South Africa announce test squad for India series

Lone Wolf

Squad:Dean Elgar (captain), Temba Bavuma (vice-captain), Quinton de Kock (wicketkeeper), Kagiso Rabada, Sarel Erwee, Beuran Hendricks, George Linde, Keshav Maharaj, Lungi Ngidi, Aiden Markram, Wiaan Mulder, Anrich Nortje, Keegan Petersen, Rassie van der Dussen, Kyle Verreynne, Marco Jansen, Glenton Stuurman, Prenelan Subrayen, Sisanda Magala, Ryan Rickelton, Duanne Olivier.

Olivier is back after Kolpak stint.  

Recent form :In the four first-class matches in 4-Day Franchise series, the pacer has bagged 28 wickets at an average of 11.14 with 9 for 95 being his best in a game.

3 minutes ago, express bowling said:

So the pacer pool is

Rabada

Nortje 

Olivier 

Ngidi 

Jansen

Stuurman

Mulder

Hendricks

Mulder is a A/R option.  I think they will play Rabada Nortje & one of Olivier or Ngidi.  I don't know how their quotas work if Maharaj is in playing XI which is likely in Centurion Olivier is set to play

Mulder (A/R) 

Rabada

Nortje

Olivier

Maharaj

That's the expected bowling attack in Centurion. 

Just now, Lone Wolf said:

Mulder is a A/R option.  I think they will play Rabada Nortje & one of Olivier or Ngidi.  I don't know how their quotas work if Maharaj is in playing XI which is likely in Centurion Olivier is set to play

Mulder (A/R) 

Rabada

Nortje

Olivier

Maharaj

That's the expected bowling attack in Centurion. 

Both Mulder and Hendricks are all-rounders, which is why I have written their names after a gap.

Easily the weakest Saffer squad we're touring to. Huge downgrade from that 2018 series.. 

AB De Villers >>>>> Temba Bavuma

Faf Du Plesis >>>>> Keegan Petersen

Hashim Amla (of 2018) ==== Rassie VDD

Vernon Philander >>>>> Wian Mulder

Morne Morkel   >>  Nortje/Ollivier

We should ideally be winning this 3-0 but wi take a 2-1. Anything less than that and it's another failure for Kuptaan Wrong. 

32 minutes ago, Norman said:

Easily the weakest Saffer squad we're touring to. Huge downgrade from that 2018 series.. 

We should ideally be winning this 3-0 but wi take a 2-1. Anything less than that and it's another failure for Kuptaan Wrong. 

Its not going to be a walk in park,they have seriously good pace options in lungi,rabada ,oliver and nortje,and with bat,elgar,markram,decock are the key,even dussen is a good bat

1 hour ago, Norman said:

And we have ATGs batting for us?

1 hour ago, Norman said:

Elgar Markaram Van der dussen Qdk is a good batting side in SA conditions.  Wiaan Mulder is poor man's Kallis but has serious potential. 

Kyle Verreyane is also talented but Bavuma will keep him out. 

We also have a genius middle order of our own.  This series is going to be proper f** fest. 

1 hour ago, Norman said:

Their pace attack is way better now. 2018 had post prime steyn. Rabada is rabada. A beast. Philander and morkel. 

Olivier is better than morkel. Trust me. 

Sturrman is as good as philander in s.africa. 

1 hour ago, vayuu1 said:

Its not going to be a walk in park,they have seriously good pace options in lungi,rabada ,oliver and nortje,and with bat,elgar,markram,decock are the key,even dussen is a good bat

37 minutes ago, rkt.india said:

And we have ATGs batting for us?

33 minutes ago, Lone Wolf said:

Elgar Markaram Van der dussen Qdk is a good batting side in SA conditions.  Wiaan Mulder is poor man's Kallis but has serious potential. 

Kyle Verreyane is also talented but Bavuma will keep him out. 

We also have a genius middle order of our own.  This series is going to be proper f** fest. 

I'm not saying it'll be a cake walk but we should be gutted if we don't win this series. Even a 1-1 draw is unacceptable. 

We ran a much stronger South African side extremely close to a 2-1 win in 2018. While South Africa have regressed, we have become better with improved openers and lower order batting. Only negative change from that series is Kohli's form but the positive ones outweigh it comfortably. 

QDK and Elgar are meh against quality seam bowling so only challenge arr Markram and Rassie. 

21 minutes ago, Norman said:

I'm not saying it'll be a cake walk but we should be gutted if we don't win this series. Even a 1-1 draw is unacceptable. 

We ran a much stronger South African side extremely close to a 2-1 win in 2018. While South Africa have regressed, we have become better with improved openers and lower order batting. Only negative change from that series is Kohli's form but the positive ones outweigh it comfortably. 

QDK and Elgar are meh against quality seam bowling so only challenge arr Markram and Rassie. 

our batting will probabbly decide the series... 

1 hour ago, rageaddict said:

Probably the Weakest SA squad since their readmission.

No Steyn

No Amla

No AB

No Faf

No Philander

No Morkel

Kya team hai yeh.

That's not how it works check their averages in s.africa. it would be good. Current batting I mean.