We are not machines. I am tired. But no one is going to say take rest: Shreyas Iyer

Switchblade

20 minutes ago, beetle said:

Cribbing to friends is vastly different from giving an interview to the media and saying one doesn't care now.

Just shows too much negativity.

I also wonder about his management team making him do things that may not be right....like giving interviews like this and going to talk shows of gossip hosts.

He is 25....not a kid . He should know better.

I can understand the frustration though...seeing dhoni ,rayadu ans parthiv being recycled must not be easy.

There are positive guys and there are negative guys . A guy like Mayank who had been doing very good stayed positive inspite of being overlooked for so long.

Iyer comes across as very negative.

He has mentioned a girl who did not give him bhav before ipl contract and how she called him once he got a contract of 1-2  crores ...not in one but three interviews.That is so immature .

Does he not realise people are listening to his whining about the girl only because he had got a contract ipl.

Last time he whined about it was after playing for India.

Doesn't know how to get over things.

mayank just got his chance, hence circumspect.. shreyas got his and has it taken away unceremoniously. just feel he is a different character who speaks his mind. maybe that comes across as negative. 

for him saying that he no longer feels for it is more philosophical. when things move out of your control you give up and just do your duty and hope for the best. i believe thats what he meant to convey, but came across differently.

by the way i am no shreyas iyer fan, but i just feel sorry for him and athletes similar to him. manoj tiwari also vented his frustrations recently. something is not right with the selection process. 

On 12/30/2018 at 11:43 PM, maniac said:

I believe What he said is that is in the context of even if he skips one game he will go down the pecking order due to how the selections make no sense and are totally random. He thinks he should have been rewarded for the non stop consistency he displayed.

then he needs to check his scores that he has been inconsistent off lately 

at the end of the day only 11 can play and some wud be more gifted then him. Gill, shaw, pant, rahul all are more gifted then him . either u work hard like kohli .....n having that drive is also a gift not many can have or else accept that life is never fair to all and do best in ur ability. His inconsistencies on A -tour atleast doesnt show he has put his best. 

M not a fan of mayank but no one can deny that he has broken the door and even someone like Siraj who also will get his chances. 

On 12/30/2018 at 11:38 PM, beetle said:

Being disappointed by non selection is one thing but getting effected by simple questions is silly for a professional cricketer.

Plus....talking about fatigue at this age is not going to help his case.

First time a specialist batsman of his age in Indian domestic cricket has complained of fatigue.  Reflects very poorly on his fitness.  Already he dropped few catches in ODI series and was dropped.  Now with him mentioning about his fitness, there is less chance he will be asked to make a comeback for an important series like WC. TM cannot include such tired individuals for WC.

It must be hard seeing kinda of Biryanis playing for India, and you sitting outside playing countless India 'A' matches. It can play with your mind. Hell it even plays with minds of fans! I do feel for Iyer. 

My advice for him would be: Those 65 days you have, take some cooking lessons. 

1 hour ago, Straight Drive said:

First time a specialist batsman of his age in Indian domestic cricket has complained of fatigue.  Reflects very poorly on his fitness.  Already he dropped few catches in ODI series and was dropped.  Now with him mentioning about his fitness, there is less chance he will be asked to make a comeback for an important series like WC. TM cannot include such tired individuals for WC.

More like mental fatigue which is even worse.

Guys the amount of stick you jokers giveing him is pathetic.  He said nothing contreversial.  Just gave you some insight in to what life is like as pro cricket.  Lots and lots of travel, away from home and living in a hotel room to hotel room.

Many players will tell you how tough the FC circuit is.  Add to that he plays India A and rep guys etc.  He dont stop playing.  So of course mentally tiring and physically tiring.  All say same thing.  He just telling you reality, grow up and undertand this.  He never said dont love playing and wont stop working hard, just telling you reality that living out of a suitcase for most of year is hard.

But he is lucky guy didnt play 20 years ago lol  At least they fly now and stay in top hotels.  Back then long train/bus journeys plus rubbish accomodation no doubts . 

On 12/30/2018 at 9:03 AM, Switchblade said:

Fatigue has been a side-effect of all that. “Body is completely tired, I am fatigued mentally. But no one is going to say take rest, Kisi ko farak pada nahi hai kuch (no one cares),” he says. Since the IPL, he has been part of India A and turned for his state for Vijay Hazare and Ranji Trophy. Does he then think that someone should tell him to take rest? “Yes. We are not machines. I wanted to tell this in any interview. There is no one to tell that players don’t get adequate rest. We are playing non-stop for two years. Zara sa break nahi milta. I am out of home for 300 days. Even if am in India, I am not home.”

is there no position for player management in domestics, i thought there was?

I hope I am reading him wrong but he comes across slightly entitled during this interview.

India has a humongous talent pool. There will always be couple of questionable selections but majority of the squad picks itself in all 3 format of the games.

Iyer plays domestic cricket for one of the top teams, has been involved with several A teams, and has a lucrative IPL contract. Not a bad position to be in. Compare this to poorly paid domestic cricketers 15 years ago who had to put up with an inferior infrastructure and no lucrative avenues like IPL to make serious amount of money.

59 minutes ago, Vilander said:

so Shreyas aspires to reach a place where they don't need to play Ranji but still feel entitled to be selected. OK.

This is dhoni's contribution to Indian cricket post retirement from test cricket .

Every tom dick harry aspires to the day when he can skip domestic cricket and not be questioned for it.

If bcci has a spine they should atleast dump Rayadu from international cricket for deciding on his own that he need not play ranjis.Ideally...everyone who refuses.But that is too much to ask.

Edited by beetle

Looking at the schedule he isn’t wrong.

After IPL, A team went on tour of England in June-July.

Then there was a quadrangular series in India in August

Vijay Hazare Trophy was played in Sept-Oct

Challenger series in Oct 

A tour to NZ in Nov-Dec

3 Ranji matches in last 3 weeks

As someone who has played all these series and played a Ranji game hours after landing in Mumbai, him feeling exhausted is natural.

18 minutes ago, ShoonyaSifar said:

Looking at the schedule he isn’t wrong.

After IPL, A team went on tour of England in June-July.

Then there was a quadrangular series in India in August

Vijay Hazare Trophy was played in Sept-Oct

Challenger series in Oct 

A tour to NZ in Nov-Dec

3 Ranji matches in last 3 weeks

As someone who has played all these series and played a Ranji game hours after landing in Mumbai, him feeling exhausted is natural.

Mumbai out of Ranji. Ab to Rest hi Rest hai. !

On 12/30/2018 at 9:25 PM, The Dark Horse said:

He should be ahead of Manish Pandey but that's about it.

I don't think he is better than Pandey. Just like Iyer,Pandey is doing well in the India A scene and domestic.

Both are average international players.

We don't see him whining about being in and out of team .He is kohli 's under 19 team mate.

At least Pandey is a gun fielder.

Edited by beetle
10 hours ago, beetle said:

This is dhoni's contribution to Indian cricket post retirement from test cricket .

can't blame him he is at the fag end of his career, he probably does not care if he plays or not. This guy has not played consistently yet and talks about being disappointed at not being picked. He wants to be considered for future based on last three years ( meaning he wants to be considered entitled for selection no matter his performance)