The last 1 minute especially from 7:00 to the landing is stunning. This bird is a fabulous fabulous selection by IAF. 

Not a 5G  bird and lacks uber stealth capabilities. But can totally dominate China if we have this in numbers. 

Nothing that China has is even close. 

Edited by rangeelaraja

The zoom climb - where he/she trades forward air speed for height - is absolutely incredible. 

Take it from me, that manoeuvre is very difficult to pull off. You could easily stall the wings during the climb. 

2 hours ago, Khota said:

Rapael was the dumbest purchase in the history of IAF. It will do nothing to help Inida except cost money.

I know you hate BJP, but it should objectively not include Indian institutions. It will be hard to take you seriously, you will seem to be whining in every thread about India. It is one of state-of-the-art fighter jet better than F-16, and also F-35. F-35’s adv is its stealth tech. Rafale comes with a plan to manufacture in India. Look beyond the party sometimes 

4 minutes ago, coffee_rules said:

I know you hate BJP, but it should objectively not include Indian institutions. It will be hard to take you seriously, you will seem to be whining in every thread about India. It is one of state-of-the-art fighter jet better than F-16, and also F-35. F-35’s adv is its stealth tech. Rafale comes with a plan to manufacture in India. Look beyond the party sometimes 

You are as dumb as they come and some more. It has nothing to do with BJP but poor decision making by IAF which is a clueless organization. I am the biggest fan of Modi when it comes to Make in India initiatives. You even dont know the reasons why I made this statement because you dont understand technology and airplanes.

The worst managed airforce in the world is IAF and no one knows how to waste money better  than IAF. Once again you dumb sheet it has nothing to do with politics and BJP. I personally think Rajnath is the best minister in his cabinet.

4 hours ago, rangeelaraja said:

The last 1 minute especially from 7:00 to the landing is stunning. This bird is a fabulous fabulous selection by IAF. 

Not a 5G  bird and lacks uber stealth capabilities. But can totally dominate China if we have this in numbers. 

Nothing that China has is even close. 

And tell me exactly what does this manuver do in modern warfare?

Just now, Khota said:

You are as dumb as they come and some more. It has nothing to do with BJP but poor decision making by IAF which is a clueless organization. I am the biggest fan of Modi when it comes to Make in India initiatives. You even dont know the reasons why I made this statement because you dont understand technology and airplanes.

The worst managed airforce in the world is IAF and no one knows how to waste money better  than IAF. Once again you dumb sheet it has nothing to do with politics and BJP. I personally think Rajnath is the best minister in his cabinet.

now you are reduced to name calling. Har ek thread mein rota hain, rotlu

9 minutes ago, coffee_rules said:

now you are reduced to name calling. Har ek thread mein rota hain, rotlu

Any statement I make is about BJP in your head. You cannot think beyond politics. You cannot in your narrow mind even assume that someone who deeply cares about India made that statement. You are so defensive that anything someone says is against BJP.

15 minutes ago, Khota said:

Any statement I make is about BJP in your head. You cannot think beyond politics. You cannot in your narrow mind even assume that someone who deeply cares about India made that statement. You are so defensive that anything someone says is against BJP.

Chalo maan liya, I will take back my comments on your comments being anti-BJP here in this thread.

4 minutes ago, coffee_rules said:

Chalo maan liya, I will take back my comments on your comments being anti-BJP here in this thread.

No problem. You are my brother and we can have honest diference of opinion.

Just now, Khota said:

No problem. You are my brother and we can have honest diference of opinion.

So, bhai log, with all that being said, what are some technical reasons that Rafale is a great/horrible purchase?  

So far, we've heard:

For good: better than F-16, better than F-35 (but F-35 is more stealth), manuf in India.

For bad:  very expensive, IAF is usually inefficient and makes bad decisions.

3 hours ago, Khota said:

Rapael was the dumbest purchase in the history of IAF. It will do nothing to help Inida except cost money.

I agree everyone can fight farmers, students , communists and kejrewal. We should then to borders as the great one said. 

5 minutes ago, BacktoCricaddict said:

So, bhai log, with all that being said, what are some technical reasons that Rafale is a great/horrible purchase?  

So far, we've heard:

For good: better than F-16, better than F-35 (but F-35 is more stealth), manuf in India.

Let us keep it simple and honest.

It is better than F-16 but not as good as F-35.

it is also better than anything IAF has no doubt about it.

But here is the problem, it costs a ton and will not buy any security.

India can easily beat pakistan without this purchase and even with 500 of these aircrafts India cannot beat China.

Threat to India is from China and with that in mind this purchase does nothing.

Now look at the inventory of aircrafts India has, Mig 21, Mig 23(retd.), Mig 29, Su 30, Jaguar, Mirage 2000, Tejas and Hawk and now Rafael. To keep these flying and parts needed it is impossible to keep half of those up in a real war.

This is what they should have done. Keep building Su 30 which is a very good aircraft and make 100's of Tejas quickly. IAF should only fly two aircraft Su 30 and Tejas variants. This is the most cost effective strategy and keep on developing Tejas as a staelth etc.

Once again Rafael does nothing for IAF.

This is shameless by some posters here. We are loosing our pilots left and right with Russian aging jets. We should upgrade. We have a mix of at least two planes LCA Tejas and Rafael.

It depends what kind of war is being fought.

The Rafale is the better interceptor, the F35 has better stealth, so I guess better for attacks and bombings. America do a lot of the latter whereas India usually only fight out of defence so perhaps the Rafale is better for them.

2 hours ago, coffee_rules said:

Its not his fault. He supports kejriwal. :phehe:

4 hours ago, BacktoCricaddict said:

So far, we've heard:

Rafale is the Swiss army knife that the air force needs and deserves. Solid & proven western tech that is extremely reliable & high availability (unlike the Russian jets we use, known problems on availability), very good overall package of peformance, radars avionics & missiles, no problem of sanctions with French, multirole jet with ground attack & capable of nuclear strike from the top of my head. 

I had posted this earlier in another thread, the Mirage 2000 is the king of the hill in the IAF for more than the last two decades. Kargil air strikes, Balakot strikes & post Balakot air dominance in its skirmish with the PAF where the Sukhois didn't have the range as good as Pakistani F-16s with AIM-120 missiles.  The Sukhois are being upgraded and so are it's missiles but the Rafale takes the quality & superiority to the next generation at least on the western border. Eastern side it's a bit of an unknown but it's improbable that the PLAAF can dominate the IAF currently, it's top end is extremely unproven unlike ours.

For those that didn't know, the IAF was keen to get a lot more of the Mirage 2000 many years back, the French had shut down it's assembly line and offered the Rafale. We went through the tender route via MMRCA & decided on Rafale a while back. Things got entangled in politics & bureaucracy on cost negotiations & corruption allegations, Modi sarkar decided on expedited purchase of a smaller number. There is a possibility of a follow up order which should certainly be exercised.

Edited by Clarke
3 hours ago, Khota said:

Let us keep it simple and honest.

It is better than F-16 but not as good as F-35.

it is also better than anything IAF has no doubt about it.

But here is the problem, it costs a ton and will not buy any security.

India can easily beat pakistan without this purchase and even with 500 of these aircrafts India cannot beat China.

Threat to India is from China and with that in mind this purchase does nothing.

Now look at the inventory of aircrafts India has, Mig 21, Mig 23(retd.), Mig 29, Su 30, Jaguar, Mirage 2000, Tejas and Hawk and now Rafael. To keep these flying and parts needed it is impossible to keep half of those up in a real war.

This is what they should have done. Keep building Su 30 which is a very good aircraft and make 100's of Tejas quickly. IAF should only fly two aircraft Su 30 and Tejas variants. This is the most cost effective strategy and keep on developing Tejas as a staelth etc.

Once again Rafael does nothing for IAF.

Good post, but one thing that needs pushing back on is the "India can easily beat Pakistan ..."  While that may be true, one must be proactive and plan for the future.  What if Pak spends its entire budget on upgrading their fleet?  

In any case, it is unlikely that there will be a complete all-out Ind-Pak war and the purpose of these aircraft may be to carry out things like the surgical strikes.  Quick maneuver, in-and-out before they know what hit them.  This seems to be a good option for that.

Of course, I know very little about aircraft capabilities etc., so take it FWIW.