Can Hardik Pandya play as a batsman alone in ODIs if he cant bowl anymore?

Austin 3:!6

7 minutes ago, aditya19 said:

is a hack batsman who cant play as pure bat at #6. rather play proper batsman gill/pandey

At no.6 most days batsman will get 15 overs....what will u do with a proper batsman who ll waste half just to get set. 

Wakeup its 2020 targets are reaching 400

Maxwell, Pollard koi technically sound batsman nahin hai 

Also this pure batsman crap is another level, Pandya plays pace much better then iyer and spin better then pandey so what pure . This hack has still gotten runs in difficult conditions when these purist were failing .

Pandya on one leg will still bowl few overs, these guys dont even bowl 1

I wonder on what basis people have made this assumption that Pandya can score runs against fast bowlers. Pandya has not shown anything which makes him a competent batsman against any bowlers let alone fast bowlers. 

4 hours ago, Suhaan said:

India needs to do a xerox what England have done with their setup

Completely revolutionized the LOI game

We can certainly match it,but a selfless approach is needed

Kaptaan should not be wielding so much power,coach should have a say, regular scrutiny

Enough of this Kohli bullshit he should be kicked out of captaincy role

He will humiliate us in WC 23 for sure

Do we have such multi dimensional players? Yaha ek parttime bowling batsmen or a bowler who can bat ke vaande hai and you want a X1 of such players :giggle:

16 minutes ago, maniac said:

Do we have such multi dimensional players? Yaha ek parttime bowling batsmen or a bowler who can bat ke vaande hai and you want a X1 of such players :giggle:

You can blame top three for being slow if we have battting till  number 9 like England. Even today Morgan at number 6 score at SR over 150 from number, he is perfectly capable of scoring a 60 ball 100 or 120 ball 100 depending on situation.Do you have those players who can sniff 100. Once Kohli stopped scoring 100s losses are piling like anything that is the reality.

Edited by putrevus
4 hours ago, Suhaan said:

India needs to do a xerox what England have done with their setup

Completely revolutionized the LOI game

We can certainly match it,but a selfless approach is needed

Kaptaan should not be wielding so much power,coach should have a say, regular scrutiny

Enough of this Kohli bullshit he should be kicked out of captaincy role

He will humiliate us in WC 23 for sure

It's impossible unless somehow we can have a power dynamic where selectors + coach are more powerful than the captain and star players 

1 hour ago, maniac said:

How did England suddenly look a different side altogether?

Before 2015 all of Stokes,Bairstow,Butler were considered as fringe players for England,they completely dissected the code of playing LOI cricket,no one can name who can be certain starter even the English weren't expecting such results

I don't see why we cant get atleast 1-2 quality players from Samson,Gill, Pant,Kishan, Ruturaj,Padikkal,Bishnoi,Tyagi,Mavi,

Prasidh,Jaiswal even Tewatia etc

There are many more,a turnaround needs an initiative

Joke of a Kaptaan is failing that is why we are failing..true atleast some sense has gotten into resident kohli  chamcha He acknowledged Kohli has failed to deliver and is hurting Indian cricket and time to move on from Joke of a Kaptaan

Kohli chamcha has his task cut out ,a fool like him will always make a failed attempt to locate some silverlining in his ragged torn  leadership CV

2 hours ago, Suhaan said:

How did England suddenly look a different side altogether?

Before 2015 all of Stokes,Bairstow,Butler were considered as fringe players for England,they completely dissected the code of playing LOI cricket,no one can name who can be certain starter even the English weren't expecting such results

I don't see why we cant get atleast 1-2 quality players from Samson,Gill, Pant,Kishan, Ruturaj,Padikkal,Bishnoi,Tyagi,Mavi,

Prasidh,Jaiswal even Tewatia etc

There are many more,a turnaround needs an initiative

Indian players play for stats, so we can't copy England's style of batting. We dont have a Roy, Bairstow, Morgan, Stokes and Buttler type hitter who can smash sixes at will. Our batsmen play for hundreds and what is funny is you are expecting guys like Gill, Ruturaj and Paddikal to bat that way. Not gonna happen.

Edited by Majestic

Looking at Paddikal it isn’t much of an upgrade, he is a like for like replacement for guys like Kohli and Dhawan who can win matches on their own depending on opposition and conditions, Rohit well I don’t think there is anyone in world cricket who can change gears like he can but Paddikal is just a good prospect who is May be Dhawan,Kohli lite.

The only guy who has that fearless attitude is Shaw but his fielding,lack of bowling ability  ,running between the wickets and overall fitness will only drag the team overall standard down. May be if he works hard here then absolutely. Samson is way too inconsistent, You can’t have too many players who come

off once in 20 games, there is already “x factor” pandya in that role.

14 minutes ago, Majestic said:

Indian players play for stats, so we can't copy England's style of batting. We dont have a Roy, Bairstow, Morgan, Stokes and Buttler type hitter who can smash sixes at will. Our batsmen play for hundreds and what is funny is you are making guys like Gill, Ruturaj and Paddikal to bat that way. Not gonna happen.

Funny?maybe

well you must get the context,there cannot be carbon copies

they dont play like them ,yes you may sound right for Gill he is orthodox but has decent power game others like Padikkal can do that 

Its not like Bairstow,Stokes were doing it when they just came in (2011)

Butler is a freak,he is doing it since 2012 but mind you his sucess rate with 360° has gone up 2015 onwards

Noone can foretell what future holds for these guys ,they all are different

But what i m saying is cricket is fast changing so our mindset has to

Its all about unsettling bowlers if they cannot India will lag behind

Edited by Suhaan
6 minutes ago, maniac said:

Looking at Paddikal it isn’t much of an upgrade, he is a like for like replacement for guys like Kohli and Dhawan who can win matches on their own depending on opposition and conditions, Rohit well I don’t think there is anyone in world cricket who can change gears like he can but Paddikal is just a good prospect who is May be Dhawan,Kohli lite.

he is quite an upgrade just not that international polished, seen him bat with more intent in domestic but once u play under kohli ur asked to play safe which was evident by whole RCB whereas in MI everyone went for the attack 

Just now, Ankit_sharma03 said:

he is quite an upgrade just not that international polished, seen him bat with more intent in domestic but once u play under kohli ur asked to play safe which was evident by whole RCB whereas in MI everyone went for the attack 

I am sure Shikhar will destroy domestic bowlers as much as Paddikal if not better.

Not writing him off but he just seems the same mould as Kohli,Dhawan,Aggarwal and even Rohit minus the insane  6 hitting game.

Nothing  wrong with that in fact that’s a huge compliment to be even compared in the same mould as those guys. All I am saying is there is not going to be any change even with Paddikal.

As I said the guys who can do Roy-Bairstow type hitting are Shaw and Samson and they have their own well documented problems like fitness,fielding and consistency 

1 minute ago, maniac said:

I am sure Shikhar will destroy domestic bowlers as much as Paddikal if not better.

on the contrary he was struggling in domestic post his injury n comeback, just had 1-2 good innings

In 5 games that he played in domestic t20 after injury he scored 87 runs at an avg of 17...easier said then done

dhawan has a limit when it comes to attack which why he is a lil behind rohit n kohli, those 2 can go bonkers in middle n end overs 

Not writing him off but he just seems the same mould as Kohli,Dhawan,Aggarwal and even Rohit minus the insane  6 hitting game.

yes if these total are in someone zone its only rohit, warner abdv  that to with good support around or else whole England batting ....not even kohli zone and definitely not dhawan 

Nothing  wrong with that in fact that’s a huge compliment to be even compared in the same mould as those guys. All I am saying is there is not going to be any change even with Paddikal.

As of now he shud be on A tours but if u tell anyone to bat safely then its no point

Same KL rahul looked like rahane this yr when he wanted to be safe in IPL

Its all about mindset 

When its pressure MI or england side beileves in fighting fire with fire 

Indian team gets in ground with a mind set lets be safe 1st.......as ex cricketers always keep yapping sambhal ke sambhal ke.....well this is the day n age of 350+

As I said the guys who can do Roy-Bairstow type hitting are Shaw and Samson and they have their own well documented problems like fitness,fielding and consistency 

Somewere a start of change has to be made in top 4 so atleast someone starts quick , yea that is also sad that guys like shaw, samson arent grabbing it and the one who did score everywhere from domestic to IPL is a lil young - paddikal 

16 hours ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

At no.6 most days batsman will get 15 overs....what will u do with a proper batsman who ll waste half just to get set. 

Wakeup its 2020 targets are reaching 400

Maxwell, Pollard koi technically sound batsman nahin hai 

Also this pure batsman crap is another level, Pandya plays pace much better then iyer and spin better then pandey so what pure . This hack has still gotten runs in difficult conditions when these purist were failing .

Pandya on one leg will still bowl few overs, these guys dont even bowl 1

not really you are going to get days at 25-3 where you need a proper batsman.. currently we have sort of team that will get 200-3 then collapse for 250. that has happened so many times in the last few years.if hacking around was everything in ODI then WI  would be dominating this format.

3 hours ago, aditya19 said:

not really you are going to get days at 25-3 where you need a proper batsman.. currently we have sort of team that will get 200-3 then collapse for 250. that has happened so many times in the last few years.if hacking around was everything in ODI then WI  would be dominating this format.

the last i remember in such situations

CT 2017 he scored

Wc 2019 he played ok

Sa test he played best knock 

Even in Aus-A game , pink ball game were all these manish, iyer, nair failed he rescued us

so its only a myth in ur head

so for that one situation we want player who add nothing else, atleast if u have someone like hussey in the wings who can do all give me that argument . We have iyer, pandey , rana who have their own set of problems 

What is hacking ? Power game is not hacking 

Did u watched his 1st game innings , he hit the ones in his zone....pulled n hooked on ground which main batsman like iyer cant. Hacks just clear one leg and hit it over leg side..they dont even have range 

also waiting for 25-3 and selecting team is pakistani mindset, england thinks who can score runs this is why they have shown door to root in t20 .