Punjab to appeal umpiring error. Are KXIP management overreacting about yesterday's error?

Are they overreacting?  

19 members have voted

1. 1. Are they overreacting?

So Punjab management have decided to appeal against the error by Nitin Menon. What exactly are they looking to achieve? Do they want the result to be overturned?

More importantly, choking from a situation where 1 off 3 was needed with wickets hand is a bigger problem for Punjab. Despite the error, it should've have never gone to the super over. 

Punjab would've still had to score 12 runs from the final over, so winning the match wasn't necessarily a given.

A set batsman smashing a rank full toss straight to the fielder when a push to the gap would've sufficed..... let's focus on that as well. Discuss.

I don't remember which year it was but Sanjay Hazare tried to smart aleck & didn't go for 3rd umpire when Pietersen was out & subsequently he was suspended.

Nitin Menon deserves some castigation for the blunder last night. 

KXIP are well within their right to protest such a bizzare & whimsical decision.

2 minutes ago, SK_IH said:

I don't remember which year it was but Sanjay Hazare tried to smart aleck & didn't go for 3rd umpire when Pietersen was out & subsequently he was suspended.

Nitin Menon deserves some castigation for the blunder last night. 

KXIP are well within their right to protest such a bizzare & whimsical decision.

This I agree with. But what will the appeal achieve? 

5 minutes ago, jalebi_bhai said:

This I agree with. But what will the appeal achieve? 

May bring about a change in the idiotic policy of not overturning the onfield call. Exactly, how this new "no ball call" has been brought about due to another infamous blunder which irked Virat & he protested.

Edited by SK_IH
2 minutes ago, SK_IH said:

May bring about a change in the idiotic policy of not reverting the onfield call. Exactly, how this new "no ball call" has been brought about due to another infamous blunder which irked Virat & he protested.

That's been done by ICC because many overstepping calls were being missed.

Mistakes like these are rarest of the rare. If you want to go to the 3rd umpire for every decision, why have umpires at all? 

Punjab have to look themselves in the mirror. Not only did they choke in the last over, they even batted like fools in the super over, Pooran in particular.

14 minutes ago, coffee_rules said:

All are laughing at 1 off 3 balls. But it would have been 0 off 3 balls, there was no option of a choke. But this costly error. If it gets him suspended, so be it

No guarantee of that. If DC had one run less to defend, their bowling strategy and field settings might have been different. We can't assume everything else would've gone the same way... butterfly effect and all.

2 minutes ago, jalebi_bhai said:

No guarantee of that. If DC had one run less to defend, their bowling strategy and field settings might have been different. We can't assume everything else would've gone the same way... butterfly effect and all.

If this brings a change in rules for third umpire to correct all common sensical mistakes like line faults, it should be welcome  . They do for no-balls, boundary decisions (foot touching boundary line and if it is to decide 4 or 6). Better to use technology where available

2 minutes ago, coffee_rules said:

If this brings a change in rules for third umpire to correct all common sensical mistakes like line faults, it should be welcome  . They do for no-balls, boundary decisions (foot touching boundary line and if it is to decide 4 or 6). Better to use technology where available

Yea, I agree. The ICC rules don't allow it for one-shorts so I guess they couldn't do it yesterday. Hopefully this brings about the change.

Btw, i support changing rules to include umpire referrals for one-short.

Yesterday, however, was more about KXIP choking. Blaming umpire for the loss is deflection tactics.

1 minute ago, jalebi_bhai said:

Btw, i support changing rules to include umpire referrals for one-short.

Yesterday, however, was more about KXIP choking. Blaming umpire for the loss is deflection tactics.

Choke was more in giving 30 runs in last over. Getting 13 runs in last over is tough and can go either way

11 minutes ago, jalebi_bhai said:

Yea, I agree. The ICC rules don't allow it for one-shorts so I guess they couldn't do it yesterday. Hopefully this brings about the change.

This. Rule change for automatic one short calls and no ball calls should be made ASAP. Apart from this, KXIP has no right to appeal the decision because the result is a foregone conclusion but are within their rights to protest.

Also, in the past some umpires called the no ball early like Peter Willey. If the no ball call is automated and called as soon as the bowler releases (with a red light near the sight screen and an alarm), batsmen can spot it and try to hit a six off that ball in addition to the free hit ball. With latest tech, this can be made a reality

49 minutes ago, jalebi_bhai said:

That's been done by ICC because many overstepping calls were being missed.

Mistakes like these are rarest of the rare. If you want to go to the 3rd umpire for every decision, why have umpires at all? 

Punjab have to look themselves in the mirror. Not only did they choke in the last over, they even batted like fools in the super over, Pooran in particular.

BCCI had taken a decision earlier to introduce it in IPL in April, when ICC was still in trial mode.

Secondly, it is common sense to use technology when it is available. Why there should be scope for any glaring error?

Let me tell you one thing, it was Punjab that was on the wrong end of the decision last night, so it didn't create that much furore. If it were high profile teams like RCB, MI or CSK, the controversy would have been even more intense. Dhoni bhaiyya tou field mei aajate umpire ko seekhane :giggle:

It is not about Punjab's loss or win, it is about a whimsical decision that should have been corrected immediately.

11 minutes ago, SK_IH said:

BCCI had taken a decision earlier to introduce it in IPL in April, when ICC was still in trial mode.

Secondly, it is common sense to use technology when it is available. Why there should be scope for any glaring error?

Let me tell you one thing, it was Punjab that was on the wrong end of the decision last night, so it didn't create that much furore. If it were high profile teams like RCB, MI or CSK, the controversy would have been even more intense. Dhoni bhaiyya tou field mei aajate umpire ko seekhane :giggle:

It is not about Punjab's loss or win, it is about a whimsical decision that should have been corrected immediately.

are you trying to find a moral victory for kxip :phehe: chalo bhai you're granted moral victory by nithy himself

1 hour ago, SK_IH said:

Dhoni bhaiyya tou field mei aajate umpire ko seekhane 

I don't know if you noticed but Dhoni gave the umpire who gave him out a stare after it was overturned :phehe: the ump tried to smile sheepishly