India all time test XI

Majestic

I was just wondering how many of the current players would walk into Indian all time test XI. Hence, thought of making an all time India XI.

Gavaskar

Sehwag

Dravid

Tendulkar

Kohli*

Dhoni

Jadeja*

Kapil

Ashwin*

Kumble

Bumrah*

For conditions like SENA, Zaheer can come in. Even Ishant or Shami have strong case too. But (*) mark denotes four players in that team who can walk into the test all time XI of India. If we take 2000s decade, then Tendulkar, Sehwag, Dravid, Kumble and Dhoni walks into that team, so five names with Zaheer also in consideration as 6th name.

What would be your XI though?

14 minutes ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

In home conditions coz thats easy to pick now 

1. Gavaskar
  2. Sehwag
  3. Pujara
  4. Sachin
  5. Kohli 
  6. Dhoni
  7. Jaddu
  8. Kapil 
  9. Ashwin
  10. Kumble
  11. Shami 

What about overall?

Just now, Cricspin said:

You are too biased by home stats.. Pujara is not a better bat than Dravid.  You will see by the time he ends his career. Dravid was  a much better fielder too. Can back up as keeper. Home or away Dravid gets nod above Pujara.

Pujara is boring to watch too.

You are kidding yourselves if you think Dravid doesn't make it to all time Indian Test XI. 

chacha upar padho maine kya likha hai - home condition

1 hour ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

In home conditions coz thats easy to pick now 

1. Gavaskar
  2. Sehwag
  3. Pujara
  4. Sachin
  5. Kohli 
  6. Dhoni
  7. Jaddu
  8. Kapil 
  9. Ashwin
  10. Kumble
  11. Shami 

1 minute ago, Cricspin said:

You are too biased by home stats.. Pujara is not a better bat than Dravid.  You will see by the time he ends his career. Dravid was  a much better fielder too. Can back up as keeper. Home or away Dravid gets nod above Pujara.

Pujara is boring to watch too.

You are kidding yourselves if you think Dravid doesn't make it to all time Indian Test XI. 

In home condition ill take pujara over dravid any day but overseas ill take dravid 

2 minutes ago, Cricspin said:

I have heard that opinion from you before and personally dont agree with that. Dravid averaged 56-58  overall at the same stage as Pujara 32-34 years . Not sure of exact stats but talking from memory.

Home conditions you mean flat track player. Pujara averages 47 right now when Batsmen supposed to be at their peak. 

There is not a shot in the book that Pujara plays better than Dravid. 

Plus why would I select a player who can only bat in home conditions where every other player can bat as well and cant perform when necessary outside comfort or home.

All time XI needs well rounded players. Pujara doesn't get in. Pretty sure most experts will pick Dravid.

in home condition pujara avg 60

what flat conditions, go see pitches in last few yrs....during dravid we had flatter ones 

main to kaha hi nahin im selecting overall XI, i just its for home condition or else do u think ill select 3 spinners

1 hour ago, Majestic said:

I was just wondering how many of the current players would walk into Indian all time test XI. Hence, thought of making an all time India XI.

Gavaskar

Sehwag

Dravid

Tendulkar

Kohli*

Dhoni

Jadeja*

Kapil

Ashwin*

Kumble

Bumrah*

For conditions like SENA, Zaheer can come in. Even Ishant or Shami have strong case too. But (*) mark denotes four players in that team who can walk into the test all time XI of India. If we take 2000s decade, then Tendulkar, Sehwag, Dravid, Kumble and Dhoni walks into that team, so five names with Zaheer also in consideration as 6th name.

Shami is better tha Zak. 

Gavaskar

Sehwag

Dravid (WK)

Sachin

Kohli

Laxman

Kapil (Captain)

Ashwin/Jadeja

Kumble

Zaheer

Srinanth

(dravid should keep wicket sorry I cannot name dhoni I feel he was Good ODI player but not suited for test cricket and pant is not good at keeping wickets)

Edited by helperononline
9 hours ago, Majestic said:

Gavaskar

Sehwag

Dravid

Tendulkar

Kohli*

Dhoni

Jadeja*

Kapil

Ashwin*

Kumble

Bumrah*

Very good side in SENA conditions one of Jadeja/Ashwin will make way for Shami/Zaheer

7 hours ago, Cricspin said:

We will revisit Pujara average at home when he retires. 

On topic

Of Cureent players I think Jadeja, Ashwin, Virat, Bumrah and Shami have a shot at all time Indian XI.

Bowling before current riches was not much other than Srinath, Kapil and Zaheer for  fast bowling slots. Spinners we had a lot but Jaddu and Ashwin will push them out on Batting abilities.

Kumble, Bedi are still in contention.

Also by the time Pant is done, he might just push out Dhoni.

Honestly I think pant is already ahead of Dhoni. 

1 hour ago, Soldier said:

Honestly I think pant is already ahead of Dhoni. 

No he isn't bro. 5000 runs vs 1000 runs, no comparison and Pant's keeping is pretty average.

Also, Dhoni's average is 38 which is no joke either.

1 hour ago, Majestic said:

No he isn't bro. 5000 runs vs 1000 runs, no comparison and Pant's keeping is pretty average.

Also, Dhoni's average is 38 which is no joke either.

Overseas bro. Pant is better overseas. At home we shall see soon. He avergaes 50 plus in first class. 

Any keeper who gets picked for these Alltime XIs have to be the best glovesman, period. 

If Tendulkar-Gavaskar-Dravid arent enough that we need a batting keeper, then that batting keeper would be worthless in the big picture too. 

Gavaskar

Sehwag

Dravid

Sachin

Kohli

Dhoni

Kapil

Ashwin

Zaheer

Shami

Bumrah

12th Man - Srinath

13th - Gautam Gambhir

This is just off mind. Havent checked any stats. If Pant improves his keep in the coming days, I will replace Dhoni with Pant. 

Sunil 

sehwag 

rahul 

sachin 

virat 

kapil 

dhoni 

jadeja 

kumble/ ashwin 

bumrah 

zaheer