England will come harder at us

10 minutes ago, sensible-indian said:

No one can singlehandedly win. Its all about support.

3 hardcore pacers and 2 spinners give us the best chance.

there is a reason England plays with 4 pacers. The game we win won in SA we played 5 seamers. one spinner to me is enough unless it is a rank turner.

39 minutes ago, Trichromatic said:

What did 5th pacer do in 3rd test?

5th pacer was Pandya.  In first two tests, he was the 4th pacer.  Fifth bowler is just a cushion in case your man bowlers have off day. Pandya barely got 8 overs in 2 innings as main 4 bowlers did the job. Your fifth bowler should be able to bat. your 5th bowler cannot be a noob with the bat.  here if we had BK, would could thought about dropping Pandya play specialist 4th seamers but them ifs and buts and bK is not there. 

2 hours ago, rkt.india said:

there is a reason England plays with 4 pacers. The game we win won in SA we played 5 seamers. one spinner to me is enough unless it is a rank turner.

Seriously?

The game we won in SA was a seamers paradise. Nobody is asking for 2 spinners there.

England play 4 pacers cos this is their home condition which their pacers know how to exploit. Plus England dont hav spinners that we hav. 

As for Edgbaston test, we played with 4 seamers and yet if we take out the performance of our spinner, we would hav been bitch slapped.

England took 20 wickets where their spinner had a very minimal role to play. 

How did Aus conquer India in 2004? With 3 pacers and a spinner cos that's their strength. 

Its not like anyone is suggesting that we go with just 2 pacers. Going with 3 pacers along with 2 spinners gives us a well rounded attack while playing to our strength. 

Of course for some pitches, our strategy has to be changed.

Edited by sensible-indian
Just now, rkt.india said:

Yeah let's forget about Leeds 2002 or Perth 2008, Indian spinners did absolutely nothing!

26 minutes ago, R!TTER said:

Yeah let's forget about Leeds 2002 or Perth 2008, Indian spinners did absolutely nothing!

Do you have that quality of spinners? Even in Perth 2008, pacers took most of the wickets Irfan, RP etc. In Leeds, we scored 600 plus runs, if you have such big first inning score, spinners can come in to play, but in low scoring in places like England, you will have to depend on fast bowlers. yes, if we had a spinner quality of Kumble or Warne, we could have played him but jaddu-kuldeep give no confidence.

17 hours ago, sandeep said:

Their batting lineup is not much better than ours.  Its just that their bowlers are more effective at using conditions against our batsmen, who are less effective than they ought to be.  

The good news is that our bowlers are good enough to keep us in the game.  The batting can and will do better.  We need to stop screwing up selection, and the batsmen need to execute better.  It will happen.

I am less confident of my 3-1 prediction at this point, having lost a winnable test. But I still believe we will not lose this series, and have a very good chance of winning it.  

Agree, they are as vulnerable as we are, despite playing at home. 

Few more days of 20+ degrees and sunlight will mean the Lords pitch might turn rougher from day2-3 on wards. Let's play to our strength and back another spinner. England might bring in Moeen, but if the batsmen play him sensibly it will not be an issue. Vijay and Rahane are key, they need to swallow a lot of balls, occupy the crease and eat time.

Just now, shortbread said:

Agree, they are as vulnerable as we are, despite playing at home. 

Few more days of 20+ degrees and sunlight will mean the Lords pitch might turn rougher from day2-3 on wards. Let's play to our strength and back another spinner. England might bring in Moeen, but if the batsmen play him sensibly it will not be an issue. Vijay and Rahane are key, they need to swallow a lot of balls, occupy the crease and eat time.

If the pitch is dry or drier than Edgbaston then surely Jadeja in for Pandya, also Pujara for Dhawan.

3 minutes ago, Lala said:

I initially thought India would fight for series victory, but now realized they are yet to be there. Sory to say, now it seems to be 5-0 on the cards if no rain interrupted. :cantstop:

Ab hum to ye bhi keh sakte hai ki England hibernation se aane ke baad 1 test hara, dusre test me kya hua, 5 tests me kya hota vs Pak? Lekin hum kahenge nahi :no:

Edited by R!TTER

India are really going to regret not taking the first test. It was there for the taking and they choked. They could have put doubts in England's mind, but now it's India who will be massively doubting themselves. 

Nasser made a valid point about India making sure they don't massively capitulate from here. Because there is a good chance of that happening.