India will reach the final

14 minutes ago, WC2011INDIA said:

Anyone who thinks SA will let India get a sniff of semis is surely mistaken. SA will tactically drop the match against WI or Zimbabwe.  

They won't do that. SA also struggle against pressure. If they lose tactically against WI, then the pressure on SA. Zim might actually beat South Africa you never know

4 minutes ago, Norman said:

That mad dog in me is saying that South Africa will choke in the next two games and will crash out while we make it thorough.. :phehe:

Naah they have learnt from mistakes.

Batting till 8 now.

They lost in 2022 and 2024 due to short batting lineup.

5 minutes ago, Norman said:

That mad dog in me is saying that South Africa will choke in the next two games and will crash out while we make it thorough.. :phehe:

Funny that.  Because the mad dog in me wants to bite everyone, starting Gauti, in two business days or less. 

4 minutes ago, Norman said:

Naah they have learnt from mistakes.

Batting till 8 now.

They lost in 2022 and 2024 due to short batting lineup.

Zim got its bad game out of the way so could be motivated to bounce back at Chennai. India needs to be careful. 

32 minutes ago, deepdynamo said:

only if they beat SA.

If they lose vs SA, then Ind vs WI is a shootout.

Or a washout

3 minutes ago, zen said:

Zim got its bad game out of the way so could be motivated to bounce back at Chennai. India needs to be careful. 

If we fear Zimbabwe after losing 6 t20 matches in last 18 months out of 40 we dont deserve to be in final 

6 minutes ago, neel roy said:

If we fear Zimbabwe after losing 6 t20 matches in last 18 months out of 40 we dont deserve to be in final 

A World Cup does not go by bilateral dynamics. We have seen many major upsets in the past (like NED beating SA and Zim beating Pak in 2022. Even AFG had scared a few teams in that World Cup, and then beat Aus in 2024 World Cup) and even in this tourney. 

Zim beat Aus and SL. Conditions in Chennai could be similar to those in SL. 

2 hours ago, Gambit said:

ICF has lost its collective mind after this one loss. Some of you can burn the stadium, some can monitor what every tom,dick and harry in Pakistan thinks but we are definitely reaching the final.

Watch the proceedings! :isalute:

This post reflects arrogant optimism that SA will beat WI  than sound cricketing logic.  Whats there to be so positive given that we are dependent on other results going our way ?

It is not just about losing to South Africa. It is about how we lost. The team looked tactically unprepared.

Even before this loss, the warning signs were there. The big collapse against the USA and the close win against the Netherlands showed that something was not right.

The batting is not working well as a unit. The bowling often looks like a one man effort.

When teams attack our spinners, both Kuldeep and Varun have struggled.

West Indies beating Zimbabwe by 100 plus runs only makes things worse. If West Indies beat South Africa, India could be out.

Our net run rate is already very poor, and West Indies have protected theirs with the big win against Zim.

2 hours ago, Lord said:

WI isn't beating any of India/SA. Their bowling is terrible

I wouldn't put it past them. Their spin bowling is decent and they can keep the opponents to a manageable score and then their beastly batting can take over. If they bat first and put up a big total they'll win. It wouldn't matter whether their bowling is weak as chasing a big total is a unique challenge and I don't see either SA or Ind chasing anything over 190.

2 hours ago, WC2011INDIA said:

Anyone who thinks SA will let India get a sniff of semis is surely mistaken. SA will tactically drop the match against WI or Zimbabwe.  

Lmao no

Unlikely that SA would drop a match against either of WI or Zim.   Coz if SA does so, it faces potential threat of getting eliminated on NRR.   Let's not forget that SA doesn't hv the best NRR right now.   It's WI.  

Edited by Frustrated

But seriously, do you really want India to win in your heart?

If you look around, South Africa has the strongest squad in every department, West Indies have the best T20 batting, Zimbabwe is playing with unmatched determination under Raza, Sri Lanka could script a fairytale resurgence under Jayasuriya, and England brings the aura and dominance of the future ATG, Harry Brook.

That said, I will take India winning above Pakistan and New Zealand. Pakistan is the lamest T20 team ever and New Zealand’s squad is full of misfits like Rachin.

And then there’s our own camp  :facepalm: with a captain and coach so edgy and arrogant, it’s almost painful to watch press conferences.

If India actually wins this tournament in a joke of a format, every failure and all the heartbreak Gambhir caused to our Test and ODI teams will just be shrugged off by BCCI.

9 hours ago, neel roy said:

Bhai, doodh ka jala chhaachh bhi phoonk-phoonk kar peeta hai. We've seen the team struggle 4 straight matches, including against minnows like US and Netherlands. And Zim is much better than those teams and actually beat Aus and SL!

Indian team playing even up to 70% of its capability would be huge favorites against Zim but the current team is totally out of sorts. The openers are out of form and one of the openers gets out for a duck in the opening over, and they really give any start at all. Number 3 (Tilak) is playing Tests, Number 4 (SKY) is an over the hill impactless batter who was always a bilateral king, middle order is getting exposed every match, bowlers are nowhere to be seen other than Bumrah or Varun C to some extent, and the fielding & catching is a joke. And the less said about selections, "strategy", team management and the coach, less the better.

There're so many holes I don't see how we cover them. The team is actively finding ways to undermine themselves by benching a player like Axar in place of useless Sundar who shouldn't even be picked for LOIs.