Prediction for WorldCup Semifinal teams

test fan

21 hours ago, Gollum said:

I expect us to get thrashed in the SF or F stage against a red hot opponent. And it will hurt, because first time since god knows how many years does the field look so weak. Even England who are the undisputed no 1 ODI outfit don't impress me because of their track record and propensity to choke in the big stage. No matter how good teams like Eng/NZ/RSA are, they can never exude the aura of past winners like Australia/WI/big 3 Asian sides in a WC KO and this time the most successful WC team looks to be at its weakest since 1992.  

We will most likely be kicking ourselves after the WC over an easy missed opportunity, we already have 5 of the best (top3, Kully, Bumrah)...all we needed was a chunk of 3-4 serviceable players in the middle. But we have this giant CSK turd chain starting from Rayudu and ending at Jadeja. It is like a football/hockey team with great forwards, great defence but nothing in the middle of the field. We don't deserve to win the trophy truth be told.  

:laugh:

Edited by Stan AF

India

Pakistan

England

Australia

Would love to see Ind Vs Pak in the final.

England clearly are the favourites.

India have a good team but then again if the top order fails in big matches then the chances of India losing increase rapidly.

Australia might do slightly better than SA and NZ.With Smith and Warner coming back, their team should do better.

Pakistan generally play well when they play in England, when no one sees them as favourites.Believe me they can be really dangerous on their day.

5 hours ago, Singh bling said:

Pakistan is murdering SA in their own land . Can't rule out such team for  WC SF

India

England

NZ

Pak

Odd definition of "murdering".  5+ dropped catches, and few missed runouts, and they only ended up with 317 on a batting beauty.  SA cruising to an easy win here.   I still maintain that their batting is like sony walkman in spotify era.  

Pak in Eng>>Pak in UAE
Pak's strategy in UAE under Arthur is nonsensical, especially their bowling combination..their bowling usually finds teeth in Eng.
Pak are better off as underdogs, they can't handle favorites tag...WC will have different dynamics than Asia Cup.
Impressive track record in ICC events, especially in England (99, 04, 09, 17). Also despite being a bang mediocre team they have won as many ICC trophies as Ind, Aus, WI in the last 10 years. That has to count for something...opposite of RSA, NZ. 

Never underestimate them, when they get on a roll they are difficult to stop and this is true especially in England. Even the hosts will fancy any other team apart from Pakistan...truth be told the Poms generally get terrified when they play padosis, even with a huge disparity in strength in their favor. Only Australia and India can stop them in WC KO stage and unfortunately Kangaroos are in turmoil while we have become serial chokers in ICC tournaments. The thing with teams like Pakistan, WI, Lanka is that in a KO match they will be more dangerous than bridesmaid teams like Eng, RSA, NZ. Pakistan's prep (rest, ODI series against Eng in WC venues) will be ideal and if they can make it to semi stage watch out. 9 matches is enough to build momentum and in this weak field at least 1 SF spot is wide open where a team can qualify with 4-5 wins in the group stage. 

I will have them as 5th in the race (behind Eng, Ind, NZ, Aus) to qualify for SF but if they do they automatically become favorites unless vintage Australia reappears. India will surely qualify for SF but close to nil chance of adding to the trophy collection, Pakistan will have a higher winning chance from that angle. 

Lagta hei ke tum bahot dar raha hei hehe..
9 minutes ago, cric_fan said:

Lagta hei ke tum bahot dar raha hei hehe..

My honest assessment, giving credit where due. 

On 1/24/2019 at 1:56 PM, sandeep said:

This format will not allow 'lucky' teams to make semi-finals.  This is not CT, they have to play 9 games and do well in a majority of them.  They are totally dependent on the hack tukkaybaaz Fakhar to get a scoring start, their middle order depends on 2 aging has-beens who can't handle pace well.  Inzamam's nephew is Azhar Ali 2.0 - compact batsman who bats too slow and gets other batsmen under pressure.  Sure Babar is pretty decent, maybe Shan Masood might do OK.  But Sarfraz is a choker with the bat and even on his best day, his ceiling is pretty low.  Pakistani batting is going to get out-gunned by the top 4 ODI units in the WC.  Its like bringing a fake rifle made in a Peshawar smithy to a modern day shoot-out.  Their desi tamancha of a lineup is hopelessly not good enough.  

They are nowhere near India 'A' in ODIs.  

exactly the format will separate the chaff. 

Eng

Ind

NZ ( because of Top order batting/Bowling)

Aus or SA ( Aus could become freak good if both Smit and Waner get to form - and if bowling clicks with new Richardson) ( SA well they have very good bowling )

Others i will be genuinely surprised. 

I somehow feel  ENG- Aus final and Aus will win it. I think they have suffered without their key players and have toughened and now got a new pace bowler ( already they were ok). 

33 minutes ago, cric_fan said:

Loving how Pak is being bigged up here. But true...don’t write the poyz off in Eng.

its all backhanded - when they do this they are imagining opening a hahaha thread when pak fails - there are some here who dont subscribe to that. 

On 1/24/2019 at 12:09 PM, maniac said:

England vs Newzealand-

Winner- England in a nail biter . A game for the ages

this is going to happen. We all know NZ is good now and they will reach their semi and give a great game and bow out as always. 

9 minutes ago, Vilander said:

this is going to happen. We all know NZ is good now and they will reach their semi and give a great game and bow out as always. 

Bro  3 day ago we seen how good they are :no: & in 6 hour we again can see how good they are now :questionmark:

1 minute ago, test fan said:

Bro  3 day ago we seen how good they are :no: & in 6 hour we again can see how good they are now :questionmark:

But they are playing Ind. I think they are better than they looked in the first game. Its just the sudden shock of higher quality after playing mediocre teams.

19 minutes ago, Vilander said:

But they are playing Ind. I think they are better than they looked in the first game. Its just the sudden shock of higher quality after playing mediocre teams.

England, Australia,India , south Africa  are better team than NZ and only 4 team goes to semifinals.

3 hours ago, test fan said:

England, Australia,India , south Africa  are better team than NZ and only 4 team goes to semifinals.

I think NZ can match SA's batting, but SA has slightly better bowling if all bowlers are fit.  But NZ can put enough pressure on SA to induce the patented Saffer choke.  

On 1/26/2019 at 12:34 AM, sandeep said:

Odd definition of "murdering".  5+ dropped catches, and few missed runouts, and they only ended up with 317 on a batting beauty.  SA cruising to an easy win here.   I still maintain that their batting is like sony walkman in spotify era.  

I guess just watch today's match. SA has not yet any convincing win while Pakistan has 2. In second ODI what should had been a convincing victory was turned into interesting match by SA when they could not get Pak around for 120 after 112/8 and later on they were 88/5 when some fluke innings by phelokwayo saved them. 3rd ODI a rain affected DL match.

People choosing Afghanistan, do you realize what massive feet they have to achieve to play semifinals? This world Cup format is not set up for couple of upset wins and walla you  piggy backed your luck to semifinal. Be realistic ...

As the famous Indian idiom goes -  “dudh ka dudh aur paani ka paani”

This world cup every team will get found out. Everyone plays everyone. No room for hidingfor any team. Pata lag jayega kaun kaun sher hai aur kaun kaun murgi.

Winning couple of games in heroic fashion after losing few games won’t take you anywhere. You got to show consistency over 9 games to qualify for semis as easily any one can bounce you out of top 4.

With WC still a few months away, what is working for teams such as Aus, NZ and SA is that they are not playing as well as they should so they can introspect and come back stronger in the World Cup 

On the other hand, Ind is crusing despite its weaknesses and at some point the wheels could turn the other way .... Have to be keep optimizing the 11 and not get complacent