ICF Member Interview: zen

ICF: Tell us a little bit about yourself.

zen: I am based out of Canada and involved in a variety of projects including writing. At heart, I am an adventurer/explorer. My passion has led me to uncover new topics and places. My hobbies include travel, books, films, cricket, pens, music, and photography. I use my hobbies to gain new perspectives as well. For e.g., I study films to understand cultural dynamics over the decades. I am an advocate for a clean and green planet too.

My latest project is about gaining insights into different religions. Currently, I am reading up on Buddhism. One question that I am attempting to answer is “Are we following a religion as intended by God or as preached by priests?”.

ICF: When did you move overseas? What were the challenges you faced when you first moved there?

zen: Even when I was in India, I used to stay overseas for a month or so a year on many occasions. On a long-term basis, I moved to North America in the second half of 2000s. Since I only worked in a family business environment, a major challenge for me was to adjust to the corporate culture where agendas and politics can dominate.

Coming from a family business environment, my natural tendency is to keep company’s interest first, be entrepreneurial and create relatively fair solutions for all stakeholders. These qualities have made me stand out as a leader.

ICF: How often do you visit India? Do you have plans of coming back to India permanently one day?

zen: Not as often as I would have liked to as those that I would like to visit usually travel to North America frequently. My time is also devoted to visiting new countries, subjects, etc.

If there is an opportunity to start, takeover or partner with a business in India, I would consider moving back permanently to India.

ICF: How did you come across ICF?

zen: I joined ICF in 2010 therefore it is difficult to recall at this point.

ICF: What is the secret behind your username, are you like a Zen in real life?

zen: My name starts with “A”; therefore, I looked for a username that began with the letter at the other end of the alphabet spectrum. I did consider other names, but Zen is more aligned with my interests.

Yes, I am “Zen-like” in real life. I say Zen-like as I have not yet reached the stage where I want to be. Qualities include focusing on self-awareness and self-restraint, striving for continuous improvements, and keeping important issues above myself. One example of self-restraint is that I have not used foul language since school.

ICF: Tell us about your cricket playing experience from childhood days. What was your forte and which famous cricketer did you resemble when it came to approach/style/technique?

zen: I started out as a new ball bowler but later developed into a batsman. I made use of my height to bowl short-pitched stuff (knowing that if international Indian batsmen are weak against it, batsmen at other levels are likely to struggle too), mixing those with yorkers. However, to bowl with sustained pace for long was tough. In matches, people used to avoid opening the batting, so I volunteered to open as well, which further sparked my interest in batting. Eventually, transitioning to become a good batsman (In gully cricket, if someone picked me, the other guy would have the option to pick 2 batsmen). Later, I began captaining various teams as well. Therefore, looking at the three aspects (add to that my star like personality), you could say that I was closer to Imran Khan as a cricketer.

I enjoyed gully cricket very much as it involved family and friends. Depending upon the size and layout of a ground, it could have its own rules. I studied in a different city so when I used to go back home, I often played with friends in my hometown. Once I went to visit a friend and he said that a group is playing cricket, if I want to join them. I was not going to refuse an offer to play cricket. At the ground, the teams were just finishing the game. However, since I was as a guest, the captains agreed to allow me to bat.

The ground was a rectangle so you could only hit boundaries straight. The boundary was marked by a short but long building, forming an L shape. I came to bat with just 3 balls remaining and 9-10 runs to get. The bowler wisely bowled a short one (straight boundaries). I picked up a 2. The next ball, repeat. On the last ball, I had to get a 6. I anticipated which area the bowler was looking to bowl so decided to just charge out. As I charged out, I was able to take the ball on the full. It was a nice hit. The ball was effortlessly going to clear the building. I began to admire my shot, thinking we won, but saw the fielding side celebrate. I learned that if the ball cleared the building, you were out, my Lagaan moment!

ICF: Have you attended any cricket match in real life?

zen: I studied at a boarding school which used to take us to FC games, but I do not recall my experience from those. Apart from those, I have only attended one cricket match held at the Racecourse in Rajkot. It was more about experiencing the game with the crowd than watching the game. People stood up and moved around to make it difficult to follow the game. Every time, there was a good shot, people stood up in front of you, so you had to do the same to watch the action. Azharuddin was fielding at our corner, so some folks were shouting “Sangeeta, Sangeeta”. Usually, what was happening in the match was expressed through the actions and emotions of the crowd. If they all stood up and were cheering, it was a boundary. If they all stood up but were tense, the batsman was going to be caught.

As someone who likes to analyze the game, get a close-up view, watch replays, listen to experts, I naturally lean towards watching games on TV. Now with improved facilities at the stadiums and the ability to watch the game on TV in the box or on your phone, catching a game at the stadium is a tempting option.

ICF: What do you think needs to be done for Team India to overcome its choking tendencies in ICC knockout games?

zen: Today, the game is played at multiple levels (not just on the field). Teams not only field their full-strength sides but also come well prepared for knockouts. One aspect of the game which India can improve is preparation esp. from a strategies and tactics PoV. Many of the KO games that India has lost is due to bad selections, which has created a negative momentum at key moments. In 2014 WT20 F, Ind persisted with an out of form Yuvraj; In 2016 WT20 SF, we had Rahane; In 2017 CT F, we had two spinners; In 2019 WC SF, we had a relatively unsettled and undercooked MO; In 2021 WTC F, we played two spinners.

Second, we need to identify players who look to step up their game in key encounters. One example is Hardik Pandya, who enjoys limelight and therefore tends to perform relatively well in such games.

Third, is to keep pushing as a team. In financial technical analysis, there is a concept of resistance and support. Resistance is the price level that a financial instrument struggles to break. Support is the price level at which the price struggles to go below. The more you visit a level, the more likely you are to break it. If we look at New Zealand, it found resistance in the ODI finals in 2015 and 2019, but it kept revisiting the final to eventually break the resistance to win the WTC.

Fourth, enjoy cricket. Do not turn ICC into Indian Cricket Crying. The culture in subcontinent is result-oriented so it may not be ideally suited to team sports. When we are in school, we are judged mainly based on marks (Kya itne % nahin aye?). Subconsciously, such concepts could be being applied to cricket too (ICC trophy nahin laye?). We need to sit back and enjoy the game. The team is making it to the KOs, in a game, you can lose too. Why worry so much over a result in sports? As Klusener said after SA’s exit in 1999 SF – “So what? No one died.”

ICF: List down a few of the best batsmen you have watched live in test cricket.

zen:

•    Brian Lara – for the overall art of batting

•    Steve Waugh – for resilience and stepping up at key moments 

•    Tendulkar & Kallis (very close to each other) – for technical brilliance 

•    AB de Villiers – for 360 degrees batting 

•    Sehwag & Gilchrist (difficult to separate the two) – for aggressive batting in the top order and lower middle order respectively

ICF: In your opinion who is the greatest bowler of all time?

zen: The concept of “greatest” was mainly fueled by two players – Sir Don Bradman (Batsman) and Sir Garfield Sobers (Cricketer/All-rounder). These two cricketers were way ahead of their peers. Once these two retired, the “greatest” titles became highly speculative to hold much value. Among bowlers especially since the last great war, cricket has not seen a bowler who stood out over his peers like Bradman and Sobers did.

Assuming everyone is available and at peak, you could take a Lillee, a Hadlee, a Marshall, an Ambrose, a Steyn, etc., and not miss the others. Your picks would mainly depend upon your team composition and conditions, along with your strategies and tactics.

There is only one bowler, who would have an automatic place in my all-time 11 – Shane Warne, as we have not seen a leg spinner of equivalent quality. He is also a reasonably good batsman and a safe fielder. Among mystery spinners, there is Chandra. Among off-spinners, there is Murali. Having given Warne an automatic spot, I would likely not lose much from a bowling perspective by picking a Murali.

With the retirement of Sir Don Bradman and Sir Garfield Sobers, the concept of “greatest” should be retired as well. Now it is all about creating an optimized team.

ICF: How do you rate Rohit Sharma? Is there any aspect of his game you like/enjoy?

zen: I rate Rohit Sharma highly as a package where he adds value as a top order batsman, a safe fielder, and a competent leader. As someone who is focused on strategy and leadership, I like to watch him captain Mumbai Indians. On the other hand, a cause for concern is his relatively slow batting in powerplays, particularly in T20s.

ICF: Among non-Indians who is your current favorite (i) batsman (ii) bowler?

zen: Among those who have played Tests over the last few years: 

•    Steve Smith. Good to see an unorthodox batsman rise to the top. He is among the rare batsman who can win/draw a series with the bat 

•    Neil Wagner. He brings unique value to a team with his ability to bowl intense short-pitched bowling at pace while keeping a never say die attitude

ICF: Who is potentially the next global cricket superstar from outside India?

zen: The way Kyle Jamieson is going at the moment, he has a great opportunity to be the next global superstar.

ICF: Pick 5 future top players in Indian cricket.

zen: Expecting the following U-30 players to shine and become the mainstay of Indian cricket in this decade (2020s), if they remain fit and get opportunities:

•    Hardik Pandya – for unique power hitting abilities esp. at the death, where you not only face death bowling specialists but are also required to go after the bowling without having much time to settle down. Has good leadership potential too 

•    Rishabh Pant – Has shone in Tests and hopefully will transfer the momentum to other formats too 

•    Mohammed Siraj – A talented bowler who has a variety of acts in his repertoire 

•    Kartik Tyagi – A raw cricketer but if polished properly can add an edge to India’s pace attack 

•    Rahul Chahar – A spinner who can keep his cool in pressure situations. Competitive fielder. If he develops his batting, can add another dimension to his cricket

ICF: Apart from fitness, what is Hardik Pandya's weakness?

zen: As a batsman, he is relatively strong on the leg side. Can improve his off side game and shot selection. Many times, you will find him holing out to long off trying to hit a 6 off a tough ball which many batsmen would simply play for a single.

ICF: Any change(s) you would like to see in Pujara's game now that he is seemingly in age related decline? What adjustments (technical/mental/physical) can help him finish the endgame of his playing career on a high?

zen: As a cricketer, you would need to strive for continuous improvement. In test cricket, you would not only have to deal with experienced bowlers who are quick to spot a weakness, but also young hungry bowlers coming at you strongly. Teams are also analyzing your game to block off your strong scoring areas.

Physically, Pujara would need to get back to his best fitness, which would allow him to play more long innings. Also, a better fitness level translates to more success in taking those sharp catches in the slips.

He probably needs to work on his strategies and tactics. When he comes out to bat, he needs to set goals. He has captained regional sides so he should leverage on that experience to read the game and make constant adjustments. He can seek inspiration from Steve Smith who can not only make bowlers bowl in his areas, but also maximise his output in those scoring areas.

ICF: If you could make a few changes in IPL, what would they be?

zen: Considering the IPL is adding 2 teams, one way to ensure that the quality of cricket does not dilute is to give teams the option to field 5 international players in the 11.

Since powerplays are a big draw, try to promote more aggressive batting in it by replacing NRR with a powerplay NRR (PPNRR). By replacing NRR with PPNRR, the teams also would be more focused on going for wins rather than adopting safety first approach if the total appears beyond the reach. This is an idea that can be explored further.

ICF: Pick one player to get into Mumbai Indians next season.

zen: Next season with 2 more teams being added, IPL is slated to go into mega auction therefore MI would only be able to retain up to 5 players. However, assuming the current scenario, I would like to strengthen MI strength in pace bowling by bringing in Mitchell Starc in place of someone like Nathan Coulter-Nile (or other such bowler). It would be good to see Boult-Bumrah-Starc bowling together.

ICF: Who is your favorite cricket/sports author or journalist? Do you think that in this era of Google, a stats nerd can replace the opinions of experts?

zen: I do not read too much about sports now but do look at various analyses discussed during a game. I like Brett Lee’s analysis on bowling and Brian Lara’s analysis on batting.

Where an expert’s opinion or a stat from a nerd can add value depends upon the topic. If analyzing a bowler’s bowling action, an expert’s opinion is likely to be more useful. When analyzing a bowler’s performance after a game, stats would be more useful as you can see details like how many balls were bowled in which area, to which batsman, and what results were achieved.

ICF: Usually how many Statsguru tabs are open on your browser?

zen: I usually use stats to support an opinion. Numbers also help to discover a common ground. The number of Statsguru tabs depend upon the subject. For e.g., If evaluating Tendulkar in tests, I would usually have 3 tabs open: Batting performance when the following bowlers are in the opposition – 1) McGrath & Warne, 2) Donald, and 3) Wasim & Waqar. I may even open tabs for 500 or more runs in a series, 3 or more 100s in a series, average batting in the top order, etc.

ICF: Should decisions and opinions be 100% stats/numbers driven?

zen: In general, from a management PoV, stat/number/data is utilized for decision making, benchmarking and continuous improvement (Six Sigma), etc. The idea is to make more correct decisions while keeping emotions out. A key decision also has accountability attached to it. When you are making decisions, you are not only looking at the past, but also the future. Intuition is said to come from experience (which is formed based on past events), which may not be beneficial in a future scenario. With so many complexities and high stakes, data plays a key role. Without sufficient data, it can be difficult to take decisions.

Say India wants to go to war with Pakistan. A decision on when to go to war would be based on numbers (arsenal, personnel, weather, budget, etc.) and simulation (which would generate a success %).

Say we want to replicate the recipe of a soup created by a great chef. We can have several chefs try the soup and work to recreate the recipe or we could table the process used by the great chef so the soup can be recreated.

Say you want to pick up someone from the airport. The factors you are going to consider involve the expected traffic, the distance from the starting point to the airport, time, etc. These are all numbers.

Some people even make marriage decision based on numbers (dowry, earning potential of the groom). Vehicles can be purchased based on key numbers like mileage or 0-60 numbers.

The level of automation depends upon the topic. However, no key decision can be taken without numbers.

ICF: How good is your music sense? What do you like to listen to? Do you play any musical instrument?

zen: When I listen to a piece of music, I am usually good at connecting it with its genre. When it comes to ragas, I am not good at identifying them.

I used to listen to all kinds of music but now mainly listen to movie background scores.

My family has members who can play almost any instrument. Some of them have formed bands in university. As for me, I can play Tabla (playing random incoherent beats while thinking of myself to be playing like Ustad Zakir Hussain).

ICF: How did your interest/passion in movies start? Which movies have impacted you the most?

zen: It comes from my dad. During the VHS time, he got a VCR from Singapore which was stolen at the airport, so he immediately got another one from Bombay. We used to have people come to our house from Bombay with bags full of VHS. My dad used to just ask them to leave everything and go. That is how I had access to various films including James Bond. At times, video libraries even used to call me to see if I have some movie (so they could make copies). In the town that I grew up in, the theatres did not have good seats, so we used to drive 60 kilometers to a nearby city just to watch films.

In terms of technical brilliance, the film that has impressed me the most is Lawrence of Arabia (1962). Whichever aspect of filmmaking you look at it shines whether it is screenplay, cinematography, background score, direction, acting, or pristine locations. If Lawrence of Arabia were to be made like it was made then, it would cost around $300M. Steven Spielberg watched it when he was in high school and was inspired to make films. If I had seen this film in high school and was also mature enough to understand such films, maybe I could have got into filmmaking too. Who knows, Bollywood could have gained its own Spielberg.

James Bond films have inspired my style. I am particular about how I dress. I follow rules such as the belt should match the shoes. I even have a blue belt to go with my blue shoes. The socks should ideally match the pants or the shoes to not break the pattern. On weekends and causal days, I do experiment with colorful socks like green for example, but the green socks would still have stripes or dots that match my pants or shoes. Now James Bond can be badly dressed, but not me. Even when I go for an untidy look, there is method to madness.

ICF: How do you get time to watch so many movies?

zen: “Time hota nahin hai, nikalna padta hai.” I am good at selecting and scheduling time to watch films. When I am in the “great films” season, I avoid watching other programs including TV shows (and vice versa). Over the years, I have read about and discussed films, so I have an idea about which films to watch. Therefore, it is not like I am watching 10 random films to discover 1 good one. I watch 10 great films. Once I am done with “great films” season, I can get into “TV shows” or even “random watching” season before getting back to a more focused theme – Hitchcock, Kubrick, and so on. The pandemic has also allowed me to have more movie watching slots with focused themes.

ICF: What methodology do you use when coming up with your lists of best/favorite movies?

zen: First, I make a distinction between best and favorite. Best films are evaluated based on their technical strength and maybe even impact on cinema. On the other hand, a favorite film can be a “best” or even a guilty pleasure. One example is a Mughal-e-Azam which is not necessarily my favorite but would be among my list of best Bollywood films. On the other hand, a Namak Halaal, a Ram Balram or a Hum can be on my favorite list without being the best.

Second, I pick from films that I have mostly watched in the last 6-12 months (there can be exceptions). I consider various factors including storytelling, direction, cinematography, acting, background score and uniqueness. I also try to have some variety in my list to cover many genres including silent. I prefer films that provide a great visual and aural experience.

ICF: What is your favorite era of Bollywood?

zen: My favorite era of Bollywood is its golden age, which is considered to be from the 1950s to 1970s. However, I like to define it from roughly 1950 to mid 1980s to tie in with Raj Kapoor’s career as a director. His last film, Ram Teri Ganga Maili, was released in 1985. This was a period where we got to see some of the best talents working together to define the Indian film industry.

ICF: Why do you have special affinity for 70s and 80s Bollywood kitsch? At the same time you disregard almost everything that is from the 90s.

zen: I am a fan of global cinema of which Bollywood is a part. Over the last decade, I’ve explored a variety of films from Hollywood, Europe, Japan, Korea, etc., which means that I have had to pick and choose.

When it comes to Bollywood, the top golden age films are able to make a connection with me to keep bringing me back to Bollywood. The 90s and later films, I have liked at the time of their release but don’t see myself going back to them often. Though there are films from this era which are among my favorites such as Agneepath (1990), Munnabhai (2003), Rang De Basanti (2006), Dangal (2016), etc.

I do like songs from films of this period. For e.g., can enjoy “Yeh Khabar Chapwado Akhbar Mein” from Aflatoon but cannot watch that film now (Is this the one where Akshay Kumar is in an overcoat for most of the time?).

ICF: How do you rate South Indian movies?

zen: Most of the South Indian films that I have seen are dubbed ones. The experience has been mixed. My current favorite South Indian film is Sivaji: The Boss. Maybe because Rajinikanth is among my favorite actors and I like his style of acting, which is probably best showcased in this film once he makes that phone call with INR1. I am a fan of South Indian music.

ICF: Who is your favorite Indian actor?

zen: I have many favorites. Listing one can be difficult. The choice can also change with time. I do rate the trio of Dilip-Dev-Raj high for their impact on Bollywood.

ICF: Who is your favorite director?

zen: It is the master of suspense, Alfred Hitchcock. I have enjoyed almost all his films from 1934’s The Man Who Knew Too Much to 1966’s Torn Curtain, which is over 30 films. Of course, he has made more including silent films.

Sight and Sound, which is well respected for doing critics poll once a decade, chose Vertigo as the best film of all time in its last poll in 2012. The next poll should be in 2022.

ICF: What is your guilty pleasure movie?

zen: If I must list one, it would probably be Dirty Dancing (1987). I like the songs and the dance sequence at the end very much. Patrick Swayze is cool.

ICF: Shed light on your favorite travel spots.

zen: My current favorite is the Munich-Salzburg area. You can visit the Neuschwanstein Castle, Dachau Concentration Camp, Hofbräuhaus (Beer), and of course, the entire Salzburg area is cool. The Altstadt is a heritage site. Many Mozart fans visit Salzburg.

ICF: Do you explore India's cultural/historic heritage in your visits? Anything that stands out?

zen: I like Rajasthan, visiting its remote places feels like taking a trip back in time. The palaces are among the most magnificent that I have seen.

ICF: What is your favorite cuisine?

zen: I like most types of Indian cuisine including Gujarati, Punjabi and South Indian. If I have to pick one, I will probably go with Italian. Its relative simplicity and the use of tomatoes cater to my taste buds well. My favorite dishes include Pizza and Pasta.

ICF: Choose one, coffee or tea?

zen: I like both beverages, but my daily staple is tea - black with 1 cube of sugar. I am mostly into Darjeeling and masala teas. For me drinking a good Darjeeling tea is an experience where you watch the leaves expand in the tea bag once dipped. The aroma is pleasant too. As for masala tea, currently, I drink Tetley Masala and Kusmi Kashmiri Tchai (no sugar required). If you guys have recommendations in this category, let me know!

ICF: What inspired you to write your first book?

zen: I have been writing short stories since school. Over the years, many folks told me to write a book on business. However, when deciding to write a book, the topic needed to connect with me and be fun. The part that connected with me was India’s struggle for freedom. Incidents such as the massacre at Jallianwala Bagh make me feel melancholic. In the book, my villain is General Dyer (Dier in the book) where he does such massacres in the story. This was the part, along with writing about Indian culture, that emotionally connected with me. The fun part was in researching the location of the story. I picked the area near the Kanchenjunga Mountain. Since I like tea, the location has a Darjeeling like flavor. The heroes are a group of freedom fighters, specialized in martial arts, that fight not only the British but also the Indians who collaborate with them. Eventually, General Dier is delivered to his fate.

In the past, I have tried to read many books but left them unfinished due to their long-winding nature. I wanted my book to be a short and fast read. Something you can read for fun while waiting at the airport or on a plane.

ICF: What are your thoughts on consciousness vis-a-vis science?

zen: In layman terms, we take consciousness for granted and it probably separates us from “intelligent” machines. We are conscious of our environment, how a tea tastes, what is right/wrong, etc. Science is behind the curve as it is usually giving us more information on things already present (explaining how it works) and/or inventing things from materials already available but not understood till that point. There are so many things available now that when combined can form new things and will be discovered in future.

ICF: Is there a dream national park you would like to visit in the future?

zen: As Zen, I would like to visit national parks in the Himalayas. Maybe I can consider Khangchendzonga National Park in Sikkim as the environment would be closer to what I describe in my book. There is Hemis National Park in Ladakh as well which is famous for Snow Leopards.

ICF: Is it reasonable to expect developing countries with lack of access to hi-tech and financial resources to meet lofty emission standards? How should one address historical responsibility of the developed world when it comes to climate change?

zen: I recall writing an article on this subject somewhere a long time ago. Yes, every country should work towards meeting the standards. As for developed nations, they can work towards providing technical consultancy and conducting technology transfers where possible. 

We have more data available now than ever before, proving that the planet is becoming unsustainable. China, the Subcontinent and Africa account for over 3 billion people, so some of these regions can potentially mess up their environment.

ICF: What is your blunt opinion about the state of Indian politics? Do you think democracy in third world countries is overrated in light of authoritarian China's meteoric rise, the same China which was similarly placed to India just 4 decades ago?

zen: India does not need dirty politics; it needs vision, action, and cooperation.

For a democracy (especially in an overpopulated and resource stifled country) to succeed, it requires a disciplined and accountable population. Without that, the democratic framework could work against the country.

To create a disciplined and accountable population, you need visionary leadership, which is allowed to take quick and even ruthless decisions without vote-bank politics.

Therefore, the equation in this case is that to enjoy democracy, you would first need to create optimal conditions for it through authoritarian rule. However, a bad authoritarian government can also plunge a country into further chaos.

ICF: What do you like and dislike about British Columbia, Vancouver, even Canada in general? How do you compare economy and living standards of British Columbia and Ontario? Have you ever thought about shifting to the States?

zen: If I must list three things that I like about Canada, they would be:

a)    Clean and green environment 
b)    A good law and order situation in general 
c)    Multicultural environment where you can mix with people of various nationalities

If there is something to dislike, it is mainly the harsh winters.

Note that I do not live in British Columbia, hence would be unable to make a fair comparison.

I have not considered moving to US.

ICF: If you could make some changes on ICF, what would they be?

zen: The quality of discussions is what drives a forum, therefore the need to see that quality is maintained. I do not know if ICF has reached the critical mass where it has enough members and material to focus on quality.

If we start seeing YouTube like comments here, many may think that the place is done.  

Thank you @zen for taking the time to answer these questions. Enjoyable read with great insights and interesting views on a variety of topics. 

If interested, posters can ask follow-up questions or other questions here. No time constraints, and entirely up to zen whether he wants to answer now, later or skip.

Nice interview @zen

Good work as usual by @Gollum

@zen do you remember/ miss those epic Sachin vs others threads in which you went head to head against the likes of @mishra and many others?

We don't have that kind of a personality in Indian cricket anymore. Someone whose career can be dissected in so many using statistics.

With Kohli and Dhoni, the overwhelming majority of ICFers were/are against them in the twilight years of their career. With Sachin it was 50-50. The fall in form wasn't as steep I guess.

Great Interview and articulate and expressive as always @zen. Thanks @Gollum for compiling and conducting the interview. 

Although, I don’t agree with all your opinions, I share the same likes of James Bond movies, old Bollywood movies and Pujara. It is hard to ignore you , but I don’t agree that individual stats alone can lead to success of a team sport like cricket.

Kapil’s batting had more impact than Imran Khan’s . Although on paper, IK looks good. Ken Barrington had a near60 average, but hardly known for impactful innings . You can accuse most cricketers of stats-padding. 

Just a follow-up to some of your responses. 

1 minute ago, zen said:

Sorry but where is the above discussed and who has said that :hmmm:

you can make it clear, but it seems like you were making a point about Mgmt looking at stats for performance building

On 7/5/2021 at 5:27 PM, Gollum said:

general, from a management PoV, stat/number/data is utilized for decision making, benchmarking and continuous improvement (Six Sigma), etc. The idea is to make more correct decisions while keeping emotions out

My point being Six-Sigma and other principles can be applied to other areas like business, etc, where it individuals stats linearly affect a team’s performance, team sports can’t take it into account, as time is of essence.

Timely performance is hard to quantify in stats. 

4 hours ago, Mariyam said:

@zen do you remember/ miss those epic Sachin vs others threads in which you went head to head against the likes of @mishra and many others?

I may recall some tid-bit here and there. I do not miss those as there are so many other topics to discuss 

8 minutes ago, coffee_rules said:

you can make it clear, but it seems like you were making a point about Mgmt looking at stats for performance building

What clarity are you seeking? The point was that stats are required to make key decisions in general. The degree of their importance and level of automation vary on the topic 

My point being Six-Sigma and other principles can be applied to other areas like business, etc, where it individuals stats linearly affect a team’s performance, team sports can’t take it into account, as time is of essence.

Timely performance is hard to quantify in stats.

There are various expects to it including a) expertise required to understand and implement stats. For e.g. something that x thinks is not possible, and expert y could make it possible, b) stats can be on various parameters including timely performances, c) Usually, ppl talk about general applicability which on a Bell curve would be 1 or 2 deviations away from mean, d) etc. 

36 minutes ago, Lord said:

@zen did you forget Sundar while mentioning future India stars or you don't rate him?

The list is limited to 5 players and covers various formats but mostly LOIs where you have more major tournaments ... As for Sundar, I was probably the 1st one to suggest that he should be tried in tests:

I think he can have a decent career but needs to improve his fielding