Gusty AT Ind Test 11

zen

From the top of the mind recall: 

Gavaskar 

Sehwag - for taking on the bowlers 

Amarnath - said to have batted despite bleeding iirc (blood on his shirt or something to that order)

Pujara - will not throw his wkt away 

Pataudi - played with an eye 

Mankad - made Ind competitive 

Pant - “4th innings”

Kapil

Kumble - bowled with a broken jaw 

Shami

Bumrah 

12th man: VVS - for some great knocks under pressure 

After this knock, can add Ashwin to the list. Still long way to go for Vihari.

Also I know a name (batsman) that I think should be there (hint not Rohit) but don’t want to start the whole rabbit hole again :)

5 minutes ago, Trichromatic said:

SRT - 16 yo, hit on nose, bleeding and batting.

4 minutes ago, KiraReturns23 said:

How can you miss sachin batting with a broken back against Pakistan in chennai

Please read my post. If you want 30 pages of cricinfo stat screenshots and back and forth that’s going to go nowhere, suit yourself.

10 minutes ago, KiraReturns23 said:

How can you miss sachin batting with a broken back against Pakistan in chennai

Did you see who OP is? Sachin also has batted with bad backs with painkillers, tennis elbows, also has an unbeaten 100 in highest succesful chase in india (a mammoth 387)

Most cricketers will have some gusty performances here and there. I am more interested in those who did it over a period of time ... for e.g.

Amarnath besides batting with blood on his shirt (and the pitch) has a good record of such knocks. Patuadi batted with an eye and so on :hmmm:

Just now, New guy said:

Did you see who OP is? Sachin also has batted with bad backs with painkillers, tennis elbows, also has an unbeaten 100 in highest succesful chase in india (a mammoth 387)

I don't remember the op, is he a sachin hater and dhoni chamcha? If so then my bad.

1 minute ago, zen said:

Most cricketers will have some gusty performances here and there. I am more interested in those who did it over a period of time ... for e.g.

Amarnath besides batting with blood on his shirt (and the pitch) has a good record of such knocks. Patuadi batted with an eye and so on :hmmm:

gutsy in "top order" while zen was holding a fart in - get the criteria straight.  

Never thought Zen bhai will go the "Harsh Thakor" route of inane cherrypicking, and that too over and over.

2 minutes ago, sandeep said:

gutsy in "top order"

yes, the guts to take on the new ball as well is imp ...  5 of the 6 in top 6 have batted in the top order. Gave Pataudi a pass for his eye 

16 minutes ago, zen said:

But for kumble etc, you have cited one instance .

Just now, New guy said:

But for kumble etc, you have cited one instance .

From top of the mind recall, I would not find other bowlers esp. in the lone specialist spinner spot :hmmm: