4 minutes ago, Jimmy Cliff said:

Uddhav is our Cuomo. 

I am in Mumbai. Try hard as they may, this govt is going down by second half of the year. They are trying. But its too little too late. 

20 hours ago, beetle said:

Covid is a special case. It is not going anywhere till the world is vaccinated and many parts of the world will not even be seeing any vaccine for years at this rate.

As a keen advocate of vaccination,he should be at the forefront to get a one time exception to patent so that all capable nations can produce vaccines and vaccinate the worldat the earliest. This is not the time for just grants for research as a solution. That should go on along with maximum access to vaccine to the poorest of nation.

There is a dark side to this guy .

If he can't support this now...he is just another wolf only interested in his investment.

beetleji, please go back and watch the interview (I posted it in this thread) and you may reconsider.  It is not about patents and investment.  It is about regulatory compliance.  The article has completely twisted what he said.  Bill Gates is no Bhuvi, but he ain't that evil either.  

Edited by BacktoCricaddict
1 minute ago, BacktoCricaddict said:

beetleji, please go back and watch the interview (I posted it in this thread) and you may reconsider.  It is not about patents and investment.  It is about regulatory compliance.  The article has completely twisted what he said.  Bill Gates is no Bhuvi, but he ain't that evil either.  

Do you know he has invested a lot in Covid vaccines? Whatever he states about regulation not being same everywhere, he is safeguarding his investment in the end, what economists call protectionism. He is making 200 bil from Corona vaccines.

https://www.fool.com/investing/2020/09/24/4-coronavirus-vaccine-stocks-the-bill-melinda-gate/

2 minutes ago, coffee_rules said:

Do you know he has invested a lot in Covid vaccines? Whatever he states about regulation not being same everywhere, he is safeguarding his investment in the end, what economists call protectionism. He is making 200 bil from Corona vaccines.

https://www.fool.com/investing/2020/09/24/4-coronavirus-vaccine-stocks-the-bill-melinda-gate/

It's not a personal investment that he is trying to profit from.  I mean, is he really profiting from investing through his non-profit foundation?  He is more likely protecting his foundation's reputation and I don't blame him.  

1 minute ago, BacktoCricaddict said:

Is he really profiting from investing through his non-profit foundation?  He is more likely protecting his foundation's reputation and I don't blame him.  

The Gates Foundation has been instrumental this year in funding coronavirus vaccine programs. But the foundation hasn't just handed money over to drugmakers; it's also invested in a few of them. Here are four coronavirus vaccine stocks that the Gates Foundation is betting on.”

Giving money is charity, buying stock is investment.

3 minutes ago, coffee_rules said:

The Gates Foundation has been instrumental this year in funding coronavirus vaccine programs. But the foundation hasn't just handed money over to drugmakers; it's also invested in a few of them. Here are four coronavirus vaccine stocks that the Gates Foundation is betting on.”

Giving money is charity, buying stock is investment.

When a foundation buys stock, what are they doing with the money they make?  

His foundation does give money, no?  Even one of my colleagues got a decent grant from them for research and they did not control anything he did.  

Also, it's not like BaMG foundation can donate to a company making vaccines.  They could make grants to start-ups, universities and NGOs.  But if they want to help with vaccine production, they put money in the company that can make vaccines, no?  I just don't see anything sinister there.      

^^

Of course, you can't rule out the possibility that I am planning to submit a grant next year to BaMG foundation for some research and am saying nice things about them because they have genetically modified 5G bots lurking on ICF to see if grant applicants are saying nice things about them.  

7 minutes ago, BacktoCricaddict said:

When a foundation buys stock, what are they doing with the money they make?  

Fodder for conspiracy theorists, like Vox video. Why should a foundation invest? They can get money contributed by all and they can choose to contribute to certain charitable causes. Maybe I am naive, don’t know how foundations work. ROI could be  used to contribute further. There is no proof that ROI gains personally for them. Watching the show Billions on Prime, they show characters who gain personally through charitable foundations :giggle:

First CM to publicly acknowledge the reality. By the time we vaccinate 18-45 , 45+ might need the next booster shots. This is going to be a ruthless cycle. 

36 minutes ago, ash said:

First CM to publicly acknowledge the reality. By the time we vaccinate 18-45 , 45+ might need the next booster shots. This is going to be a ruthless cycle. 

Then why all these states are asking for vaccination of 18+ ?

2 minutes ago, rkt.india said:

Because of political implications. They want to blame the center for not opening for all.  But in reality I have seen people in my state getting vaccine who are in their 30. 

2 hours ago, ravishingravi said:

I am in Mumbai. Try hard as they may, this govt is going down by second half of the year. They are trying. But its too little too late. 

I am also in Mumbai, they aint going anywhere

Save this 

11 minutes ago, rkt.india said:

Opening 18+ is not the issue here. The problem is the supply. First the Govt took a centralised approach, not even allowing states to vaccinate less than 60 to reduce wastage. When shortages happened, they shifted the responsibility to states. It would definitely take time for states to order and get the required amount, with both SII and BB already struggling to increase production. This is going to be a very slow process

1 hour ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

I am also in Mumbai, they aint going anywhere

Save this 

Everyone can be wishful. Writing is on the wall. I am calling exact timeline also. By Oct-Nov. Dont save this. It’s happening anyway. 

2 minutes ago, ravishingravi said:

Everyone can be wishful. Writing is on the wall. I am calling exact timeline also. By Oct-Nov. Dont save this. It’s happening anyway. 

Oct nov ....chalo dekh lete hai. Tum bhi yahi ho hum bhi yahi hai

1 minute ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

Oct nov ....chalo dekh lete hai. Tum bhi yahi ho hum bhi yahi hai

Indeed. For record I am not totally happy about it. I would rather have them complete their term than governor’s rule. But Pawar.