Darren Sammy calls out the use of a "degrading" name for him during his time at Sunrisers Hyderabad.

24 minutes ago, coffee_rules said:

Black is ok, but not the N word. Kallu, kaala, kaalu is not appropriate, derogatory, may be not racist, but the tone is condescending. [saala] kallu [BC.]

I call people kaalu, kaaliya, kalle....all the time. There's no malice intended.

Don't apply western standards for political correctness to indian society. India doesn't politicize skin color like western countries do. If you call someone by their skin color, its NOT derogatory or demeaning.

Demeaning words in india are linked to religion or caste, not skin color.

11 minutes ago, coffee_rules said:

Maybe cashing on the current situation. Maybe it was said in a funny way, as I have seen Desis calling blacks, kaalu in India and sniggering. There are some jokes about watching WI and Eng cricket in a B&W TV , it is tough to set the contrast right, if it is too light , we can only see WI team and if it too dark, we can’t see WI players. Maybe it funny for some in India. If I see such WA forwards in US, I do object. It is insensitive and a bad joke in US. Just like the slur Baki is racist in UK, but not anywhere else.

Yes, IN THE 'US'. Not in India.

5 minutes ago, Manny_Pacquiao said:

This 'brown american' Hasan minhaj thinks modi is an evil hindu nationalist. LOL.

I'm not sure why you'd bring up this video.

Sammy brought it up. Just posted for reference.

3 minutes ago, Manny_Pacquiao said:

I call people kaalu, kaaliya, kalle....all the time. There's no malice intended.

Don't apply western standards for political correctness to indian society. India doesn't politicize skin color like western countries do. If you call someone by their skin color, its NOT derogatory or demeaning.

Calling desi friends or mocking somebody Desi as kallu, kaala is not racist. To call an AA in India, a kaalu, is in a derogatory way. 

3 minutes ago, Manny_Pacquiao said:

Besides Darren Sammy called them brothers right? In that case why not discuss it privately with Ishant instead of making a public statement using instagram? If Ishant is deliberately showing racial aggression to him then that instagram post makes sense, but that's not the case.

@Nikola's theory has some weight.

2 minutes ago, coffee_rules said:

Sammy brought it up. Just posted for reference.

Oh, my mistake.

I think the ICC is paying 'indian' hasan minhaj to speak to young 'english speaking' indians online. He posted a hilariously silly video on 'cricket corruption' a while ago.

Sammy was also made an 'honorary citizen' of pakistan for his PSL involvement. Nothing to see here. I wonder if he realizes that pakistan and india have the same norms and language, so he's probably been called the exact same thing in pakistan that he'd [probably] been called in india.

7 minutes ago, Manny_Pacquiao said:

It's degratory even by so called Indian standards. 

1 minute ago, MechEng said:

Besides Darren Sammy called them brothers right? In that case why not discuss it privately with Ishant instead of making a public statement using instagram? If Ishant is deliberately showing racial aggression to him then that instagram post makes sense, but that's not the case.

@Nikola's theory has some weight.

Rule of thumb with internet 'celebrities' - if they post something as a "public service announcement" - it's probably paid for by someone else.

7 minutes ago, coffee_rules said:

Calling desi friends or mocking somebody Desi as kallu, kaala is not racist. To call an AA in India, a kaalu, is in a derogatory way. 

I disagree. If the subject doesn't mind, its fine. If he doesn't like it, that's a different story.

Bottom line: imposing western standards for political correctness on indian society is pointless. At the risk of sounding alarmist, its almost imperialistic.

I'm sure any hindu living in america doesn't like seeing americans celebrate killing and eating cows (or any animals, for that matter). But its their country, their rules.

Edited by Manny_Pacquiao

Calling fellow Indians kaalu, kaala, kali billi etc. has malice/disrespect most of the time. People must stop defending derogatory BS, our people are obsessed with white skin and dark complexion folks especially girls face a torrid time because of that. Don't care what West does, we must improve. Half our deities are of dark complexion yet look at our matrimonial ads and popular culture.  

45 minutes ago, MechEng said:

Achha chalo, let us also start throwing our toys out of pram and sue pewdipie for bobs and vagene jokes.

Pewdipie gets lots of abuses from Indians on SM, and rightly so. He is a racist and full of malice for Indians and other non-white folks. Even the Christchurch mosque attacker cited him during the mass shooting. 

2 minutes ago, Gollum said:

Calling fellow Indians kaalu, kaala, kali billi etc. has malice/disrespect most of the time. People must stop defending derogatory BS, our people are obsessed with white skin and dark complexion folks especially girls face a torrid time because of that. Don't care what West does, we must improve. Half our deities are of dark complexion yet look at our matrimonial ads and popular culture.  

People are also obsessed with height, weight, size of their nose, size of their penis, hair, and everything else. There are superficial traits.

I didn't like being called 'lambu' or 'chashmish' (i used to wear glasses) when i was younger. Yeah, its an insult, but there's no malice intended. And in the indian context, it doesn't refer to anything BUT appearance. Because india doesn't politicize skin color, height, eye-sight or any other physical trait.

What indians decide is offensive, is upto indians. It's not for some choot foreigner or 'brown american' to tell indians what to find offensive and what not to.

2 minutes ago, coffee_rules said:

Although from Pakistan, I can see the same obsession among Indians as well. Mom wants a splashing white complexioned non-working MBBS studied girl for her raja Beta.

EYjm7gfWsAg72lz?format=jpg&name=large

Yeah, and the girl also has to be slim, well proportioned, with good hair and a good nose.

People want attractive physical traits in a partner??? NO WAY!!!!! YOU'RE KIDDING ME!!!!!!!!!!!!!! WHAT A CONTROVERSY!!

Come on, this isn't even worth discussing.

1 hour ago, Clarke said:

It's not necessarily meant in a racist sense, they don't regard him as an inferior. Seen many such descriptions being used for nicknames, chotu/lambu types, sometimes based on eye color or hair length/curls.

I think this is the biggest culture difference which will be always hard to explain to someone from overseas that when an Indian calls someone kaala, chota, mota, gittha, chinki, they don’t literally mean it and it shouldn’t be considered as racist as its part of our lingo.

But I also think that we have to change with time that what was fine in the late 90s is not isn’t appropriate in a more globalized world with social media today and this is where we might have to change ourselves too and think how rest of the world thinks of us when we say such things. 

1 minute ago, coffee_rules said:

Look at our films, fair is beautiful, dark is ugly. Don’t tell calling a person Blacky is out of respect and love.

Wrong - Dark is common, fair is exotic. People want exotic, they see common every day. Which is why actors and actresses are SURPRISE SURPRISE!!! better looking and in MUCH BETTER SHAPE than the general population. 

And yes, i respect people when i call them 'motu', 'lambu' or 'kallu'.

10 minutes ago, Gollum said:

Now you're sounding like an NRI experiencing culture shock in India.

When I dropped catches while playing gully cricket, the choice of gaalis and character assassination I received for it would have rattled any fragile person. Sammy was a test cricketer for some time, and doesn't test cricket give you nerves of steel?

4 minutes ago, Cricketics said:

I think this is the biggest culture difference which will be always hard to explain to someone from overseas that when an Indian calls someone kaala, chota, mota, gittha, chinki, they don’t literally mean it and it shouldn’t be considered as racist as its part of our lingo.

But I also think that we have to change with time that what was fine in the late 90s is not isn’t appropriate in a more globalized world with social media today and this is where we might have to change ourselves too and think how rest of the world thinks of us when we say such things. 

Hindus find eating animals to be offensive. Will the 'rest of the world' think about the sentiments of hindus and stop killing cows and chickens for food?

If the west doesn't accept india's standards, indians shouldn't give a f**** about what the west thinks. Your country, your rules.

(globalization is dead, by the way).

Edited by Manny_Pacquiao