Ankit_sharma03 Posted October 9, 2022 Posted October 9, 2022 On 10/8/2022 at 9:58 AM, Laaloo said: Just saw some highlights of WI vs Aus and holder couldn’t clear the boundary and got caught. And you know our maharathis love to take on the challenge and ignore the short boundaries and go for the long boundaries and get caught. We saw that in the slightly smaller boundaries at the Asia cup. Will our batsmen like Pant and Pandya learn? WI batsman are not good against extra bounce- wo pakistan batsman ko bichde bhai hai . Extra pace pe unki fatt jayegi aisi pitchon pe Our batsman may not enjoy swinging condition (which no one does) and UAE condition but if their is one condition they love its Australia. Our batters love pace n bounce more the spin now I know ppl hate to hear this but we have one of the best players of pace n bounce in world cricket- Rohit-KL-Rohit and pant-dk also has no issues Infact i hve always found Rohit sharma and kohli enjoying batting more in Australia then even at home U saw WI struggling at gabba but u forgot even likes of thakur, sundar hitting sixes at gabba . I dont need to remind what pant did
coffee_rules Posted October 9, 2022 Posted October 9, 2022 6 hours ago, BlueBlood said: in a non pressure bilateral top 3 are kings. We will know full picture of this FTB along with Rohit against Naseem Shah and Shaheen Afridi first 4 overs in WT20. That will tell us everything we need to know. And if I was a betting man, Rahul and Rohit are sitting ducks GreenBlood? AuxiliA 1
coffee_rules Posted October 9, 2022 Posted October 9, 2022 It is not like we have never played in Aus and won Chased and won: https://www.espncricinfo.com/series/india-in-australia-2020-21-1223867/australia-vs-india-2nd-t20i-1223953/full-scorecard Lost by 12 runs https://www.espncricinfo.com/series/india-in-australia-2020-21-1223867/australia-vs-india-3rd-t20i-1223954/full-scorecard
AKane Posted October 10, 2022 Posted October 10, 2022 (edited) 14 hours ago, Ankit_sharma03 said: U saw WI struggling at gabba but u forgot even likes of thakur, sundar hitting sixes at gabba . I dont need to remind what pant did It is precisely Thakur/Sundar/Gill/Pant who did it with Pujara absorbing the punishment. That does not mean Kohli/Rohit/Peerless KL/DK can. The "even likes of Thakur/Sundar" can be used derisively but lets see the peerless KL/DK etc emulate their efforts..... in an equivalent situation. We will see how these people bat in Aus in this T20I WC. My guess is there will be no similarity to red ball test cricket. Edited October 10, 2022 by AKane zen 1
AKane Posted October 10, 2022 Posted October 10, 2022 3 hours ago, coffee_rules said: It is not like we have never played in Aus and won Chased and won: yes these bilaterals are like friendlies in soccer. Check the bowling lineup Daniel Sams, Andrew Tye, Sean Abbott..... Even if it was Starc and co. it would still be a friendly. coffee_rules 1
rollingstoned Posted October 10, 2022 Posted October 10, 2022 20 hours ago, AuxiliA said: But the big problem might be fielding. Good teams will run 2-3 runs easily against some of our dodos. Dhoni was good at setting fields in such grounds esp in the 2015 wc. The fielders need to be brought in from the ropes to take many miscues which will otherwise fall safely and also prevent these 2s and 3s. you will risk the ones which go all the way but it's a good hedge against having outfielders who are not that athletic. AuxiliA 1
Stan AF Posted October 13, 2022 Posted October 13, 2022 (edited) 8 minutes ago, Ankit_sharma03 said: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_Jz9Sl-cgRc This is my favorite. Edited October 13, 2022 by Stan AF Ankit_sharma03 1
Norman Posted October 13, 2022 Posted October 13, 2022 1 hour ago, BlueBlood said: Then suddenly in Asia Cup, him and Rahul went back into their shell and played exactly how they played last T20 WC as sitting ducks Only in the first game. They smoked pak bowlers in the 2nd game. AuxiliA 1
Chakdephatte Posted October 21, 2022 Posted October 21, 2022 (edited) So what did West Indies, who could clear any boundary, perform? As pointed out by many, Australia is not about six hitting; batsman having along the ground shots, tight backfoot game, and running will do good. Edited October 21, 2022 by Chakdephatte
Ankit_sharma03 Posted October 21, 2022 Posted October 21, 2022 9 hours ago, Chakdephatte said: So what did West Indies, who could clear any boundary, perform? As pointed out by many, Australia is not about six hitting; batsman having along the ground shots, tight backfoot game, and running will do good. Modern day batsman can clear grounds anywhere but 1st u need to be able to connect , WI dont have the quality anymore and their peak team wud also have been challenged in Aus against high pace. This team was so weak forget high pace they cant even play spin, till now they cud just hit 1 six against spinners. Aussie condition need quality batters and many avg batting lineups will struggle to find runs here
Clarke Posted October 21, 2022 Posted October 21, 2022 Why does one need to clear long boundaries when strike rate is overrated Chakdephatte 1
vvvslaxman Posted October 21, 2022 Posted October 21, 2022 Yesterday it was not even a big boundary. Boundaries at Hobart are only 60 meters