Gukesh wins World Chess Candidates 2024. Becomes youngest ever contender for World Chess Championship crown.

rangeelaraja

6 minutes ago, randomGuy said:

Anand has done in chess what Gopichand did in badminton. Created an ecosystem and a pool of world class talents.

I feel the next gen will be even better. Abhimanyu Mishra can also explore the option of coming back to India and representing India, we are no less than the best of the world when it comes to grooming youngsters. Much stronger peer group for Mishra here, and the centre of gravity of the chess world is fast shifting to India. 

Happy for Vidit also, making it to candidates is quite a feat and he fought like a tiger throughout.

Vaishali great, hope she becomes future women's champion, 5 consecutive wins is amazing. 

Shout out to Sagar Shah and his wife Amruta as well, Chessbase India is the go to place for chess content now. Great coverage, great enthusiasm, self made guy. Congrats to Sagar bhai and hope he keeps going from strength to strength, covering India's rise to superpower status in chess. 

9 minutes ago, Gollum said:

Happy for Vidit also, making it to candidates is quite a feat and he fought like a tiger throughout.

Vaishali great, hope she becomes future women's champion, 5 consecutive wins is amazing. 

Shout out to Sagar Shah and his wife Amruta as well, Chessbase India is the go to place for chess content now. Great coverage, great enthusiasm, self made guy. Congrats to Sagar bhai and hope he keeps going from strength to strength, covering India's rise to superpower status in chess. 

chessbase india , sagar shah - passion and love come out so natural. I most times worry for sagar's health , the guy is so deep into his work. Chess24 had amazing commentary team also, Naroditsky, Hess, Rench awesome, 1.4 lac watching live today!! i had never seen these numbers ever.

Vaishali is the future. Need more depth in women section.

Vidit is a notch below Arjun, Pragg, Gukesh in consistency. Ratings of 40 point less reflect the same. But he qualified, thats a great feat!!

MIshra was groomed in USA. If he comes to India, then good. Otherwise also, he belongs to the US I believe. 

On 4/22/2024 at 2:50 PM, Gollum said:

31 years old Ding should be at the peak of his powers, at least in top 3. What a clown of a world champion we have at present :facepalm:

in a way it's good because it improves gukesh's chances, as opposed to having some genuinely fearsome beast to face (like peak kasparov or carlsen). let him beat this fellow and take the win: it will be big for indian chess if it happens

Edited by Vijy

9 hours ago, Gollum said:

I feel the next gen will be even better. Abhimanyu Mishra can also explore the option of coming back to India and representing India, we are no less than the best of the world when it comes to grooming youngsters. Much stronger peer group for Mishra here, and the centre of gravity of the chess world is fast shifting to India. 

I don't see mishraji coming to india. we are not yet, as a country and as a chess power, in a position of such strength

10 hours ago, Gollum said:

@rangeelaraja @Lone Wolf and others, for CCP the world title match between Ding and Gukesh will be politically important. They will not like their champion to lose to an Indian teenager. For years they dreamt of having a Chinese world champion (overall, not women's) and somehow, Ding got the job done. To lose that to their enemy country will be unimaginable for them, like USSR, these Chinese keep boasting about their superiority over the enemy, in this case India. Do you remember how condescending these bat eaters were when GOI banned Chinese apps post Galwan, their spokesperson was making comments like India can't manufacture anything, India must learn from China, nothing innovative in India etc. Their people have been brainwashed by their party to believe are better than us in anything and everything.

It's ok if Gukesh takes it as just another match, will ease pressure. But Modi must open the war chest. Our schoolkid beating their champion will land a psychological blow for the ages and refute their so called claims of intellectual superiority. We know for certain that Chinese won't leave any stone unturned. This will be a politically charged match, not at the level of the Cold War match of 1972 between Fischer and Spassky, but because of political tensions, border standoff etc., this won't be like any other match of recent times. 

I want GOI to arrange money for Gukesh (my tax money, I will happily part with for this cause), assemble the best team of seconds on the planet, make India's best supercomputer available to him for his preparation. And match should not be held in 'hostile' China, don't trust those people one bit, Ding may be a good guy but their system will bend rules to make him win at any cost. Needn't be in India as well, we must push for the game in a neutral country. Plenty of Indian billionaires who can make it happen, GOI must take this result very seriously and go on war footing. Our war with China isn't just on the borders, it is all pervasive and we must not cede one inch in any discipline to our biggest enemy. 

beating Ding is quite easy, if not for chinese trickery. agree that it should not take place in china. and also agree that implications will be big.

12 hours ago, randomGuy said:

Anand has done in chess what Gopichand did in badminton. Created an ecosystem and a pool of world class talents.

Yes. Anand did. But i have to say one particular school in Chennai created this environment.

https://indianexpress.com/article/sports/chess/indias-chess-factory-the-chennai-school-that-is-home-to-nearly-1-in-5-of-grandmasters-8909501/

Gukesh, Pragg all are from that school. Among the 29 from TN 15 are from one school

F4oNxp5boAAHedP?format=jpg&name=small

3 hours ago, Vijy said:

beating Ding is quite easy, if not for chinese trickery. agree that it should not take place in china. and also agree that implications will be big.

Nothing is easy. Ding is still the favorite especially if he regains his 2019-20 form, Gukesh is way too young. When Carlsen was 17 he too wasn't very stable. Gukesh will mature and peak in his early to mid 20s like most modern chess players.

1 hour ago, vvvslaxman said:

Yes. Anand did. But i have to say one particular school in Chennai created this environment.

https://indianexpress.com/article/sports/chess/indias-chess-factory-the-chennai-school-that-is-home-to-nearly-1-in-5-of-grandmasters-8909501/

Gukesh, Pragg all are from that school. Among the 29 from TN 15 are from one school

F4oNxp5boAAHedP?format=jpg&name=small

Also, number of GMs is one thing but quality is another. For ex as per this chart, maybe Delhi will have more GMs per capita population whereas the quality of GMs is no-where comparable to TN. It seems you only have to be born in TN if you are an Indian chess player to be a world championship contender!!

Question in my mind, is 'Dommaraju' in Gukesh's name related to 'Dharmaraj'. I may be totally wrong but asking this because in Buddha's time they used to call it 'Dhamma'. 

Edited by randomGuy

16 minutes ago, randomGuy said:

Also, number of GMs is one thing but quality is another. For ex as per this chart, maybe Delhi will have more GMs per capita population whereas the quality of GMs is no-where comparable to TN. It seems you only have to be born in TN if you are an Indian chess player to be a world championship contender!!

Question in my mind, is 'Dommaraju' in Gukesh's name related to 'Dharmaraj'. I may be totally wrong but asking this because in Buddha's time they used to call it 'Dhamma'. 

I would say Chennai.  Specifically that school.   Having said that not everyone who studies there will become a grandmaster. My cousin also studied there.  He is jobless now lol

This article is from 2020. Since this article they added 6 More GMs from their school. This has details about how this school became GM factory. 

Not every school offers the same encouragement. One of my relative wanted to get his daughter into chess.  It is a different school.  She is quiet a good player.  Very young. They tried to reach out to chess association. THey discouraged them. They said things like "This is not really great career. You don't make much money. Very few people make it to the top".   You need environment to find motivation. That is what this school offers.

https://www.chessbase.in/news/Velammal-Education-Trust-and-chess-support

7 hours ago, Vijy said:

It won't be easy at all. Gukesh is a great tournament player because he almost always beats players he should beat where others drop points but a match is an entirely different proposition.

He will have hands full with Ding. And Ding played him off the board in Tata Chess event with black pieces. He is young so games like those can happen. It will be tight

19 hours ago, Gollum said:

@rangeelaraja @Lone Wolf and others, for CCP the world title match between Ding and Gukesh will be politically important. They will not like their champion to lose to an Indian teenager. For years they dreamt of having a Chinese world champion (overall, not women's) and somehow, Ding got the job done. To lose that to their enemy country will be unimaginable for them, like USSR, these Chinese keep boasting about their superiority over the enemy, in this case India. Do you remember how condescending these bat eaters were when GOI banned Chinese apps post Galwan, their spokesperson was making comments like India can't manufacture anything, India must learn from China, nothing innovative in India etc. Their people have been brainwashed by their party to believe are better than us in anything and everything.

It's ok if Gukesh takes it as just another match, will ease pressure. But Modi must open the war chest. Our schoolkid beating their champion will land a psychological blow for the ages and refute their so called claims of intellectual superiority. We know for certain that Chinese won't leave any stone unturned. This will be a politically charged match, not at the level of the Cold War match of 1972 between Fischer and Spassky, but because of political tensions, border standoff etc., this won't be like any other match of recent times. 

I want GOI to arrange money for Gukesh (my tax money, I will happily part with for this cause), assemble the best team of seconds on the planet, make India's best supercomputer available to him for his preparation. And match should not be held in 'hostile' China, don't trust those people one bit, Ding may be a good guy but their system will bend rules to make him win at any cost. Needn't be in India as well, we must push for the game in a neutral country. Plenty of Indian billionaires who can make it happen, GOI must take this result very seriously and go on war footing. Our war with China isn't just on the borders, it is all pervasive and we must not cede one inch in any discipline to our biggest enemy. 

I want it to reach at a level of Fischer vs Spassky hype....  Just imagine what would it do to the world of Chess. 

Millions will watch.  Indian media must play its part as well if the game happens to be in Chennai for eg...  Build up matters. 

IMG_20240423_140917.jpg

Though it would be unfair on Gukesh... As hype in that case &,  pressure might get to him or anyone who is so young.