G_B_ Posted March 15 Posted March 15 I have found with india. Major disapointment or policy failure results in reforms. But lets stick to cricket. 2007 wc exit , 2007 t20wc+ 2011wc + 2013 champions trophy. 2023 wc disappointment, 2024 t20 wc+ champions trophy + 2026 t20 wc. 2023wc i think while not on same level as 2007 was the peak of a decade of missing out in finals n semis. 2014 t20 wc finals (india dominated this), 2015 wc semi, 2016 t20 semi, 2017 champions trophy loss to pakistan (was in uk, this hurt me more than 23) 2019 wc semi (should have won vs nz in semi).
jf1gp_1 Posted March 15 Posted March 15 1 hour ago, Nikhil_cric said: I don't think KL will cost us games. But Rohit, Virat and Jadeja are certainly going to be liabilities in those conditions considering how old they all will be. With some bold decision making, we can prepare a squad that is a lot stronger. We have the talent pool to. It's just a question of whether they have the guts to make the tough calls I don't have problem with Rahul the batsman. He seems far more confident now it's his keeping that will cost us games. Ultimate_Game and Nikhil_cric 2
Vickydev Posted March 15 Posted March 15 I'll be honest, I cant sit through a 100 over game. So selfishly I dont care about that WC as much. I dont even remember any memorable moments from the CT win either. Its basically mid by all definitions, easiest format for the players too. Our T20 wins will serve a bigger purpose going forward as the game spreads out. Need to build a dynasty there. Test cricket is for the purists, and its absolutely fine. ODIs should hopefully die by 2030s
G_B_ Posted March 15 Posted March 15 Ct quality wise is the best tournament. 8 teams. No margin of error and finalist play 5 games over 2 to 3 weeks. Icc tournaments you have a stage where associates get their shot. Winning ct is actually harder than wc. Sandz 1
vvvslaxman Posted March 15 Posted March 15 2 hours ago, G_B_ said: Ct quality wise is the best tournament. 8 teams. No margin of error and finalist play 5 games over 2 to 3 weeks. Icc tournaments you have a stage where associates get their shot. Winning ct is actually harder than wc. Australia was 3rd or 4th best team lol Seriously that was a fluke win thanks to lot of drops by opposition rollingstoned 1
Norman Posted March 15 Posted March 15 Oh wow ...did not expect to be in the absolute minority. Do people actually think T20 WCs and Champions Trophies are anywhere closer to the level of an ODI WC?
deathmonger Posted March 15 Posted March 15 5 hours ago, G_B_ said: I have found with india. Major disapointment or policy failure results in reforms. But lets stick to cricket. 2007 wc exit , 2007 t20wc+ 2011wc + 2013 champions trophy. 2023 wc disappointment, 2024 t20 wc+ champions trophy + 2026 t20 wc. 2023wc i think while not on same level as 2007 was the peak of a decade of missing out in finals n semis. 2014 t20 wc finals (india dominated this), 2015 wc semi, 2016 t20 semi, 2017 champions trophy loss to pakistan (was in uk, this hurt me more than 23) 2019 wc semi (should have won vs nz in semi). 2015 team overachieved but 2014, 2016, 2017, 2019, 2023 india should have won at least one if not two. G_B_ 1
deathmonger Posted March 15 Posted March 15 (edited) 15 minutes ago, Norman said: Oh wow ...did not expect to be in the absolute minority. Do people actually think T20 WCs and Champions Trophies are anywhere closer to the level of an ODI WC? one maybe but not multiple. and it's not like we haven't won odi wc before and there won't be in future. eventually a time will come when india will win EVERYTHING. Edited March 15 by deathmonger
G_B_ Posted March 15 Posted March 15 24 minutes ago, deathmonger said: 2015 team overachieved but 2014, 2016, 2017, 2019, 2023 india should have won at least one if not two. That i agree. 2014 best team. Dhoni not dropping yuvi cost us big. Yuvi was dropped from champions trophy 2013 winning side. Then you had c/unts like sachin tendulkar pimping for his inclusion. Friendship trumps nation. Struggled badly all through tournament and finally cost us in final. Msd failed as captain in droping him. We won a good toss in final. 160 would be winning score. Thanks to yuvi (sanga revealed lankans kept him at crease) india lost. 2015 we were beaten by aus. In that tournament aus n nz were playing best cricket. 2016 Slow rahane innings at wankhede in semi. But chasing at wankhede was big advantage. Lost key toss. 2017 best team in tournament. Total brain fade in final. Bowling went for toss. I dont think india ever had an opening. 2019 rolled out nz for very chasable score. Fluffed it. 2023 we were 80/2 in 10. Bad toss to lose but unlike 2017 india had theit chances. Ultimate_Game 1
bowl_out Posted March 15 Posted March 15 CT and one T20I trophy maybe for a WC. Not all 3 Ultimate_Game 1
goose Posted March 15 Posted March 15 i wonder how answers would differ if just a few days after that loss in 2023 the question is - would you take missing out on the next 3 ICC tophies if it means undoing this loss and beating aus to be 50 over champions
Ultimate_Game Posted March 15 Author Posted March 15 1 hour ago, bowl_out said: CT and one T20I trophy maybe for a WC. Not all 3 That's what I thought as well but this WT20 trophy is the one which tilted the balance for me.
Ultimate_Game Posted March 15 Author Posted March 15 34 minutes ago, goose said: i wonder how answers would differ if just a few days after that loss in 2023 the question is - would you take missing out on the next 3 ICC tophies if it means undoing this loss and beating aus to be 50 over champions Conversely what if you had an option that you lose this trophy but will win the next 3?
Ultimate_Game Posted March 15 Author Posted March 15 2 hours ago, Norman said: Oh wow ...did not expect to be in the absolute minority. Do people actually think T20 WCs and Champions Trophies are anywhere closer to the level of an ODI WC? More than the trophy it's the way we won. Absolute domination! It also led to change in team approach moving to a 8-3 combination and "team first" attitude. IMO that has been the main reason plus no matter what, winning 3 ICC trophies back-to-back is not an easy thing. I don't recall any team doing it maybe the Aussie team of early 2000s. rollingstoned 1
goose Posted March 15 Posted March 15 2 minutes ago, Ultimate_Game said: Conversely what if you had an option that you lose this trophy but will win the next 3? yeh that too, and crucially asked a few days after the loss. right now everyone has already done the hard work to greive the 2023 loss so everyone wants the 3 wins that followed including the most recent. Ultimate_Game 1
Ultimate_Game Posted March 15 Author Posted March 15 5 minutes ago, nitinbwj said: Asia Cup le lo 2-3. But no the one where we hammered padosis 4-0 in a single tournament. We can trade some other ones
Ultimate_Game Posted March 15 Author Posted March 15 8 hours ago, Suhaan said: OP aur kuch nahi mila trade karwane ke liye? Nahin yaar waise hi khyaal aaya ki agar aisa hota toh kaisa hota Till CT I would've traded the two but this one feels special especially with the way the way we won: 1. Scoring 250+ in knockouts and showing no fear unlike what we used to see with the seniors where they used to shyte their pants in knockouts 2. Youngsters leading the way when we have been told that we don't have replacements for the seniors and the seniors were keeping us "competent" just by reaching knockouts That myth has been shattered. 3. First team to defend their WT20 title and win back-to-back titles 4. First team to win WT20 at home 5. Only the second team to win the WT20 final after losing the toss and breaking the Modi stadium's curse and that too after losing the toss and batting first in traditionally a chasing venue. This win felt so much sweeter! rollingstoned 1