Singh bling Posted January 12, 2017 Posted January 12, 2017 Quote Demonetisation will cause loss of Rs 1.5 lakh crore to GDP: P Chidambaram Chidambaram said that except Finance Minister Arun Jaitley, "no one in the world thinks that the GDP wont be hit. http://indianexpress.com/article/india/demonetisation-will-cause-loss-of-rs-1-5-lakh-crore-to-gdp-p-chidambaram-4469147/ Quote Manmohan Singh slams Modi govt over demonetisation, says worst is yet to come http://www.hindustantimes.com/india-news/manmohan-singh-slams-modi-govt-over-demonetization-says-worst-is-yet-to-come/story-Rl3UmsxgzLQ5CCGshXlhCL.html
tweaker Posted January 13, 2017 Author Posted January 13, 2017 The nation is living with less than half the cash and currencies since the government banned high value Rs 500 and Rs 1,000 notes on November 7, as significant amounts were deposited with the Reserve Bank by banks after the December 30 deadline. At the current levels, it is estimated that nearly 60% of banned notes will be replaced by the Reserve Bank of India.
coffee_rules Posted January 15, 2017 Posted January 15, 2017 The most frustrating part is, everybody from govt to economists keep saying it will take a few more weeks for normalcy to return. Nobody knows when. 50 % of money that was in circulation has been printed or nack in circulation. There are some rumors that RBI goofed up printing Gandhi watermark picture on some notes and that is the reason for delay.
tweaker Posted January 16, 2017 Author Posted January 16, 2017 The Reserve Bank of India is likely to raise the weekly cash withdrawal limit to Rs 35,000- Rs 40,000 from the current limit of Rs 24,000,
Singh bling Posted January 16, 2017 Posted January 16, 2017 13 minutes ago, tweaker said: The Reserve Bank of India is likely to raise the weekly cash withdrawal limit to Rs 35,000- Rs 40,000 from the current limit of Rs 24,000, Quote http://www.hindustantimes.com/india-news/demonetisation-rbi-raises-daily-atm-cash-withdrawal-limit-from-rs-4-500-to-rs-10-000/story-LiBE99FR0dRVtERH3b7AAJ.html The limit is same from saving account only ATM limit has increased to 10,000 per day and current account limit increased to 1 lakh
mishra Posted January 16, 2017 Posted January 16, 2017 1 hour ago, Singh bling said: The limit is same from saving account only ATM limit has increased to 10,000 per day and current account limit increased to 1 lakh Despite cash printing situation, There was a news on ft (not Indian, pro Congress anti Modi newspaper) in December that Banks have requested not to spike the with drawl limit from Banks as it will create more pressure on them hence RBI is managing it by ATMs
Singh bling Posted January 16, 2017 Posted January 16, 2017 Quote http://www.moneycontrol.com/news/economy/post-demonetisation-imf-cuts-indias-growth-to-66-per-cent_8278381.html Post-demonetisation, IMF cuts India's growth to 6.6 per cent
chewy Posted January 16, 2017 Posted January 16, 2017 On 12/01/2017 at 8:37 PM, Singh bling said: lol @ Chidu and Mon Mon providing their "insights" on the economy, more like two jokers who stumbled into top jobs becoz they were excellent a$$ lickers jusarrived and tweaker 2
Singh bling Posted January 17, 2017 Posted January 17, 2017 Quote Post-demonetisation, GDP to grow at 6% for next five years, says CMIE http://www.thehindu.com/business/Post-demonetisation-GDP-to-grow-at-6-for-next-five-years-says-CMIE/article17041221.ece Before the demonetisation shock, the Indian economy was expected to gradually accelerate its real GDP growth rate from 7.5% to over 8% per annum,” Mahesh Vyas, Managing Director at CMIE wrote in an article. “We now expect this growth trajectory to shift down to about 6% per annum for the next five years. The economy is unlikely to achieve a growth of 7% any time during the coming five years.”
sandeep Posted January 17, 2017 Posted January 17, 2017 50 minutes ago, Singh bling said: How do you causally link the slowing growth to demonetization? How can you prove that growth wouldn't have slowed down regardless, given the global slowdown? Opinions don't turn into facts just because you throw in a few numbers.
randomGuy Posted January 17, 2017 Posted January 17, 2017 1 hour ago, Singh bling said: GDP slowdown is a short term impact IMO... Temporary Slowdown due to Demonetization will be followed by pent up demand and increased spending and higher GDP growth (again, temporarily)... In long term, there's positive (only a small positive) impact of demonetization on GDP. Again, only a small positive, but certainly not a negative.
Singh bling Posted January 17, 2017 Posted January 17, 2017 30 minutes ago, sandeep said: How do you causally link the slowing growth to demonetization? How can you prove that growth wouldn't have slowed down regardless, given the global slowdown? Opinions don't turn into facts just because you throw in a few numbers. It is report of CMIE that is saying GDP growth will be slow for next 5 years. Please write to them if you think they are wrong
sandeep Posted January 17, 2017 Posted January 17, 2017 5 minutes ago, Singh bling said: It is report of CMIE that is saying GDP growth will be slow for next 5 years. Please write to them if you think they are wrong Please read what I wrote again, maybe a bit slower so you can get my point. I'm not disputing that growth will slow down - I'm questioning the causality. Here's a suggestion - google the following phrase - "Co-relation does not equal causation".
randomGuy Posted January 17, 2017 Posted January 17, 2017 1 minute ago, Singh bling said: It is report of CMIE that is saying GDP growth will be slow for next 5 years. Please write to them if you think they are wrong Sir ji... GDP is strange. If we use a robust, advanced or quality product which lasts longer or doesn't go obsolete, then buying such a product will contribute less towards GDP in long term.... But if we use products which need to be upgraded/replaced frequently, then that will contribute more towards GDP in the long term... So GDP not growing can be attributed to a variety of factors...such as slower population growth, more quality products , improved efficiency ( less wastage in every process) etc.
Tibarn Posted January 18, 2017 Posted January 18, 2017 On 1/3/2017 at 8:39 AM, mishra said: To me, Till 2013, Congresses made people feel happy by competing with Pakistan whose total population is lot less than # of minorities in India and whose GDP is slightly ahead of a nation which got independence in 1971 Bangladesh but socially behind them For past few years we are being sold the narrative that we have competition with China. And demonetization is one of those confidence building measure to accept the new reality. What's funny is that Pakistan had a higher GDP/per capita on nominal and PPP basis for most of independence. The Congressis couldn't even better Pakistan. It took Narshima Rao, who they hate, and Vajpayee for us to better Pakistan. Now they have the nerve to start lecturing people on economics On growth rate: Indian GDP is going to grow: 7.7% according to UN report 6.6% according to IMF 7.0% according to World Bank Averages out to 7.1%. "Great economist" former PM is likely to end up with egg on his face.
Tibarn Posted January 18, 2017 Posted January 18, 2017 http://economictimes.indiatimes.com/news/economy/indicators/reports-of-industrial-and-economic-activity-in-november-december-show-growth-in-sectors/articleshow/56507955.cms More doom http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/business/india-business/exports-rise-for-4th-month-in-dec-up-5-72-at-23-9-billion/articleshow/56521471.cms Quote Exports rise for 4th month in Dec; up 5.72% at $23.9 billion continued to grow for the fourth straight month in December 2016, expanding by 5.72 per cent to $23.9 billion compared to $22.6 billion in the same month of previous year.Imports too rose by 0.46 per cent to $34.25 billion during the month under review, leaving a trade deficit of $10.36 billion.Oil imports were valued at $7.645 billion during December 2016 which was 14.61 per cent higher than oil imports valued at USD 6.670 billion in December 2015, the trade data released by commerce and industry ministry showed. G_B_ and Mariyam 2
kabbirann Posted January 22, 2017 Posted January 22, 2017 It's very suspicious that none of the BJP supporters have suffered any consequences of demonetisation. Was at RBI some days ago and my money like many other PIO's and OCI's was made illegal thanks to the retarded policies of Modi the moron. There was a huge no. of NRI's ,some who had come straight from the airport,some who had travelled from Punjab because the RBI in Chandigarh will not do this-the Modi govt doing it's best to make it difficult for people to change notes so it can show that there is black money. Then there were Haryanvi Jats who had been in hospital and could'nt change notes earlier- and they said when this govt will ask for votes we will show them these notes. Rohit S. Ambani and Singh bling 2
jalebi_bhai Posted January 22, 2017 Posted January 22, 2017 (edited) 20 minutes ago, Tibarn said: When exactly did Modi notify you, via telepathy, about demonetisation? Edited January 22, 2017 by jalebi_bhai
Tibarn Posted January 22, 2017 Posted January 22, 2017 1 hour ago, jalebi_bhai said: When exactly did Modi notify you, via telepathy, about demonetisation? I got a carrier pigeon a month before!!!