England vs India, 3rd Test Trent Bridge - 18-22 Aug - Match Thread

Trent Bridge match winner  

55 members have voted

1. 1. 3rd Test : Who will take the final wicket?

• Bumrah
    • Shami
    • Ashwin
    • Ishant
    • Pandya

This poll is closed to new votes

2 minutes ago, zep1706 said:

I think the pitch is starting to quicken up a bit. It was quite easy paced in the first two sessions but they got good carry and swing with the second new ball. Tomorrow might a bowling day. I reckon 350 might be a good total here. 

True.in these conditions 400 is almost impossible to score against quality attacks especially India's and England's. Gone are those days of 400-500 scores because every team are relentlessly attacking with 4 pacers (1 AR included) and there's no let away. 

Kohli will smell this opportunity and make sure to pounce on this brittle England line up ,a decent first innings lead will be super helpful 

Just now, Switchblade said:

Hamari bowling kaisa karegi uspe bahut kuch dependant hai 

I trust our bowling led by kohli .even if England are 200/3 I still believe in our side to comeback from such situations ,we need to make the new ball count 

Seen it multiple times with India i.e wasting such a good start on 1st day.

blom 2001, melbourne etc etc.

this is where we will miss bhuvi. Needed 375 but think we will be getting arnd 330.

just want Pant to survive 15 mins tomorrow and then go bersek with Ashwin

7 minutes ago, vishalvirsingh said:

i was looking for you since morning, where were you my dear Lala..

Hope we make it 2-1 and then 2-2 and then 3-2, to prove my predictions true.

I was busy in the morning and no interest because i thought this would be one sided too :cantstop:

But I heard somebody said this is a flattest track in England where 400 may not be enough. Anyway I dont know the validity. Therefore you don't get too much excited until the results are in your favour. Still long way to go Vishal Bhai :cantstop:

4 hours ago, sensible-indian said:

Pandya fought well today but got into a shell even with the old ball. Could hav scored 40 runs for the same balls faced. 

Dude averages freaking 29 in domestics and we give him a guaranteed slot. 

Lol. 

That's what happens when a country of billion ppl playing cricket, we hardly get any all rounders. 

12 minutes ago, The Cricket Cast said:

You knew it was just a matter of time before the Indian batsmen came to the party. 

The only question is if its purely due to the pitch/conditions being flat or not. Only way to find out is after tomorrow when England have batted on it. Should be an exciting game if India can get close to 400. 

England might 450 all out but Ashwin will bother them on day 5 while  ECB chasing for victory

Stats -

Most wickets in Tests against India:
105 M Muralitharan
100 J ANDERSON * [ pandya -yesterday]
94 Imran Khan
76 Malcolm Marshall
67 Andy Roberts

Most runs at the end of 1st day for India after inserted to bat (outside Asia):
375 vs NZ, Wellington, 2009
372 vs SA, Bloemfontein, 2001
307 TRENT BRIDGE, 2018 *
290 vs Eng, Lord's, 2014

Most runs for India at the end of 1st day of a Test in England:
324/4 Oval, 1990
316/4 Oval, 2007
307/6 TRENT BRIDGE, 2018 *
290/9 Lord's, 2014
287/2 Trent Bridge, 1996
------------------------------------------------------

The last time India scored 300 runs in a day's play in SENA - 354/7 (Day 3) vs Aus, MCG