JourneyMan Posted August 4, 2018 Posted August 4, 2018 The Dhoniconda was the master of defence. He liked to dry up the runs and suffocate the batting side. Kohli is more aggressive by nature as well as tactically. He wants to see Aussie like confidence and attitude in the Indians.
Lannister Posted August 5, 2018 Posted August 5, 2018 It was funny the way he said it like it's a well known fact around the world. Dhoni was rubbish Test cricket. raki05, Rasgulla and Switchblade 2 1
rkt.india Posted August 5, 2018 Posted August 5, 2018 15 hours ago, Nikhil_cric said: Lol I wish we had someone like Bob. Entertaining and absolutely tears into his own team if they aren't good enough. Would have taken shastri and selectors and our batsmen to the cleaners in his analysis We have BS Bedi
Trichromatic Posted August 5, 2018 Posted August 5, 2018 7 hours ago, JourneyMan said: The Dhoniconda was the master of defence. He liked to dry up the runs and suffocate the batting side. Kohli is more aggressive by nature as well as tactically. He wants to see Aussie like confidence and attitude in the Indians. By aggressive you mean spreading field and removing Ashwin as soon as Curran started attacking? or is this example of aggressive tactics? Partnerships for first 5 wickets in SA and Eng 5-78 5-100 5-134 5-144 5-65 5-164 5-76 5-76 There is a team with similar performances recently: 5-121 5-117 5-43 5-18 5-100 5-135 5-61 5-62 5-227 5-100 5-179 5-96 Can you guess the name of the team? Hint: It's not a team with Aussie like confidence and first letter is B. Forever Indian, sscomp32, JourneyMan and 2 others 1 1 1 2
Trichromatic Posted August 5, 2018 Posted August 5, 2018 19 hours ago, Austin 3:!6 said: Now all sleeping is done by our Coach Sahab Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk That's the aussie like confidence and attitude Kohli wants to see. No surprises that Kohli wanted this guy so badly. sscomp32 and Switchblade 2
JourneyMan Posted August 5, 2018 Posted August 5, 2018 2 hours ago, Trichromatic said: By aggressive you mean spreading field and removing Ashwin as soon as Curran started attacking? or is this example of aggressive tactics? Partnerships for first 5 wickets in SA and Eng 5-78 5-100 5-134 5-144 5-65 5-164 5-76 5-76 There is a team with similar performances recently: 5-121 5-117 5-43 5-18 5-100 5-135 5-61 5-62 5-227 5-100 5-179 5-96 Can you guess the name of the team? Hint: It's not a team with Aussie like confidence and first letter is B. You're right, he clearly made a tactical error. Of course he isn't the most aggressive captain out there but there is a change from Dhoni's era. For a long time Indian pace bowlers werent even selected for taking wickets. As long as they kept it tight and bowled gentle sub 110kmh maidens the skipper was happy. This was ok on pitches where the ball didnt carry. On a green top it was a luxury for the opposing batsmen and allowed them to improve their suffering averages. Today there is a much better balance with wickets coming from pacemen and spinners both. The bowlers have adapted to overseas conditions, now the batsmen need to step it up.
Trichromatic Posted August 5, 2018 Posted August 5, 2018 45 minutes ago, JourneyMan said: For a long time Indian pace bowlers werent even selected for taking wickets. As long as they kept it tight and bowled gentle sub 110kmh maidens the skipper was happy. This was ok on pitches where the ball didnt carry. On a green top it was a luxury for the opposing batsmen and allowed them to improve their suffering averages. Today there is a much better balance with wickets coming from pacemen and spinners both. The bowlers have adapted to overseas conditions, now the batsmen need to step it up. Shami, Ishant, Bhuvi, Ashwin, Jadeja all are product of Dhoni era. Even Bumrah was promoted to international cricket by Dhoni. These players have been doing well since 2014. 2 new bowlers who have excelled under Kohli are Kuldeep and Chahal and even then Kohli was reluctant to back Kuldeep. Yadav has regressed under Kohli (even though Kohli may not be reason). But clearly captain doesn't given much confidence to them either, e.g. even when wickets weren't falling Kohli wasn't throwing ball to Yadav. It was Kohli who dropped Bhuvi from 2nd test in SA even though he was best AR we had in that series. Name 1 bowler or batsman which has been backed, groomed and promoted by Kohli. It's been 3 years and instead of getting new players, others are struggling. Only 2 players have gained from Kohli's captaincy in tests - Pandya and Dhawan. asterix, sscomp32, Shunya and 1 other 1 2 1
R!TTER Posted August 5, 2018 Posted August 5, 2018 Just now, Trichromatic said: Name 1 bowler or batsman which has been backed, groomed and promoted by Kohli. It's been 3 years and instead of getting new players, others are struggling. Only 2 players have gained from Kohli's captaincy in tests - Pandya and Dhawan. Mere pass Pandya hai, Dhawan hai, Sharma hai, tumhare pass kya hai? - Kohli playing ViJay, from Deewar, in press conference
Switchblade Posted August 5, 2018 Posted August 5, 2018 12 hours ago, Shunya said: Dhoni and his team failed in England does not change the fact that Dhoni was/is a master tactician behind the stumps, as compared to clueless captain kohli At home except England Test series he was good but even if you are his die hard fan he was beyond pathetic overseas.If he was the captain Bairstow and Root might have scored double centuries in the first innings itself.
The Dark Horse Posted August 5, 2018 Posted August 5, 2018 (edited) Kohli is not a great test captain by any means but Dhoni was plain rubbish. He would sit back and wait for things to happen. That percolated into the minds of fast bowlers as well. The lesser said about field placing the better. Team selections...lol. Dhoni brought in his buddy RP Singh in England when he was happily holidaying with a beer belly. TBH, with Dhoni the Indian test team was going through the motions outside Asia. The one thing Kohli should look at is giving confidence to players, and of course better team selections. Constant chopping and changing is not gonna help build player's confidence. Edited August 5, 2018 by The Dark Horse Switchblade, sscomp32, speedheat and 2 others 1 3 1
Shunya Posted August 5, 2018 Posted August 5, 2018 24 minutes ago, Switchblade said: At home except England Test series he was good but even if you are his die hard fan he was beyond pathetic overseas.If he was the captain Bairstow and Root might have scored double centuries in the first innings itself. All SENA tour matches are being played in bowler friendly conditions and our bowling unit is strongest of all teams currently. I consider that makes it an easy job for the captain. But unfortunately, our players are becoming mentally weak with all this false aggression PR. Kohli just looks clueless on field in any format as compared to Dhoni who is way smarter. His attitude is working very well for himself, but forcing the whole team to accept it is not working well. Got too much control and power now with Kumble out that he has nobody around with counter views. He is playing with fire. It makes him the greatest batsmen, but the team suffers overall. We should have won SA series and also this match. Our side is much stronger than the opposition. Its fair to say that Dhoni was miserable in his 2nd half of away tours, but its hard to accept Kohli has more brains than Dhoni. Willis bhai can say whatever he wishes. Kohli is more entertaining and that is what everyone loves nowadays and brings in crowd. Tactically he is a noob. sscomp32 1
rkt.india Posted August 5, 2018 Posted August 5, 2018 4 hours ago, Trichromatic said: By aggressive you mean spreading field and removing Ashwin as soon as Curran started attacking? that was for sure a good move. you dont want to give free runs when someone is trying to attack. They didn't last long after that.
Switchblade Posted August 5, 2018 Posted August 5, 2018 14 minutes ago, Shunya said: All SENA tour matches are being played in bowler friendly conditions and our bowling unit is strongest of all teams currently. I consider that makes it an easy job for the captain. But unfortunately, our players are becoming mentally weak with all this false aggression PR. Kohli just looks clueless on field in any format as compared to Dhoni who is way smarter. His attitude is working very well for himself, but forcing the whole team to accept it is not working well. Got too much control and power now with Kumble out that he has nobody around with counter views. He is playing with fire. It makes him the greatest batsmen, but the team suffers overall. We should have won SA series and also this match. Our side is much stronger than the opposition. Its fair to say that Dhoni was miserable in his 2nd half of away tours, but its hard to accept Kohli has more brains than Dhoni. Willis bhai can say whatever he wishes. Kohli is more entertaining and that is what everyone loves nowadays and brings in crowd. Tactically he is a noob. He is clueless my friend but still as far as 5 day games are concerned we are at least giving a fight back to the opposition that was not the case before.Even I know when most of them feel we can win the series in England I am giving them the edge due to our past history in SENA the English team might be bad but still better at handling pressure than us in their conditions.I consider them as favorites because of our weak batting line up and lack of confidence in these conditions.
asterix Posted August 5, 2018 Posted August 5, 2018 ^ Giving fight because Broad & Anderson are at the fag end of their career. This Kohli would’ve shat in his pants if Captaining in the 2014 series...
Switchblade Posted August 5, 2018 Posted August 5, 2018 4 minutes ago, asterix said: ^ Giving fight because Broad & Anderson are at the fag end of their career. This Kohli would’ve shat in his pants if Captaining in the 2014 series... Under him in Adelaide we came close to winning not calling him a messiah or something but under Dhoni aap hi jante hai Dada k kya hota Adelaide me.Kohli is not a great captain but still better than Dhoni overseas.
asterix Posted August 5, 2018 Posted August 5, 2018 ^ Yes better than Dhoni in many aspects but also worse than Dhoni in many other...I absolutely hate coterie/groups/favourites... Kohli has surpassed Dhoni in that respect...He’s such a fighter and determined character as a batsman, I’m surprised why it has not translated in his captaincy... He just panics the moment put under pressure...He actually ditches his bowlers in bowling or field placings the moment opposition attacks... Forever Indian 1
Switchblade Posted August 5, 2018 Posted August 5, 2018 5 minutes ago, asterix said: ^ Yes better than Dhoni in many aspects but also worse than Dhoni in many other... I absolutely hate coterie/groups/favourites... Kohli has surpassed Dhoni in that respect... He’s such a fighter and determined character as a batsman, I’m surprised why it has not translated in his captaincy... He just panics the moment put under pressure... He actually ditches his bowlers in bowling or field placings the moment opposition attacks... He will learn with time but yes favourites he has played its due to him we have a drunkard as a coach who talks big but can’t show the results as far as performance goes.
Switchblade Posted August 5, 2018 Posted August 5, 2018 7 hours ago, rkt.india said: We have BS Bedi He is a nutcase listen from 48 second mark paise cricket se hi nahi aur bhi zariye hai kamane k log GB road me bhi ja k paise banate hai
R!TTER Posted August 5, 2018 Posted August 5, 2018 Just now, Switchblade said: He is a nutcase listen from 48 second mark paise cricket se hi nahi aur bhi zariye hai kamane k log GB road me bhi ja k paise banate hai Wow look at Rajiv Shukla, he became a (rupee) billionaire sucking BCCI honchos, now he's making money off IPL. Switchblade 1
LordPrabhzy Posted August 5, 2018 Posted August 5, 2018 16 hours ago, Shunya said: Dhoni and his team failed in England does not change the fact that Dhoni was/is a master tactician behind the stumps, as compared to clueless captain kohli maybe in LOI in tests?- remember Vinay Koomar in Aus? Remember Jaidev Unadfast in SA Bringing himself on to bowl in 2011 Lords match. Shaking hands with opposition captain in WI instead of going for it when we needed like 20/30 runs to win? Switchblade 1