Lone Wolf Posted May 12, 2025 Posted May 12, 2025 ^^ @MechEng A very costly Turkish Bird (TB-2) was taken down by this L-70. Old warhorse. raki05, singhvivek141, MechEng and 1 other 1 1 2
coffee_rules Posted May 12, 2025 Posted May 12, 2025 12 hours ago, rkt.india said: Brahmos is supersonic, can't be intercepted by any radar currently, probably launched using Su-30. Bramhos on a SU-57, would make eve US fear wouldn't it?
singhvivek141 Posted May 12, 2025 Author Posted May 12, 2025 53 minutes ago, coffee_rules said: Bramhos on a SU-57, would make eve US fear wouldn't it? Su-57 will work for us better. F35 is good as well, but our system integrates well with Russia.
G_B_ Posted May 12, 2025 Posted May 12, 2025 S500 russia have offered similar jv to brahmos. Sign of confidnce Manucrick and raki05 1 1
G_B_ Posted May 12, 2025 Posted May 12, 2025 I think the summary of this is we need to back drdo. This is on astra air to air to zorawar light tank (drdo have done a good job) and even dhruv copters (despite their issues). Re su57. Lets see what drdo do with the su30 upgrade. This incudes astra and the new desi aesa radar. Ultimately Pakistani will get 40 to 50 j20/j35 jets. These are stealth. Su57 is not a stealth craft. However it can deliver a 1500km brahmos 2. So the key question is can su57 get a desi radar that can intercept the j20/j35? Rather than more Rafale, i would like to see (in the nect decade) 40 odd brahmos 2 carrying su57 with tot and drdo modifying it for j20/j35. Hal tejas 1a and mk2 200 jets (replacing mig 21 and mig 29) 36 rafale and 300 modified su30mki with drdo radar and armament. coffee_rules and raki05 2
ravishingravi Posted May 12, 2025 Posted May 12, 2025 On 5/12/2025 at 12:12 AM, MechEng said: Akash air defence is already popular in Armenia after they were bombed in a humiliating manner by Turkish drones of Azerbaijan during Nagorno Karabakh conflict. Also buying from India is relatively cheaper than buying from Russia. Although DRDO is doing great work, let's hope that weapons industry never becomes a profit making venture in India. To make profit, you need to generate demand, to generate demand you need more wars, which will make the world very unsafe There is no industry without profit.
ravishingravi Posted May 13, 2025 Posted May 13, 2025 Meanwhile our military political expert did advise us to fortify our weaponry. If only we listened to him Pratik77, Manucrick, Lord and 2 others 5
diga Posted May 13, 2025 Posted May 13, 2025 6 minutes ago, ravishingravi said: Meanwhile our military political expert did advise us to fortify our weaponry. If only we listened to him Maha chutiya raki05 1
Lone Wolf Posted May 13, 2025 Posted May 13, 2025 5 hours ago, G_B_ said: S500 russia have offered similar jv to brahmos. Sign of confidnce No need India is already developing it's indigenous Project Kusha which aims to rival S400. Also all S400 units are not yet delivered to us... By the time we get our hands of S500, indigenous Kusha would be ready to mass production.
Lone Wolf Posted May 13, 2025 Posted May 13, 2025 (edited) DRDO's project Kusha SAM will likely induct 5 squadrons by 2028-2029 Desi maal ftw Edited May 13, 2025 by Lone Wolf singhvivek141 1
singhvivek141 Posted May 13, 2025 Author Posted May 13, 2025 1 hour ago, Lone Wolf said: No need India is already developing it's indigenous Project Kusha which aims to rival S400. Also all S400 units are not yet delivered to us... By the time we get our hands of S500, indigenous Kusha would be ready to mass production. Tbh...if Russia is ready to do the tech transfer and manufacturing....it won't be a bad deal
coffee_rules Posted May 13, 2025 Posted May 13, 2025 2 hours ago, diga said: Maha chutiya Ignore him in a serious discussion. Most of these SU-Xs, F-Xs need modifications for tropical weather. If we go by recent experiences and IAF feedback, Rafale was a bad route. We need to go by what’s most reliable for Indian tropical climate . Also India has too many variants. In s/w Industries, they go with one OS or HW and keep upgrading. IAF has too many variants to maintain and upgrade. Go with Russia or US or France. raki05 and Lord 2
Number Posted May 13, 2025 Posted May 13, 2025 Chinese PL15 found intact in India. The stocks of the maker taking a hit. raki05 1
Lone Wolf Posted May 13, 2025 Posted May 13, 2025 2 hours ago, singhvivek141 said: Tbh...if Russia is ready to do the tech transfer and manufacturing....it won't be a bad deal I think we weren't considering the deal made last year. I don't know if anything has change with that regard. Thing is S400 induction took ages and is still not complete due to Ukraine war. We have only 3 units and 2 are yet to be delivered. I will be highly surprised if we go Import route that soon.. especially with Indigenous SAM are proving themselves in war times. Our QRSAM would likely be inducted officially next year.. or may get fast tracked this year itself.
bharathh Posted May 13, 2025 Posted May 13, 2025 22 minutes ago, Lone Wolf said: I think we weren't considering the deal made last year. I don't know if anything has change with that regard. Thing is S400 induction took ages and is still not complete due to Ukraine war. We have only 3 units and 2 are yet to be delivered. I will be highly surprised if we go Import route that soon.. especially with Indigenous SAM are proving themselves in war times. Our QRSAM would likely be inducted officially next year.. or may get fast tracked this year itself. S400 is needed for defending vs ballistic missiles and other fast missiles. We don't have substitute for that yet. That said, there was some article I read today which said that Russia is willing to work with India on manufacturing S500. We could be their factory while we gain the tech for ourselves as well.
Lone Wolf Posted May 13, 2025 Posted May 13, 2025 (edited) 35 minutes ago, bharathh said: S400 is needed for defending vs ballistic missiles and other fast missiles. We don't have substitute for that yet. That said, there was some article I read today which said that Russia is willing to work with India on manufacturing S500. We could be their factory while we gain the tech for ourselves as well. India once rejected Sukhoi MKI upgradation offer by Ruskies.. they were asking for 1300 crore/jet.. HAL managed to do it in 80 crores. With Kusha our very own S400 ready by 2029 we won't need to depend on Russians for import. Need them to send us remaining 2 S400 batteries that are still delayed. Russians will heavily push for this deal coz they need us. I think MoD or GoI even if agrees should opt for something in return.. Edited May 13, 2025 by Lone Wolf raki05 1
raki05 Posted May 13, 2025 Posted May 13, 2025 1 hour ago, Lone Wolf said: India once rejected Sukhoi MKI upgradation offer by Ruskies.. they were asking for 1300 crore/jet.. HAL managed to do it in 80 crores. With Kusha our very own S400 ready by 2029 we won't need to depend on Russians for import. Need them to send us remaining 2 S400 batteries that are still delayed. Russians will heavily push for this deal coz they need us. I think MoD or GoI even if agrees should opt for something in return.. why don’t we take jet engine technology from Russia than running after USA.
zen Posted May 13, 2025 Posted May 13, 2025 On 5/12/2025 at 8:22 AM, rkt.india said: Brahmos is supersonic, can't be intercepted by any radar currently, probably launched using Su-30. The “can’t be intercepted (detected) by any radar” part is inaccurate. Brahmos is supersonic with speed in the range of Mach 2 to 3. Hypersonic missiles travel at a speed of Mach 5 and greater. Brahmos can be detected by radars but will be relatively difficult to intercept by anti-missile systems. Countries like China are currently developing radar systems that will be able to track hypersonic missiles as well.
singhvivek141 Posted May 13, 2025 Author Posted May 13, 2025 51 minutes ago, raki05 said: why don’t we take jet engine technology from Russia than running after USA. Russian jet engines arent that efficient...what I heard. US has supremacy in airforce as their jet engines are the best. Thats why we were chasing GE. raki05 1