Ravi Shastri on Shaheen Afridi

23 minutes ago, Teengunalagaan said:

It happens I can understand the denial syndrome kicks in when you know your present and future is F*ked, and I am not just talking about cricket, you start living in the past. Whatever makes you feel better, keep letting us win :p:

Glorious past, the present is fine and the future is great. 

The name calling on both sides is silly; we can discuss the merits of these players as they stand.

Shaheen Afridi is going exactly the way Amir went. People forget that Amir was also greatly hyped as left-arm seriously quick bowler. thanks to poor nutrition, coaching, etc. he was quickly found out, lost pace, became white ball specialist, and faded away. shaheen afridi is going the same way, and indeed so is naseem shah. when proper cricketing structure is missing, this is the result.

I know the Pakistani posters will not like what I say, but I hope they see that I am not resorting to some kind of personal insults, but speaking of broader, systemic problems in Pak cricket. Indian also has/had some, but we are in a much better place insofar as cricketing infrastructure and conveyer belt (U19 to Ind A to senior team) is concerned

Edited by Vijy

He is the top wicket taker in this tournament. All through his improved old ball skills. The boy is half fit yet learning and tryinh to improve. If he had Naseem as his partner he would have done even better. Criticism thoda over the top tha. With that spin attack the pressure on the bowlers is relentless.

On 10/16/2023 at 1:24 PM, the don said:

Ohhh bhai go check out his record across formats lol. Overhyped only when you comapare him to pakistani greats like Wasim. India ka overhyped kehna nahi banta usay.

SO Pak cant replace a single bowler like Naseem? I thought they had bowlers like Bumrah in every nook and corner of Pakistan :cantstop:

3 hours ago, Norman said:

Lol.. this is the benefit of bowling alongside a pathetic attack of Rauf, Shadab, Nawaz, Lassan Ali etc..

You saw Ajaz Patel's 10-fer against India? Yup...same thing happening here. 

Srinath and kapil should have done the same. Sad they averaged in the 30s

12 hours ago, the don said:

Highest wicket taker of the tournament. Will be the quickest to hundred wickets. 

Thats the perennial issue with illiterate pakistanis.. no 1 in batting no 1 team in the world fastest to 3000 runs 100 wickets.. net result

lose to zimbabwe in t20 wc

lose to afghanistan in odi wc

lose to sri lanka in asia cup

clap clap

On 10/27/2023 at 11:10 AM, the don said:

He is the top wicket taker in this tournament. All through his improved old ball skills. The boy is half fit yet learning and tryinh to improve. If he had Naseem as his partner he would have done even better. Criticism thoda over the top tha. With that spin attack the pressure on the bowlers is relentless.

It actually shows the class of Shaheen. Top wicket taker in the World Cup AGAIN. Even though no pressure from other spinners/pacers and pressure of big totals.

Yet, he’s not as good as he needs to be according to some Indians. 

Although some feedback on Pakistan system not setting up players for success is true. Specially injury rehab and rotation. Junaid Khan, Amir and many others have been casualties. 

3 hours ago, the don said:

Srinath and kapil should have done the same. Sad they averaged in the 30s

abdoooooooooool

Srinath averaged 28 in ODIs and is a decent not great bowler. Test average is 30 which is better than Shaheen's SENA average of 36.

Kapil averaged 27 in ODIs and 24 with the bat and is a WC winner as well as the WCC winner. Shaheen hasn't even won an asia cup.

Shaheen is an Umar Gul level bowler overhyped by his fans.