Kohli's innings against Pakistan was 'song of god', legitimised T20 cricket as art: Greg Chappell

Seek gayee hai kuch logon ki yeh padh ke. :phehe:

https://www.deccanherald.com/sports/cricket/kohlis-innings-against-pakistan-was-song-of-god-legitimised-t20-cricket-as-art-greg-chappell-1157626.html

The 74-year-old pointed out that Kohli's aggressive knock took the art of batting to another level and has actually legitimised the T20 cricket as an art form

Virat Kohli's innings against Pakistan was close to being a 'song of god', the literal translation of 'Bhagvad Gita', and has legitimised T20 cricket as an "art form", feels Australian legend Greg Chappell.

"The Bhagavad Gita is the holy book which is the synthesis of Hinduism. Literally translated, it means “the song by God”. Kohli played an innings that was as close to a 'song by god' as has ever been played in T20 cricket," Chappell wrote

Chapel literally means house of worship. Chapell ji seems to have connected firmly with his spiritual side. For me, song of God innings is Yuvi's 50 against England. It is perfection - 6 from 6 against a pace bowler, which has never been done before or after. By the time Yuvi was done batting, the match was decisively turned in our favor. T20 went from a side show to the main show. 

2 hours ago, nevada said:

Chapel literally means house of worship. Chapell ji seems to have connected firmly with his spiritual side. For me, song of God innings is Yuvi's 50 against England. It is perfection - 6 from 6 against a pace bowler, which has never been done before or after. By the time Yuvi was done batting, the match was decisively turned in our favor. T20 went from a side show to the main show. 

That was some innings by Yuvi.

I was in the Melbourne Crown Casino watching it there and everyone was stunned by those 6,6s. Once it got to three in a row, everyone was cheering for six 6s.

It has be one of the biggest baddest comebacks to a sledge by Flintoff at the time.

For me, Kohlis greatest t20 innings was the one against Aus in 2016 world t20.

Total control.

Like a man possessed.

I think it was the best t20 innings ever played.

Heres why:

Guys like SRT, Viv, Gilly, Sehwag, Lara are monsters and when they get going, you feel helpless.

But deep down, you know there is a chance that they can mess up being too aggressive and you can make a comeback.

But the players that scare me the most and fill me with the dread are those who wont even give you that chance.

Bevan, Dhoni (pre 2015), Hussey, Gambo (prime)....Kohli.

When they get going, you know you are done.

You know you wont get chances.

You know you are going to lose and its inevitable.

You are hoping for a miracle.

Prime Kohli was a guy who made opponents feel that level of hopelessness.

In that 2016 game, Aus always had the upper hand during our chase but all bets were off until Kohli was there.

The way he took the game away from them without giving them a chance must have been soul crushing for them.

Prime Kohli was something else and that innings symbolized what he can truly do.

Edited by sensible-indian
12 minutes ago, sensible-indian said:

Total control.

Like a man possessed.

Heres why:

Guys like SRT, Viv, Gilly, Sehwag, Lara are monsters and when they get going, you feel helpless.

But deep down, you know there is a chance that they can mess up being too aggressive and you can make a comeback.

But the players that scare me the most and fill me with the dread are those who wont even give you that chance.

In that 2016 game, Aus always had the upper hand during our chase but all bets were off until Kohli was there.

The way he took the game away from them without giving them a chance must have been soul crushing for them.

Prime Kohli was something else and that innings symbolized what he can truly do.

Welcome back mate...stick for the world cup.

I agree Kohli's Mohali knock in 2016 was out of the world...the range of shots were amazing. It was his peak year as well and in deadly form.

However I think what makes his 2022 knock so good was bcoz it came against a much better bowling attack than the one he faced in 2016. I mean an attack of Shaheen, Rauf, Naseem and Shadab is just terrific for T20 cricket. Also that 2016 game was in home conditions where as this was played in MCG in front of 100k people and with added pressure of Indo-Pak contest. When Axar Patel got out, Pakistan had 80% chance of winning that game and for India only DK to follow after the present partnership. From that situation to win the game is unreal. I don't think any believe it could have been done...including Kohli himself. :laugh:

40 minutes ago, Austin 3:!6 said:

Welcome back mate...stick for the world cup.

I agree Kohli's Mohali knock in 2016 was out of the world...the range of shots were amazing. It was his peak year as well and in deadly form.

However I think what makes his 2022 knock so good was bcoz it came against a much better bowling attack than the one he faced in 2016. I mean an attack of Shaheen, Rauf, Naseem and Shadab is just terrific for T20 cricket. Also that 2016 game was in home conditions where as this was played in MCG in front of 100k people and with added pressure of Indo-Pak contest. When Axar Patel got out, Pakistan had 80% chance of winning that game and for India only DK to follow after the present partnership. From that situation to win the game is unreal. I don't think any believe it could have been done...including Kohli himself. :laugh:

Indeed.

2022 was special.

The bowling attack for that game was crazzyyyyy good.

Those 2 clutch shots.

Unreal ****.

In fact, history is more likely to remember this knock more than the Aus one.

Like Tendulkar's Centurion knock.

Edited by sensible-indian
8 hours ago, nevada said:

Very true.

Yuvi's demolition of England, and more importantly his match winning 70+ against Australia is what set the foundation for India's love of T20.  

That Australia semi-final was a game for the ages.  The onslaught by Aus openers, Sreesanth getting that wicket and slamming the pitch after - Yuvi's innings in particular.  The way he just unleashed mayhem on Aus - they didn't expect it and were just demolished.  

I don't like to resort to stereotypes about teams, especially across eras but there's this feeling about Australia that they are bullies who don't like it when somebody bullies them and they wilt under that kind of pressure.  Its happened many a times.  But you have to be good enough to execute it well and consistently.  Yuvi was more than good enough on that day.  

The most insanely good T20 innings I have seen. Unbelievable and inhumanly good.

That was a pitch on which no other batsman could score freely against pace.

Also note the fact in the finals, at that same venue and against same attack England were struggling to chase 140 despite a decent start. 

Pandya is an elite level good hitter of pace and he wasn't able to touch some of the deliveries at the other end. Kohli on the other hand was moving in the crease and finding gaps for boundaries like god.

I criticise him for a lot of things but for that innings just ovation..

9 hours ago, sensible-indian said:

Total control.

Like a man possessed.

Heres why:

damn right!!!. When kohli is switched on for a chase u know u lost it. The way he skins the opponent. But what is great is the energy which rest of ladoos miss in our team. I know he starts slow but he makes up. Thats why we need other less talented to step up scoring runs faster. Then he will finish it off style

Edited by Chaos

I have the full match downloaded on to my PC. BCCI has something called highlights. Utter rubbish.  Missed several key  moments in that highlights. Personally you would want to play such a knock in your dream over and over.  Fastest MCG pitch in a long time. Under lights against 3 fast bowlers with 4 down. Hardik couldn't hit a boundary in the last 5 overs. I was mad at lack of presence of mind from DK. Almost all the balls that Nawaz bowled on the pads were wides.  Even Kohli didn't realize that. Game awareness is the key even under immense pressure. 

1 hour ago, vvvslaxman said:

Almost all the balls that Nawaz bowled on the pads were wides.  Even Kohli didn't realize that. Game awareness is the key even under immense pressure. 

It took a bowler to expose that flaw finally. Ashwin may have lagged & ended up short in many games across his career. But this was not going to be one of those days.

Chuckte Raho

TC

That inning by Kohli in that occassion…on that pitch/ground..against the arch rivals..against that attack..under those circumstances..was indeed a beautiful song of gods..

as if under such tremendous pressure..he was in his zen..had some divine connection…and whatever happened in those last few overs..was magical…unbelievable..

unlike typical powerpacked quickfire innings of T20s..this innings had all the ebbs and flows..and…winning many small battles and moments…

in that T20 innings…you saw his Test match like grit and determination..ODIs like chase mastery and pacing the innings…and final onslaught of T20s..with a classy hitting..

as @vvvslaxman rightly said..highlight cant do justice to that match..

3 hours ago, Need4Speed said:

That inning by Kohli in that occassion…on that pitch/ground..against the arch rivals..against that attack..under those circumstances..was indeed a beautiful song of gods..

as if under such tremendous pressure..he was in his zen..had some divine connection…and whatever happened in those last few overs..was magical…unbelievable..

unlike typical powerpacked quickfire innings of T20s..this innings had all the ebbs and flows..and…winning many small battles and moments…

in that T20 innings…you saw his Test match like grit and determination..ODIs like chase mastery and pacing the innings…and final onslaught of T20s..with a classy hitting..

as @vvvslaxman rightly said..highlight cant do justice to that match..

After second six Pandya said  BC lol I didn't notice in the heat of the moment. Now that i could clearly see him say that.

1 hour ago, Lord said:

I still feel his knock v Aus at Mohali 2016 was much better. That legitimized T20 if anything.

yep, probably one of ind's greatest t20 innings. along with the 2 from 2007 T20 WC. yuvi's 70 vs Aus and gambhir's final knock vs a very strong Pak T20 lineup

3 hours ago, Lord said:

I still feel his knock v Aus at Mohali 2016 was much better. That legitimized T20 if anything.

But the way he pulled out this match was something else plus he was not in that great form.Questions were being asked about his place.

In Mohali , he was in peak form.Once he got going even Aussies knew they were going to lose.