Mariyam Posted May 30, 2019 Posted May 30, 2019 16 hours ago, Jimmy Cliff said: You must have seen a different Iruvar then. Mani Ratnam's Iruvar is nothing like a typical masala movie. My bad. The song in the movie was Iruvar Iruvar madali (sp?). It has Rajni steering a horse cart from a mandir to a village. It has a catchy tune and the words stuck. Can't recall what the movie was called. Jimmy Cliff 1
I6MTW Posted May 30, 2019 Posted May 30, 2019 2 minutes ago, Mariyam said: My bad. The song in the movie was Iruvar Iruvar madali (sp?). It has Rajni steering a horse cart from a mandir to a village. It has a catchy tune and the words stuck. Can't recall what the movie was called. The movie Iruvar is based on the rivalry between MGR and Karunanidhi. It stars Mohanlal and Prakash Raj. It was also Aishwarya Rai's first film. Jimmy Cliff 1
velu Posted May 30, 2019 Posted May 30, 2019 8 hours ago, Mariyam said: My bad. The song in the movie was Iruvar Iruvar madali (sp?). It has Rajni steering a horse cart from a mandir to a village. It has a catchy tune and the words stuck. Can't recall what the movie was called. rajni movie is muthu .. music by ARR 90s movie with 60s story music
I6MTW Posted May 30, 2019 Posted May 30, 2019 1 hour ago, velu said: rajni movie is muthu .. music by ARR 90s movie with 60s story music Became such a hit in Japan. Seriously the only rajini movies that were good in the 90s were Baasha, Thalapathy and to an extent padaiyappa. Rest were meh. velu 1
vvvslaxman Posted May 30, 2019 Author Posted May 30, 2019 Hi-Tech movies are becoming more and more common in Tamil films. I am surprised they are still working on dubbing Soodhu Kavvuum. This was a landmark movie in Tamil
maniac Posted May 31, 2019 Posted May 31, 2019 (edited) There is a Telugu movie called Awe apparently dubbed in Hindi as Antaryudh. Had no idea till some Bollywood reviewers were raving about it. Pretty good attempt. Highly recommended if you want to watch something different Edited May 31, 2019 by maniac
Pollack Posted May 31, 2019 Posted May 31, 2019 On 5/29/2019 at 12:04 AM, Mariyam said: Suggest something which is like a romantic drama or a light comedy (situation based, not based on word play for obvious reasons). Watch "Hrudaya kaleyam" if not already. Curse (or thank?) me later.
sandeep Posted May 31, 2019 Posted May 31, 2019 On 5/29/2019 at 8:51 AM, Jimmy Cliff said: Fwiw it is available on Amazon Prime Video in the US. Saw it. Major "inspiration" from city of god. Stylistically and even major plot points. But decent. I like Dhanush, he's got that star factor - even though he's a skinny dude. Southie movies do love the "man of the people" angle don't they. Jimmy Cliff 1
Jimmy Cliff Posted May 31, 2019 Posted May 31, 2019 49 minutes ago, sandeep said: Saw it. Major "inspiration" from city of god. Stylistically and even major plot points. But decent. I like Dhanush, he's got that star factor - even though he's a skinny dude. I think GoW was a more obvious inspiration from City of God than this one. Barring some choppy editing I liked this movie quite a bit. Also liked the director's earlier film Visaaranai (Interrogation). It's up on Netflix but makes for an extremely uncomfortable viewing. 1 hour ago, sandeep said: Southie movies do love the "man of the people" angle don't they. I think this is because a lot of their better directors still make unabashed Masala movies.
maniac Posted May 31, 2019 Posted May 31, 2019 (edited) 10 hours ago, Pollack said: Watch "Hrudaya kaleyam" if not already. Curse (or thank?) me later. You realize that it is a parody film and is supposed to be dumb right? I see a lot of folk who have this built- in bias about South movies using scenes from this movie as if it were a real serious movie. Actually don’t like Karan Johar but he had the best take about South cinema and I agree with him. there are a lot of masala brainless movies made in south not so different from Rohit Shetty,Sajid Khan,Salman Khan and even Karan Johar type movies because let’s admit these movies make money. However South does the best job at such masala movies and there is a huge demand for the dubbed version of these movies on set-max etc as they churn huge TRP’s. The reason they get huge TRP’s is because you don’t have to invest in them like a fantastic Hindi film like Gangs if Waseeypur or other good south movies like mentioned in the thread. You can tune in from anywhere and understand the plot and be entertained and even if you leave midway you don’t care. However the fantastic movies made down south, the award winning types don’t get enough exposure. There are some great film makers and fantastic movies made in the south that blow Bollywood out of the water. Even Anurag Kashyap has cited a lot of Tamil film makers as his inspiration. Now coming to this movie,The director shot the film under a pseudonym “Steven Shankar” a play on Spielberg and Shankar. He apparently picked this guy who was a junior artist and did the worst audition. There was a huge funny viral campaign that the actor was a billionaire NRI from Dubai who ran big time companies all over the world and he decided to make a mark in movies It was very unique attempt the first time. The problem is people decided to cash in on the sudden popularity of this genre, get on the bandwagon of that actor and this genre and then that was the end of that. It god old very fast. The director now has obviously shed the name and is trying to distance from this as much as possible. Edited May 31, 2019 by maniac
maniac Posted May 31, 2019 Posted May 31, 2019 1 hour ago, sandeep said: Saw it. Major "inspiration" from city of god. Stylistically and even major plot points. But decent. I like Dhanush, he's got that star factor - even though he's a skinny dude. Southie movies do love the "man of the people" angle don't they. That’s the case with India in general. Hrithik Roshan will never have the appeal of SRK or Amir Khan. Dharmendra was always 2nd fiddle to Amitabh. Every big superstar of Indian cinema has had that average joe look. A blue eyed fair skinned guy doesn’t go too far in any industry.
velu Posted May 31, 2019 Posted May 31, 2019 if people can understand tamil a bit and likes comedy , then "winner" is a must watch .. turning point in vadivels career ( comedy track writers never gets their share of credit for these films though ) my favorite clip comes at end of the movie , probably not that popular as it should be .. skipping it to my favorite scene:- villains gang will be looking for kaipulla ( vadivel ) .. kaipullas face is covered in bullshit and the baddies who comes to check him will say something like "kaipulla will look much more uglier than this guy" Vilander 1
velu Posted May 31, 2019 Posted May 31, 2019 5 minutes ago, maniac said: You realize that it is a parody film and is supposed to be dumb right? many injians still dont get the concept of spoof movies maniac 1
sandeep Posted May 31, 2019 Posted May 31, 2019 9 minutes ago, Jimmy Cliff said: I think GoW was a more obvious inspiration from City of God than this one. Yeah, I'm going to disagree with you there. I mean, all 'gang' and organized crime movies are going to have a similar vibe. But Vada Chennai lifts a lot more from City of God than Wasseypur. Quote I think this is because a lot of their better directors still make unabashed Masala movies. And I think that's a positive. Ain't nothing wrong with a well-made masala movie. You can make a 'mass' entertainer without insulting the audience's intelligence.
sandeep Posted May 31, 2019 Posted May 31, 2019 4 minutes ago, maniac said: That’s the case with India in general. Hrithik Roshan will never have the appeal of SRK or Amir Khan. Dharmendra was always 2nd fiddle to Amitabh. Every big superstar of Indian cinema has had that average joe look. A blue eyed fair skinned guy doesn’t go too far in any industry. I wasn't referring to looks, but more about some of the dialogue. But I kindof understand where you're coming from. To claim that Amir Khan isn't as good looking is a bit of a stretch though. That dude was pure chocolate boi for the 1st half of his career. Props to him for evolving past that, but still.
sandeep Posted May 31, 2019 Posted May 31, 2019 4 minutes ago, velu said: if people can understand tamil a bit and likes comedy , then "winner" is a must watch .. turning point in vadivels career ( comedy track writers never gets their share of credit for these films though ) my favorite clip comes at end of the movie , probably not that popular as it should be .. skipping it to my favorite scene:- villains gang will be looking for kaipulla ( vadivel ) .. kaipullas face is covered in bullshit and the baddies who comes to check him will say something like "kaipulla will look much more uglier than this guy" That's......... disgusting. And I can't stand the sound effects and laughter track in desi movies and tv - looks like southie movies aren't immune to this disease either. velu 1
maniac Posted May 31, 2019 Posted May 31, 2019 1 minute ago, sandeep said: I wasn't referring to looks, but more about some of the dialogue. But I kindof understand where you're coming from. To claim that Amir Khan isn't as good looking is a bit of a stretch though. That dude was pure chocolate boi for the 1st half of his career. Props to him for evolving past that, but still. Fair enough. But you got the point.
sandeep Posted May 31, 2019 Posted May 31, 2019 1 minute ago, maniac said: Fair enough. But you got the point. WTF timeline is this? Acumen and me having a discussion without resorting to maniac 1
maniac Posted May 31, 2019 Posted May 31, 2019 Just now, sandeep said: WTF timeline is this? Acumen and me having a discussion without resorting to World Cup season sandeep 1