Paris Olympics 2024 Discussion Thread

3 bronze medals with 1.4B population. Tied at 57 with Tajikistan. 

Aur inko Olympics host karna hai

And getting clobbered by Sri Lanka in the only sport that everyone plays and follows. 

Edited by Strangering
18 minutes ago, Strangering said:

And getting clobbered by Sri Lanka in the only sport that everyone plays and follows. 

bhai where was korea in 1976 ki they hosted olympics in 88?

india hosts 2036, they are top 10.

sri lanka is a **** bialteral series they are experimenting. they get clobbered in tournaments.

India's Manika Batra/Sreej Akula/Archana Kamath are in action against Romania in Women's Team Round of 16. India on track to go 2-0 up. I had no clue we had team events in tt

6 minutes ago, neel roy said:

India's Manika Batra/Sreej Akula/Archana Kamath are in action against Romania in Women's Team Round of 16. India on track to go 2-0 up. I had no clue we had team events in tt

Good but frankly though I don't think we can win a medal here even if we reach SFs. 

PS We are not meeting any Asian team before SFs

Edited by Number
12 minutes ago, Number said:

Good but frankly though I don't think we can win a medal here even if we reach SFs. 

semis itself will be a big step

gradual progression

On 8/4/2024 at 1:13 AM, Gollum said:

Hello mister. Dhyan Chand's team also won gold in the same Olympics. And refs play a bigger role in hockey. 

We thrashed Nazi Germany in the final 8-1.

Our other scores

Beat France 10-0 in SF

Beat Japan 9-0

Beat USA 7-0

Beat Hungary 4-0

Start looking for heroes in your own country first. There are plenty. 

No disrespect to Dhyanchand but I am taking about discrimination. dhyan chand was born in Rajput family which was serving in British Indian army he too joined it in at the age of 17.

On the other hand Jesse Owens life is full of discrimination. His grandfather was slave and he was extremely poor. He has to do menial jobs along with training which he received with much difficulty. He was only allowed to stay in black only hotels and eat only black only restaurants. 

21 minutes ago, neel roy said:

I knew...but against China Japan Korea we won't win.

1 hour ago, Strangering said:

its not 1.4 billion. Its medal  of Indian defence Forces and Indian Railways. Only kids with family associated with these two departments of India have access to sport.

BTW, Just take example of watersport (Swim dive and so on). And then check how many public swimming pools Delhi has? Compare that with say WEst. even their villages have more than one swimming pool and atleast one public swim pool

24 minutes ago, Number said:

Which gives us two chances i guess if we reach semis

1 hour ago, deathmonger said:

This argument against India holding the Olympics is the dumbest I've heard - India is bad at sports so they should not host the event which actually gives a boost to sports.

Qatar is world champs in football :phehe:

Edited by Sgattick10
1 minute ago, rkt.india said:

Qatar do not have more rokda than India. 

Yes it has. Dont conflate with gdp. Petroleum and other liquids. With proved reserves of crude oil estimated at 25.2 billion barrels as of January 1, 2023, Qatar held the 6th largest reserves in the Middle East and the 14th largest in the world. Qatar population is same as Thane district in mumbai. So they have surplus income to splurge..

Choke on

Archana Girish Kamath loses 9-11 to Romania's Bernadette Szocs 

The match goes into the fifth and deciding match. 

9 minutes ago, neel roy said:

Choke on

Archana Girish Kamath loses 9-11 to Romania's Bernadette Szocs 

The match goes into the fifth and deciding match. 

Manika up 2-0 . Doesn't really matter. They'll knocked out in the next round even if they make it thru.