawan! 

I like Dhawan actually, when he gets going its a treat to watch.

NoH!t, that 3rd class, patta wicket, SL and WI bashing superstar. Cant stand him, India's most overrated batsman........Period!

Rohit is good.

I was listening to Sehwag and then Ganguly commenting about the 3rd test on some news channel...both called BS on Ravi Shastri’s claims.

Dont know if they were sucking up to BCCI or not but they said that it’s the coach’s job to ask BCCI for preparation time and BCCI is more than accommodating to sub requests.

Sehwag also have the example of the Aussie tour of 2011-2012(not that it made a difference in the end)  where despite the odi series against WI going on how the coach( the much maligned Duncan Fletcher) and the test specialists flew to Australia for practice.

Shastri is the greatest BS artist of all time.

4 minutes ago, maniac said:

I was listening to Sehwag and then Ganguly commenting about the 3rd test on some news channel...both called BS on Ravi Shastri’s claims.

Dont know if they were sucking up to BCCI or not but they said that it’s the coach’s job to ask BCCI for preparation time and BCCI is more than accommodating to sub requests.

Sehwag also have the example of the Aussie tour of 2011-2012(not that it made a difference in the end)  where despite the odi series against WI going on how the coach( the much maligned Duncan Fletcher) and the test specialists flew to Australia for practice.

Shastri is the greatest BS artist of all time.

Why is it coach's job to ask for preparation time, Both Ganguly and Sehwag are smoking something???

Just now, putrevus said:

Why is it coach's job to ask for preparation time, Both Ganguly and Sehwag are smoking something???

Why should BCCI plan the schedule of practice matches, isn’t it the job of team management to layout a plan for “training” and “coaching”....key words there.

ICC and BCCis job is to agree on the actual fixtures,not plan the training path or give a plan for practice,that should be on the coach’s radar...maybe I did not articulate it well ...if you listen to them it would make more sense.

Just now, maniac said:

Why should BCCI plan the schedule of practice matches, isn’t it the job of team management to layout a plan for “training” and “coaching”....key words there.

ICC and BCCis job is to agree on the actual fixtures,not plan the training path or give a plan for practice,that should be on the coach’s radar...maybe I did not articulate it well ...if you listen to them it would make more sense.

fixtures are part of scheduling, no coach in world has any say in it. How in world Ganguly or sehwag expect Indian player to arrive early in SA when t20 series ended just 3 days before the tour.

What would sending 6 or 7 players early accomplish???There was absolutely no reason for BCCI to have t20 and an odi series just before the tour.Coach like Kumble would never work for long term because he is a hard task master and its wears people down after sometime.We saw same thing happen to Andy Flower.

Ganguly hypes himself bit too much and his chelas like Sehwag seem to agree with him everything.

Just now, putrevus said:

fixtures are part of scheduling, no coach in world has any say in it. How in world Ganguly or sehwag expect Indian player to arrive early in SA when t20 series ended just 3 days before the tour.

What would sending 6 or 7 players early accomplish???There was absolutely no reason for BCCI to have t20 and an odi series just before the tour.Coach like Kumble would never work for long term because he is a hard task master and its wears people down after sometime.We saw same thing happen to Andy Flower.

Ganguly hypes himself bit too much and his chelas like Sehwag seem to agree with him everything.

You don’t need to have an official first class game...the 6-7 players can train with local counties or clubs and practice with them....that’s what I believe they did in Australia.

anyway as I said this could be a case of them sucking up to BCCI and shifting the blame on Shastri but I have more faith in what Sehwag and Ganguly say over Ravi Shastri 

This is how prepared our batsmen were:

Top 10 run scorers this series

Top run scorers RSA tour.PNG 

Two Indian batsmen have aggregated in triple digits, and Pandya scored 93 of those in one innings. Three fifties and one century for India as opposed to eight fifties for RSA.

I like the fact that Kohli isn't making excuses, but he needs to stop deluding himself here.

Say what Ravi-bot? You have played international cricket for 10+ years with many overseas tours, been the face of Indian cricket in the commentating circle, and have been coaching for a while now, and you did not think it was absolutely necessary to get acclimatized before a critical overseas tour where Indian players have struggled in the past? :facepalm:

See, this is the typical chalta hain complacent lazy Indian mindset that is my pet peeve. He obviously realized the need and BCCI even allowed the players to go ahead of time, but then he thought, nah it is a lot of effort to coordinate this, who will go ahead of time? where to practice?.....choro yaar, bekar mein kya faltu jhamela, we will just go a few days ahead of the 1st test and figure it out!! Sab thik ho jayega:wall:

Abe chewtiye, as the Indian head coach and leader of the Indian think tank, it was your responsibility to figure this out with your captain and BCCI!! You could have excused yourself from the meaningless ODI / T20 series with SL (with someone else in charge), taken your key test players and arrived in SA a few weeks before the 1st test so that your players could a) get over jet lag and used to the SA time b) have enough net and match practice in SA conditions and c) get them mentally prepared for such a daunting task in alien environment!! Instead, you flew in with the team 3-4 days before the first test with most the players going into the test without even jet lag out of their system, let alone having match practice!!

What bothers me more is that Kohli gives the perception that he is fierce and tough, but even he did not realize and push for getting to SA to get acclimatized well ahead of the first test. A tour like this happens only every 4 years, and once you lose the opportunity to succeed, you have to wait a long time before your next chance to redeem yourself. So instead, he was busy getting married and throwing parties all over the country even up to a few days before departure. If he was so desperate for suhaag raat chuski / fuski :giggle:, he could have easily asked for a leave of absence for the SL series and gotten married, or waited until after the SA tour was over. Anushka is not going anywhere!!

This is the height of ignorance and stupidity!! 

This Kohli is like Trump man! His arrogance will not allow him to admit past mistakes. That is what is going to prevent him from introspection and hence growth as a captain. How can he say the team was prepared for the tour when they arrived 3-4 days before the first test? When he was parading his bride all over the country attending after wedding parties? When all he had on his mind was suhaag raat chuski / fuski? He was not thinking about negotiating the swinging ball(s), well maybe he was, but not the kookaburra!!! :giggle: