Has IPL hurt Indian Cricket?

Stradlater

10 minutes ago, Stradlater said:

Absolute bollocks.

We are talking of 2008 and not mid 70s when nepotism used to be rife and outside of major cities such as Bombay, Delhi, Calcutta, it was extremely difficult for a player from a humble background to make in the team.

Bumrah actually is from a decent Family. Otoh guys like Irfan Pathan, Zaheer Khan, Harbhajan Singh, Virendra Sehwag, MS Dhoni all came from middle/lower middle class background. You are making it sound as if pre IPL, Indian cricket was plagued with discrimination and partisanship. Infact 2000 to 2008 was our best period in the entire cricketing history and those who contributed most in that success all had humble origins.

And lol what has IPL to do with bowling speeds? Our infrastructure and resources have grown tremendously in last decade leading to establishment of more academies which are responsible for growth of fast bowling culture.

My mate coached Bumrah 3 mornings every week upto age 19 at Ahmedabad elite young cricketers and yes you are correct he  comes from a decent family. 

14 minutes ago, UrmiSinhaRay said:

Bumrah's parents are rich enough

Sent from my SM-G610F using Tapatalk

Bumrah don't have father.His single mother raised him.he was from rich family but in 2001 his father died.their entire business went in terrible loss

His mother had terrible dispute with his father in law.You will read the story of Bumrah's grandfather driving auto.Last year he went to meet Bumrah but his mother refused.Already old and broken He committed suicide by jumping in river in Gujarat

Bumrah don't have father.His single mother raised him.he was from rich family but in 2001 his father died.their entire business went in terrible loss
His mother had terrible dispute with his father in law.You will read the story of Bumrah's grandfather driving auto.Last year he went to meet Bumrah but his mother refused.Already old and broken He committed suicide by jumping in river in Gujarat
News report?

Sent from my CPH1609 using Tapatalk

2 minutes ago, Tattieboy said:

Ooooh, so a decent person or family is a rich family

His mother was teacher and later became principal.We all know that what is salary of teacher  in India.Moreover family had terrible fight so its not a decent life.He was not from slums but definitely not from well to do

Just now, Singh bling said:

His mother was teacher and later became principal.We all know that what is salary of teacher  in India.Moreover family had terrible fight so its not a decent life.He was not from slums but definitely not from well to do

The examples I gave above all had families relatively less well off compared to Bumrah and yet they thrived and succeeded in the pre IPL culture when in fact as per your logic they shouldn't even have made it to the team due to the high prevalence of Bhai bhatijawad in the system.

Just now, Singh bling said:

I didn't reply to your comment , I rep!ied to Stradlater who said DECENT family.

Now you may still think decent means have money but many others don't You might think to  be a teacher and then a principle in India is a low level job because of salary in India but in most other countries that is a highly respected job. 

20 minutes ago, Stradlater said:

The examples I gave above all had families relatively less well off compared to Bumrah and yet they thrived and succeeded in the pre IPL culture when in fact as per your logic they shouldn't even have made it to the team due to the high prevalence of Bhai bhatijawad in the system.

So you are saying India never had corruption or bhai bhatijawaad? BTW the fact is now players have two options for career either go through Ranji , domestic or through IPL.And bhai bhatijawaad does not mean that no talent can go through.

Also the examples of players you have given were from middle class families may be from small town most of players had fathers , elder brothers to support them.

Also lets go to your original question IPL destroying cricket .It means we should have been seeing excellent spinners , very good death over pacers and power hitters.But wait we are not seeing this in IPL.So where Indian talent is going

And please see most run getters and wicket takers of Ranji trophy 2017 -18 very few of them were seen in IPL and hardly any of them picked in Indian test team .So it is fault of selectors to pick K L Rahul and Pant ahead of those who scored in Ranji

7 minutes ago, Singh bling said:

So you are saying India never had corruption or bhai bhatijawaad? BTW the fact is now players have two options for career either go through Ranji , domestic or through IPL.And bhai bhatijawaad does not mean that no talent can go through.

No all I'm saying is that you are blowing this nepotism thing out of proportions by somehow depicting the Pre IPL period as some sort of closed system where outsiders rarely got to enter which is absolutely false.

Also the examples of players you have given were from middle class families may be from small town most of players had fathers , elder brothers to support them.

Lol Irfan, Dhoni , Zaheer all were lower middle class small town players

And why are you so hung up on Bumrah anyway? IPL has completed 10 years recently. Surely there has to be more players. Because if there aren't than Bumrah is an exception and not a norm.

Also lets go to your original question IPL destroying cricket .It means we should have been seeing excellent spinners , very good death over pacers and power hitters.But wait we are not seeing this in IPL.So where Indian talent is going

Downfall of Indian cricket has many reasons behind it and I believe IPL is one of the major ones.  I never claimed it's the only factor behind our shambolic performances, did I?

And please see most run getters and wicket takers of Ranji trophy 2017 -18 very few of them were seen in IPL and hardly any of them picked in Indian test team .So it is fault of selectors to pick K L Rahul and Pant ahead of those who scored in Ranji

Clearly you failed to understand the motive behind the thread. My point was due to emergence of IPL, a culture of recklessness has developed whereby players aren't motivated enough to perform for the national side and are content with earning million bucks playing for franchise.

Out of various factors plaguing Indian Test cricket, IPL is in top 2 or 3. But it is the top most reason when it comes to Indian batsmen playing Test matches. 

The absolute lack of backfoot play to fast bowlers in tests is one such example including kohli himself. Which results in not enough runs made off the square.

Focusing too much on defense technique which curtails your scoring opportunities. Simply enough runs weren't made to put opposition bowlers in the back foot. We lost 1st test by a mere 31 runs and the 4th by 60.

Not much feet movement to spinners. Always allowing the spinners to settle in a rhythm and allowing them to wreck havoc. Our guys kept on defending moeen ali. defending is good but eventually you will nick one to the nearby fielders or risk lbw.

Edited by Stan AF

Australia hasn’t won a test series in Asia since god knows when. Has BBL hurt them? 

England just got blanked 0-4 last January in the ashes. Has T20 blast hurt them? 

Pakistan just lost 0-2 to SL in UAE. Has PSL hurt them? 

SA lost 0-2 in SL embarrassingly. Has Ram Slam T20 hurt them? 

Fact is that every team is awful away from home. T20 leagues have nothing to do with it. 

Edited by SecondSlip
11 hours ago, mishra said:

Back to IPL, It should be made mandatory to share certain percentage of revenue as bonus to test specialists. I am sure it wont be more than 0.01% to make test cricketer interested in doing well

That's absurd. Why would anyone want to give their earnings to players who can't make it to IPL because of lack of skills. 

The test players are already earning crores of money in the form of an annual contract with BCCI. Maybe they should get a hike but not out of the pockets of IPL players. 

Edited by Lannister