'I took 13 wickets in 3 matches. What more do you want?': Kohli, Shastri not spared as Shami reignites 2019 WC debate

Mohammed Shami picked 14 wickets in 4 games he played in 2019 World Cup before being rested for next 2 games, which included the semifinal against New Zealand.

No Indian bowler has picked more wickets in ODI World Cups than Mohammed Shami. His tally of 55 wickets is the third-best by an Asian bowler and fifth in history. Not to forget, he is the only bowler ever to have four five-wicket hauls in World Cups. Yet, he never was a consistent name in the playing XI for India across the last three editions of the ICC tournament. India played 28 matches in the last three World Cups and Shami featured in just 18 of them, with India winning 15 of those ties.

Mohammed Shami picked 14 wickets in four games for India in 2019 World Cup

Like in 2023, Shami was benched for the first four group games in the 2019 World Cup, where India were led by Virat Kohli and coached by Ravi Shastri. Shami only made his appearance in the fifth match against Afghanistan, where he picked up a hat-trick, before picking up a fifer against England in his third appearances.

However, after four appearances, where he snared 14 wickets, Shami was rested for the final group game against Sri Lanka, before being ignored for the semifinal against New Zealand. India later suffered an 18-run loss against the Kiwis.

Speaking to Shubhankar Mishra on his YouTube show ‘Unplugged,’ Shami admitted that the team management's stance in 2019 did leave him puzzled. He questioned that while every team requires good performers, why was his performance overlooked despite putting on a best show.

“In 2019 I did not play the first 4-5 games. In the next game, I took a hat-trick, then picked up a five-wicket haul and then four wickets in the next game. A similar happened in 2023. I did not play in the first few games and then picked a fifer, then four wickets and then a five-wicket haul again,” he said.

“The one thing I keep wondering is every team needs players who can perform well. I took 13 wickets in three matches. What more do you expect from me? I neither have questions nor do I have answers. I can only prove myself when I get the opportunity. You gave me a chance, and I took 13 wickets in three matches. Then we lost to New Zealand. played four matches overall and picked 14 wickets. In 2023, I picked 24 wickets in seven matches,” he added.

In 2023, Shami was rested yet again for the first few games and only made the playing XI after Hardik Pandya was injured and later ruled out. He picked 24 wickets in seven matches, which included two fifers, he played to emerge as the leading wicket-taker in the tournament.

Kohli benched him and Umesh (3/30 in group game against poyzz) in 2017 CT F. Then elected to field first in a day game with not one speck of cloud in sight, and carrying 2 spinners, just to spite Kumble :hysterical:

Benched him again in 2019 SF, after he won MOTM against them in NZ a few months earlier. Kuldeep, Rayudu, 2 other star performers of that NZ series too didn't play that SF.

Injured Bhuvi picked ahead of red hot Shami against NZ, Kohli-Shastri the ultimate ICC disaster duo. Shastri does so much bakchodi as commentator, clown coach. 

Conditions were against us but we had the team to beat NZ, we could should have won that with better selections! Oz in last year's final are the perfect example of grit - they persisted & persisted & broke through the top order in the first PP & won the game. I'm sure no one forgets Head's unbelievable catch but Warner was just as good in the outfield, they easily saved 10-15 runs in the first PP itself - when was the last time you saw that from India? I don't buy that BS about 2nd day pitch because generally pitches would get better on day 2 & we did get close thanks to Jadeja. If we had picked Shami, KJa, Vijay(?) instead of Bhuke, Behaal, DK we may have won! Also MS *ed us by playing those dot balls in the last 10 overs - it's ironically fitting he got run out in his last innings & didn't really get a farewell ODI/T20 before retiring :whack2:

Edited by R!TTER
4 minutes ago, Lone Wolf said:

I remember NZ had a steady PP in those overcast conditions... Boobie Bhaiya was beyond useless selection.  His mythical batting has cost us Prime years of Shami Bhai.

Most braindead call in the history of Indian cricket.

The game was there to be won.

Bhuvi never looked like taking wickets with new ball that WC. Defensive, economical crap in PP when Woakes, Archer, Starc, Boult, Henry, Southee, Rabada, Afridi etc were pitching it up and reaping rewards in their first spells. 

Also was injured. Wasted a review first ball of the innings to Guptill. Useless is the word. 

Biggest selection blunder in Indian cricket history. Shami had owned the NZ batting in their own backyard and won the MoS just a few months prior to the WC. He was also on fire in that WC. 

Playing 2 spinners was another blunder. No spinner had any impact whatsoever in that WC, the conditions were so spin unfriendly. Jadeja should have played as the lone spinner for his batting and not the useless 1D Chahal. 

More like 0.1D - he fielded pretty badly that day as well & probably cost us a few runs IIRC.

Edited by R!TTER
1 hour ago, Gollum said:

Kohli benched him and Umesh (3/30 in group game against poyzz) in 2017 CT F. Then elected to field first in a day game with not one speck of cloud in sight, and carrying 2 spinners, just to spite Kumble :hysterical:

Benched him again in 2019 SF, after he won MOTM against them in NZ a few months earlier. Kuldeep, Rayudu, 2 other star performers of that NZ series too didn't play that SF.

Injured Bhuvi picked ahead of red hot Shami against NZ, Kohli-Shastri the ultimate ICC disaster duo. Shastri does so much bakchodi as commentator, clown coach. 

That's the reason I don't rate him Kohli as captain and Shastri as coach.

Yeah, Kohli to an extent backed fast bowlers.. but the reason was Bhuvi wasn't interested in playing Tests. Else he would have played him in Tests as well.

Shami always got the raw deal due to Bhuvi's supposedly batting ability. And that was coz we had a rotating door at no 4, Kedar CSK at 5, great old Thala at no 6 and Dhoni's right hand at no 7.

shami also owned nz twice in 23.

shami the white ball bowler should have been used more.

since his debut in 2013 to 2015 he was a mainstay and had a 25 avg (best odi avg by an indian pacer till then). after getting injured and comeback in 2016, he became a primarily test bowler and a backup odi bowler. didnt start in 2017 ct, 2019 wc or 2023 wc (only played cause of hardik injury).

it's sad that india's two greatest odi pacers never got to bowl much together. maybe ct 25 is last dance.

4 minutes ago, deathmonger said:

shami also owned nz twice in 23.

shami the white ball bowler should have been used more.

since his debut in 2013 to 2015 he was a mainstay and had a 25 avg (best odi avg by an indian pacer till then). after getting injured and comeback in 2016, he became a primarily test bowler and a backup odi bowler. didnt start in 2017 ct, 2019 wc or 2023 wc (only played cause of hardik injury).

it's sad that india's two greatest odi pacers never got to bowl much together. maybe ct 25 is last dance.

He was a last minute pick both for the 2022 T20 wc and the 2023 odi wc. Pandya's injury was a blessing. Tms seem to always underrate him in white ball cricket for some reason. 

31 minutes ago, rollingstoned said:

He was a last minute pick both for the 2022 T20 wc and the 2023 odi wc. Pandya's injury was a blessing. Tms seem to always underrate him in white ball cricket for some reason. 

I think it's another case of selectors mixing formats.

Shami is a wicket taker in T20's with new ball, his death and middle over bowling isn't suited for that format. 

In ODI's Shami is suited for both top and middle overs and he can attack and get the wickets.

Problem is his ODI career is always judged based on his T20 performance. 

2 hours ago, Gollum said:

Bhuvi never looked like taking wickets with new ball that WC. Defensive, economical crap in PP when Woakes, Archer, Starc, Boult, Henry, Southee, Rabada, Afridi etc were pitching it up and reaping rewards in their first spells. 

Also was injured. Wasted a review first ball of the innings to Guptill. Useless is the word. 

Boobie is without milk means,his forgery was suddenly into limelight when everyone saw him running away from Butler and Hales with the new ball in 2022t20 SF

Bkl,just to remain with respectable figures decided to bowl wide of off stumps,but as usual lack of pace bounce and his pseudo swing he was devoured

Suddenly everyone saw what we use to cry about him here for years but few low iq chewts did not understand

9 minutes ago, Suhaan said:

Boobie is without milk means,his forgery was suddenly into limelight when everyone saw him running away from Butler and Hales with the new ball in 2022t20 SF

Bkl,just to remain with respectable figures decided to bowl wide of off stumps,but as usual lack of pace bounce and his pseudo swing he was devoured

Suddenly everyone saw what we use to cry about him here for years but few low iq chewts did not understand

'All phase bowler' :giggle: guy who said it is awol since then.