Cheteshwar Pujara: Yorkshire re-sign India Test batsman

http://www.bbc.com/sport/cricket/42864776

Yorkshire have re-signed India's Cheteshwar Pujara, meaning three of the world's top six-ranked Test batsmen will play for the county this summer.

In addition to Pujara, 29, Yorkshire will also field England captain Joe Root and New Zealand's Kane Williamson.

Pujara, who helped Yorkshire win the 2015 County Championship, could play in the Leeds Bradford MCCU game in April.

"It's an honour for me to play for the same county as Yuvraj Singh and Sachin Tendulkar," he told the club's website.

Pujara, who has also played for Derbyshire and Nottinghamshire, will share overseas duties with New Zealand captain Williamson.

"Each time I've played county cricket it has improved me as a player. That's the plan again in 2018," the number three added.

"I love the passion the people of Yorkshire have for the game and they made me feel very welcome. 

"I know quite a few of the players, so I'll just try to play my natural game and score plenty of runs for the club."

India have scheduled a one-off Test against Afghanistan in Bengaluru from 14-18 June, meaning Pujara will leave England after the Royal London 50-over game at Lancashire.

But the batsman will return in time for the away trip to Hampshire in the County Championship on 20 June.

Pujara could also stay on after India's summer Test tour in order to play the final home fixture against Hampshire on 18 September, followed by the trip to New Road to face Worcestershire six days later.

---

thank god. :)

Kohli should give ipl a miss and play county cricket.:p: If he fails in England again, he will be a butt of jokes.

Rcb ka waise bhi kuch nahi hone waala.:laugh1:

What is  17 crores for him !

He can just post pics of products on instagram and earn more that that.

4 minutes ago, chewy said:

Long Eng v Ind Test series this English season

I see. But doesn't county championship start in April? April, May, June in England ball moves around more than in July/August. Test series starts in August. 

4 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said:

Feel for him. Some totally useless Australian hacks are making lot of money. This guy has to slog in England. I prefer this. Still can't help feeling for one of our ace test  batsman. 

Don't feel sorry for him, he is making the same amount of money and getting similar international exposure to all the international cricketers pre IPL years. Compared to other people in his country he is still in a fantastic position. He gets to work and earn English money, a privilege that would benefit many people in India. Also travels around the world and stays in best hotels. I feel more sorry for the likes of Ambrose, Viv Richards and Wasim Akram who would have gone for millions in IPL. 

2 minutes ago, mancalledsting said:

Don't feel sorry for him, he is making the same amount of money and getting similar international exposure to all the international cricketers pre IPL years. Compared to other people in his country he is still in a fantastic position. He gets to work and earn English money, a privilege that would benefit many people in India. Also travels around the world and stays in best hotels. I feel more sorry for the likes of Ambrose, Viv Richards and Wasim Akram who would have gone for millions in IPL. 

Still Pujara takes blows, toils hard to save, win tests for India. What do  second-grade Australian cricketers do for us? They pocket crores of rupees. This guy just because of lack of slogging ability is completely out of the picture. Money launderers could not even recognize how much he serves for Indian cricket. I saw Maxwell pocketing a million dollar without playing the entier season.

2 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said:

Still Pujara takes blows, toils hard to save, win tests for India. What do  second-grade Australian cricketers do for us? They pocket crores of rupees. This guy just because of lack of slogging ability is completely out of the picture. Money launderers could not even recognize how much he serves for Indian cricket. I saw Maxwell pocketing a million dollar without playing the entier season.

Maxwell has a different skill and is remunerated for that based on current market dynamics. That's life; agree not fair but same applies to all of us. Maxwell also looks unhappy playing cricket and I think this is largely born out of his inferiority complex that he has been unable to crack international cricket consistently. Chepu looks a lot more fulfilled. Money isn't everything. 

1 hour ago, vvvslaxman said:

What sort of ridiculous logic is this ? 

He gets paid more in  a year than 99% Indians earn in their lives .

He also earns millions times more than any Army soldier in India.

Based on that logic what has he done to India to deserve so much money.

Should Indian cricketers salaries be fixed lower than Army jawans considering the toil ,hardship they encounter and protect the country in the border? 

These so called B Grade Australians earn crores because they are good in T20 cricket which is highly popular in India.

Bringing patriotism card or 'serving the country ' is nonsense to say the least.He doesn't serve Indian cricket , he plays and gets handsomely rewarded for that. 

4 minutes ago, BeautifulGame said:

What sort of ridiculous logic is this ? 

He gets paid more in  a year than 99% Indians earn in their lives .

He also earns millions times more than any Army soldier in India.

Based on that logic what has he done to India to deserve so much money.

Should Indian cricketers salaries be fixed lower than Army jawans considering the toil ,hardship they encounter and protect the country in the border? 

These so called B Grade Australians earn crores because they are good in T20 cricket which is highly popular in India.

Bringing patriotism card or 'serving the country ' is nonsense to say the least.He doesn't serve Indian cricket , he plays and gets handsomely rewarded for that. 

Settle down bro. We are talking about cricket. No need to bring other profession here.  Not all of them are T20 specialists. They pick random noobs and use IPL as a training platform. We have been witnessing since 2007. We have even discussed about how worthless these hacks are. Out of 10 , 1 or 2 clicks. That's about it.