Gollum Posted January 23 Posted January 23 24 minutes ago, Frustrated said: Eng won the WT20 2022. Since then, their performance in whiteball cricket has been at par with Minnows. So, I think the biggest threat to us are NZ & SA. 17 minutes ago, Stan AF said: The 2010 and the 2012 losses under Dhoni were a mucked up side. It's difficult for Aussies to defeat a full strength indian side. 7 minutes ago, Suhaan said: I will always take that loss as humiliation purely on cricketing perspective,we should have pasted that Aus side on any other surface or they played their best game vs the two best sides of the tourney 2003 CWC we had no business beating that modern GOAT odi side ,accepted That was a major tactical failure,'The Nov 19 agony' Bottomline is that Aus is only side we have never beaten in an ICC final. 2003 WC 2023 WTC F 2023 WC All were one-sided beatdowns where we never were ahead. And we won 2/3 of those tosses. Unless we beat them at least once, let us not get cocky. Frustrated and Sgattick10 2
Chaos Posted January 23 Posted January 23 1 hour ago, Gollum said: Salute @Tillu, he should open all WC match threads. I am sure you agree. See thing is … i let guys like u n tillu do bilaterals aka useless matches. But wc comes up no one else have guts to bask n take in the pressure like me Sgattick10 1
Gollum Posted January 23 Posted January 23 (edited) Like 24 T20 WC, we must ensure Aussies don't pass the Super 8 stage. RSA, WI must also play their part. Once Aussies reach SF you are dealing with a different animal, Head will start batting like Abhishek on steroids, Marsh like Viv Richards. From India, only peak Yuvi and Sachin were able to put them down in ICC KOs before. CT 25 SF we played a weak Aus and still barely won despite playing our most perfect ODI game in the last 5 years at least. Edited January 23 by Gollum sage and tapandrun 2
tapandrun Posted January 23 Posted January 23 (edited) 19 minutes ago, Gollum said: Like 24 T20 WC, we must ensure Aussies don't pass the Super 8 stage. RSA, WI must also play their part. Once Aussies reach SF you are dealing with a different animal, Head will start batting like Abhishek on steroids, Marsh like Viv Richards. From India, only peak Yuvi and Sachin were able to put them down in ICC KOs before. CT 25 SF we played a weak Aus and still barely won despite playing our most perfect ODI game in the last 5 years at least. Aus players' game only goes up when big games come in, their mind-sets are opposite of other team where the game goes down a bit. Other teams have to beat them on skills rather than occasion beating them. Edited January 23 by tapandrun Gollum 1
Gollum Posted January 23 Posted January 23 8 minutes ago, tapandrun said: Aus players' game only goes up when big games come in, their are opposite of other team where the game goes down a bit. Other teams have to beat them on skills rather than occasion beating them. Aussies are like prime Djokovic. In earlier rounds of majors, he would have his hiccups, not destroy opponents like Fedal, maybe even drop sets out of nowhere against people ranked 50-100 spots below him. But the deeper he went, his level just got higher and higher. And like Aussies, played big points better than his great rivals. So many times, Federer and Nadal won more points than him in SF/F but still lost !!!! rollingstoned and tapandrun 2
putrevus Posted January 23 Posted January 23 (edited) 57 minutes ago, Gollum said: Like 24 T20 WC, we must ensure Aussies don't pass the Super 8 stage. RSA, WI must also play their part. Once Aussies reach SF you are dealing with a different animal, Head will start batting like Abhishek on steroids, Marsh like Viv Richards. From India, only peak Yuvi and Sachin were able to put them down in ICC KOs before. CT 25 SF we played a weak Aus and still barely won despite playing our most perfect ODI game in the last 5 years at least. I disagree, if India play well they will beat any side. It is not like India has lost only to Aussies in knockouts. if it was any decent batsman other than KL Rahul we would have scored another 50 runs more. That is the problem with guys like KL even on their good days they can’t win matches. Edited January 23 by putrevus Stan AF 1
Suhaan Posted January 23 Posted January 23 45 minutes ago, Gollum said: Bottomline is that Aus is only side we have never beaten in an ICC final. 2003 WC 2023 WTC F 2023 WC All were one-sided beatdowns where we never were ahead. And we won 2/3 of those tosses. Unless we beat them at least once, let us not get cocky. Cocky Vocky ki baat nahi hai,we should have won that,very much beatable Aus side ,that was That was our golden opportunity,a side having Smith,Labu,Maxwell got it rather easy rollingstoned 1
vvvslaxman Posted January 23 Posted January 23 1 hour ago, tapandrun said: Dube has done good, he has his limitations, but shear brute force is needed at times and he has shown he is not the one who just plays bad shots under pressure or key times. Brute force in needed at itnl level in t20s. Most of the times his entry points were where Ind was in a spot but there are not many games where he played bad shot and still he has 140 sr. Is a v.good t20i batter --no. But he has shown brains and brute force and knows how to play with the limitations he has. He is probably one of the most limited player. But also one of the guy who maximizes his ability more than others. tapandrun and Need4Speed 2
tapandrun Posted January 23 Posted January 23 1 minute ago, vvvslaxman said: He is probably one of the most limited player. But also one of the guy who maximizes his ability more than others. brute force off-sets alot of thing in loi
Nikhil_cric Posted January 23 Posted January 23 1 hour ago, Suhaan said: Stubbs,I thought he wasn't there,was he added later? Yeah. De Zorzi and Ferreira injured. So they have now picked Rickleton and Stubbs
Nikhil_cric Posted January 23 Posted January 23 1 hour ago, Gollum said: Like 24 T20 WC, we must ensure Aussies don't pass the Super 8 stage. RSA, WI must also play their part. Once Aussies reach SF you are dealing with a different animal, Head will start batting like Abhishek on steroids, Marsh like Viv Richards. From India, only peak Yuvi and Sachin were able to put them down in ICC KOs before. CT 25 SF we played a weak Aus and still barely won despite playing our most perfect ODI game in the last 5 years at least. Don't think there is any chance of that. Australia will paste both SA and WI, unless it's a dodgy track.
vvvslaxman Posted January 23 Posted January 23 SKy today opened up the square on the off. I think he should stick to . Instead of coming inside he should give width bit like Iyer. You don't see many fielders there. This way he can avoid holing out to mid off oor holing out in the deep
Gollum Posted January 23 Posted January 23 3 minutes ago, Nikhil_cric said: Don't think there is any chance of that. Australia will paste both SA and WI, unless it's a dodgy track. Projected: Aus vs India, Chepauk Aus vs RSA, Kotla (same venue as group game of the 23 WC where RSA gave them a hiding) Aus vs WI, Wankhede Let us see.
Gollum Posted January 23 Posted January 23 SL in SL will be tough for Eng, NZ. Make no mistake. Even Pak will surprise many on SL tracks. There is a real possibility of one or both of Eng and NZ missing out SF spot. I don't rate Poms on turning pitches, even Afg/BD can be trickier. Ind/RSA/Aus/WI group is tougher but have the advantage of playing SF/F in India (unless Pooks spoil the party) Even if NZ/Eng/SL make the SF, they will have to make the adjustment from SL turners to Ind pattas with very little gap between the games. Pak of course will be stationed in Colombo.
Gollum Posted January 23 Posted January 23 (edited) Just checked @Lone Wolf @Nikhil_cric Two scenarios: 1. Pak doesn't make the SF If India tops the Super 8 group, it will play SF in Eden Gardens (March 4th) If India finishes 2nd in Super 8s, Wankhede SF (March 5th) 2. Pak makes the SF Doesn't matter whether Pooks finish 1st or 2nd or who they will face in SF Pak will play the 1st SF (March 4th) in Premadasa, Colombo against XYZ 2nd SF in Wankhede on March 5th. So Kolkata loses out. Likewise if Pak make the final, venue will be Premadasa and not Namo. Edited January 23 by Gollum Nikhil_cric and Lone Wolf 2
vvvslaxman Posted January 23 Posted January 23 Things that need improvement 1) Under lights bowling slower balls will work against you as there is no grip. For some reason they were using lot ot slower ones. Job of Morkel to tell these things Both Arsh and Rana were guilty of it. 2) Fielding. No need to elaborate
Need4Speed Posted January 23 Posted January 23 (edited) 5 hours ago, deathmonger said: He is also young and evolving. Maybe he has added that to his repertoire. Also decent 5th bowler. Gill is too one dimensional. Just learn some Doosra etc from Ash/Bhajji and he will add more teeth to his bowling Edited January 23 by Need4Speed
Need4Speed Posted January 23 Posted January 23 2 hours ago, vvvslaxman said: He is probably one of the most limited player. But also one of the guy who maximizes his ability more than others. This guy opened the bowling in asia t20 final and bowled well given his limited ability…in Pandya’s absence Even thiugh batters line him up he is picking up wkts.. He is working hard in all aspects and need to be appreciated for it.
vvvslaxman Posted January 23 Posted January 23 Every player has to be in sync with each other. Samson's inconsistency is accepted.But it has a threshold. If you click once in 5 matches and go completel missing in other matches is not a good return. I would take a quick 30 in every match instead of one 100 and 4 single digits. He needs to find a way to make runs in every match even if it is 20 that is fine. But going in 1st over, 2nd over is not ideal.