Ultimate_Game Posted May 11, 2024 Posted May 11, 2024 This is beyond a joke. It's so clear the guy's done. If he had any shame he would opt out of the tourney himself. And the problem is not his intent - he's trying his best but his skill, reflexes and fitness is simply not there. Literally, every opener in IPL is better than him. We already have a lot of passengers in the team - Chahal, Siraj, Avesh, Arshdeep, Axar, Jadeja - and we can't afford to carry a non-performing passenger at the top of the order as well. Essentially, all our eggs are in the Jaiswal bucket. If he goes early, Rohit can't do shyte, and Kohli will be in "consolidation" mode. And it's not as if we've hitters down the order. Jadeja at 7 can't hit, and our bowlers can't hold the bat. We neither have decent bowling (bar Bumrah), and nor are we a good fielding side. Our only option is to score enough runs somehow, but with this current version of Rohit, that's not gonna happen. When others open with likes of Head, Warner/Marsh, Buttler, Bairstow, Conway, Fin Allen, we go with Rohit. At the moment, even Pak with Babar and Rizwan would be better than us. Surely, we have to make a last minute change, and better sense prevails. We've to make a few changes as this current lost can't get past Super 8s. BacktoCricaddict, Mariyam and cowboysfan 1 2
Vijy Posted May 11, 2024 Posted May 11, 2024 27 minutes ago, Ultimate_Game said: This is beyond a joke. It's so clear the guy's done. If he had any shame he would opt out of the tourney himself. And the problem is not his intent - he's trying his best but his skill, reflexes and fitness is simply not there. Literally, every opener in IPL is better than him. We already have a lot of passengers in the team - Chahal, Siraj, Avesh, Arshdeep, Axar, Jadeja - and we can't afford to carry a non-performing passenger at the top of the order as well. Essentially, all our eggs are in the Jaiswal bucket. If he goes early, Rohit can't do shyte, and Kohli will be in "consolidation" mode. And it's not as if we've hitters down the order. Jadeja at 7 can't hit, and our bowlers can't hold the bat. We neither have decent bowling (bar Bumrah), and nor are we a good fielding side. Our only option is to score enough runs somehow, but with this current version of Rohit, that's not gonna happen. When others open with likes of Head, Warner/Marsh, Buttler, Bairstow, Conway, Fin Allen, we go with Rohit. At the moment, even Pak with Babar and Rizwan would be better than us. Surely, we have to make a last minute change, and better sense prevails. We've to make a few changes as this current lost can't get past Super 8s. We absolutely can... and we should do so. this is our ideal top 6 IMO: 1. Fatman 2. Dhawan 3. Brat 4. hahane 5. Kela (wk) 6. Pandu New guy, Lord and Ultimate_Game 1 1 1
Ultimate_Game Posted May 11, 2024 Author Posted May 11, 2024 5 minutes ago, Vijy said: We absolutely can... and we should do so. this is our ideal top 6 IMO: 1. Fatman 2. Dhawan 3. Brat 4. hahane 5. Kela (wk) 6. Pandu This is the team I would field for those over 40 Legend/Masters series
Suhaan Posted May 11, 2024 Posted May 11, 2024 He was done before WC23,played good cameos though as opener Should have announced his retirement from cricket altogether after Travis Heads onslaught on Nov 19 Besharmi ki hadd paar karna inn logo ne dhoni se hi toh seekha hai Bigg Brother, rollingstoned and express bowling 3
Ultimate_Game Posted May 11, 2024 Author Posted May 11, 2024 2 minutes ago, Suhaan said: He was done before WC23,played good cameos though as opener Should have announced his retirement from cricket altogether after Travis Heads onslaught on Nov 19 Besharmi ki hadd paar karna inn logo ne dhoni se hi toh seekha hai At least Dhoni was able to win 3 ICC tourneys so you could give him benefit of doubt. But this lot hasn't done anything. Rohit has regressed from his WC2023 form. He averages in 20s at the SR in 120s over the last 6 IPLs. He isn't a T20 batsman.
Vijy Posted May 11, 2024 Posted May 11, 2024 1 hour ago, Ultimate_Game said: At least Dhoni was able to win 3 ICC tourneys so you could give him benefit of doubt. But this lot hasn't done anything. Rohit has regressed from his WC2023 form. He averages in 20s at the SR in 120s over the last 6 IPLs. He isn't a T20 batsman. he's not a test batter as well. lacks the fitness and staying power express bowling 1
Prabhdeep Singh Posted May 11, 2024 Posted May 11, 2024 (edited) Contrary to popular opinion he is conserving his energy for T20 World cup, he has never been great in IPL cricket. He is from a generation that values the Indian Cap more than a domestic tournament, he has developed his captaincy in IPL more than anything else, IPL is used to top up his bank balance, nothing more nothing less. Also as MI are out, the last few games have been dead rubbers and of course other things going on with captaincy etc. He will do the flying starts like CWC 2023. In international T20's he averages over 40 in USA, Ireland, WI and SA. The world cup India won was in SA, Rohit played a few clutch innings there. Current World Cup is in WI/USA so I would not count him or Team yet. Edited May 11, 2024 by Prabhdeep Singh Lord 1
Ultimate_Game Posted May 11, 2024 Author Posted May 11, 2024 13 minutes ago, Prabhdeep Singh said: Contrary to popular opinion he is conserving his energy for T20 World cup, he has never been great in IPL cricket. He is from a generation that values the Indian Cap more than a domestic tournament, he has developed his captaincy in IPL more than anything else, IPL is used to top up his bank balance, nothing more nothing less. Also as MI are out, the last few games have been dead rubbers and of course other things going on with captaincy etc. He will do the flying starts like CWC 2023. In international T20's he averages over 40 in USA, Ireland, WI and SA. The world cup India won was in SA, Rohit played a few clutch innings there. Current World Cup is in WI/USA so I would not count him or Team yet. I don't recall Rohit doing much at intl level in T20s as well. In our last T20 WC, Rohit scored 27(28) on the flattest pitch in Aus (Adelaide), and then blamed the bowlers. Don't expect him todo something which he hasn't done for more than a decade. He's more like the Rohit we saw today scoring 20(24). It would be a win if he manages to survive the PP overs, forget making the most of the PPs.
vvvslaxman Posted May 12, 2024 Posted May 12, 2024 3 hours ago, Prabhdeep Singh said: Contrary to popular opinion he is conserving his energy for T20 World cup, he has never been great in IPL cricket. He is from a generation that values the Indian Cap more than a domestic tournament, he has developed his captaincy in IPL more than anything else, IPL is used to top up his bank balance, nothing more nothing less. Also as MI are out, the last few games have been dead rubbers and of course other things going on with captaincy etc. He will do the flying starts like CWC 2023. In international T20's he averages over 40 in USA, Ireland, WI and SA. The world cup India won was in SA, Rohit played a few clutch innings there. Current World Cup is in WI/USA so I would not count him or Team yet. True. Rohit never had a box office season at the IPL. NEver had a box office world T20 either. I am not sure he did well in Asia cup as well. All his records in T20 are from bilaterals.
vvvslaxman Posted May 12, 2024 Posted May 12, 2024 3 hours ago, Ultimate_Game said: I don't recall Rohit doing much at intl level in T20s as well. In our last T20 WC, Rohit scored 27(28) on the flattest pitch in Aus (Adelaide), and then blamed the bowlers. Don't expect him todo something which he hasn't done for more than a decade. He's more like the Rohit we saw today scoring 20(24). It would be a win if he manages to survive the PP overs, forget making the most of the PPs. Ultimate_Game 1
wanted_desi Posted May 12, 2024 Posted May 12, 2024 This is one of those teams you don't really bad about one selection: I mean Rohit is horrible in this format, but even replacing him won't move a needle. Whole Core is rotten and at this point of time. Just enjoy the burn down in the WC. Sometimes burn down is lot more exciting than average performances. Ultimate_Game 1
Suhaan Posted May 12, 2024 Posted May 12, 2024 7 hours ago, Ultimate_Game said: At least Dhoni was able to win 3 ICC tourneys so you could give him benefit of doubt. But this lot hasn't done anything. Rohit has regressed from his WC2023 form. He averages in 20s at the SR in 120s over the last 6 IPLs. He isn't a T20 batsman. Dhoni used same logic to drag his career and cost India atleast 2-3 ICC trophies Dhoni was just a body on the ground,who could do nothing in later part of his career Rohit,Kohli are just following the shamelessness from dhoni express bowling and Bigg Brother 1 1
Suhaan Posted May 12, 2024 Posted May 12, 2024 24 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said: Is it Callum Ferguson?
vvvslaxman Posted May 12, 2024 Posted May 12, 2024 37 minutes ago, Suhaan said: Is it Callum Ferguson? yes. Looks like
VT87 Posted May 12, 2024 Posted May 12, 2024 5 hours ago, Prabhdeep Singh said: Contrary to popular opinion he is conserving his energy for T20 World cup, he has never been great in IPL cricket. He is from a generation that values the Indian Cap more than a domestic tournament, he has developed his captaincy in IPL more than anything else, IPL is used to top up his bank balance, nothing more nothing less. Also as MI are out, the last few games have been dead rubbers and of course other things going on with captaincy etc. He will do the flying starts like CWC 2023. In international T20's he averages over 40 in USA, Ireland, WI and SA. The world cup India won was in SA, Rohit played a few clutch innings there. Current World Cup is in WI/USA so I would not count him or Team yet. What has he done any t20 wc Rohit PR?
Manucrick Posted May 12, 2024 Posted May 12, 2024 So Sunny ji have no issue with Sharma ji batting Lord 1
kosingh Posted May 12, 2024 Posted May 12, 2024 We are not winning the cup with or without Rohit. To stand a chance at least 5 players would have to be replaced. And even if we genuinely sent our best squad, we wouldn't be favorites.
Majestic Posted May 12, 2024 Posted May 12, 2024 ODI World Cup haar Gaye lekin umeed avi bhi kar raheho ki T20 World Cup jitoge to barbad ho tum
Suhaan Posted May 12, 2024 Posted May 12, 2024 1 minute ago, kosingh said: We are not winning the cup with or without Rohit. To stand a chance at least 5 players would have to be replaced. And even if we genuinely sent our best squad, we wouldn't be favorites. Yes,that is why our best chance is to keep going with Rohit,Jadeja, Kohli,Siraj,Axar,Chahl kinds
kosingh Posted May 12, 2024 Posted May 12, 2024 Just now, Suhaan said: Yes,that is why our best chance is to keep going with Rohit,Jadeja, Kohli,Siraj,Axar,Chahl kinds That's not changing. No coach or selector is getting rid of these boobs. More fun following bilaterals where oldies choose to rest. In those games the team has much stronger players. Manucrick 1