ShoonyaSifar Posted October 4, 2019 Posted October 4, 2019 Goes completely missing when playing outside Asia (like the others on this list do when they play in Asia). Two away test cycles, not a single test win to Ashwin's credit in SENA. Pulls down his credibility massively. sandsaims, nevada and Bigg Brother 3
nevada Posted October 4, 2019 Posted October 4, 2019 56 minutes ago, ShoonyaSifar said: Goes completely missing when playing outside Asia (like the others on this list do when they play in Asia). Two away test cycles, not a single test win to Ashwin's credit in SENA. Pulls down his credibility massively. And it's his unwillingness to just keep it simple landing it in the rough which is the root cause. Why try a dozen variations when all you need is to bowl just one type of delivery persistently? sandsaims, Pandya_Power, express bowling and 1 other 2 1 1
ShoonyaSifar Posted October 4, 2019 Posted October 4, 2019 2 minutes ago, nevada said: And it's his unwillingness to just keep it simple landing it in the rough which is the root cause. Why try a dozen variations when all you need is to bowl just one type of delivery persistently? Add to it his poor fitness. IMO on good pitches in India which do not aid much spin, he will still struggle
Bigg Brother Posted October 4, 2019 Posted October 4, 2019 He is the definition of HTB. Goes missing in SENA countries. Lyon is far far better than him and the best Off Spinner of this decade. Muloghonto, nevada and sandsaims 2 1
raki05 Posted October 4, 2019 Posted October 4, 2019 https://m.hindustantimes.com/cricket/india-vs-south-africa-more-to-it-than-just-cricketing-performances-sunil-gavaskar-hits-out-at-treatment-of-r-ashwin/story-mRg1WdQXvM5FVYaM1K406M.html
ShoonyaSifar Posted October 4, 2019 Posted October 4, 2019 What does Gavaskar want? Ashwin did absolutely nothing of note in our last away tour cycle. Had he bowled better, we could have won the Centurion Test vs SA and that series, pitch had good purchase for spinners. Then in England and Aus, he turned up half fit. Why should he continue to be the lead spinner at home if he keeps failing away from home.
Gollum Posted October 4, 2019 Posted October 4, 2019 (edited) Lyon is so overrated here , just because our batsmen are hopelessly inept against offies. His newly acquired aura was shattered in SA last year, this Ashes and even in UAE tour where he was comprehensively outbowled by Labuschagne and that Pakistani debutant offie. 3 visible overseas failures within 18 months isn't a good sign. Even Lankans flogged him badly. Sure he is good but the way ICfers talk about him it seems he is a combo of Laker, Murali, Swann and God......who has 2000 test wickets and picks a hat-trick every second over. Kitna complex hai yaar tum logon mein? Edited October 4, 2019 by Gollum The Dark Horse and Nikola 2
Gollum Posted October 4, 2019 Posted October 4, 2019 Aussies on that footy forum have a thread talking about any test being Lyon's last and here we have our people ready to anoint him as next avatar of Vishnu. Nothing against hailing SENA stars but 'Lyon is far far better than our guy' is the kind of talk that will find takers only in green ghetto. Lahori logic ain't our forte....
R.D forever Posted October 5, 2019 Posted October 5, 2019 People who follow matches only in scorecards will say Ashwin did not play well in SENA. He started SA tour very well with a 4 wicket haul in the 1st innings. Dropped later with bhuvi cause the pitches were green. Started very well in England and gave his best . I still remember the beauty he bowled to get cook in both the innings. Then he was forced to play with injury in the 3rd test . Again in Australia in 1st test he took a 4fer. Bowled beautifully but picked up an injury. Ashwin was a much better bowler and he deserves another chance in the next SENA leg. He is a champion who had unfortunate injury problems. Not part of the kohli shastri orgy also may be a problem. Everyone can see he is a captaincy material. He is the best off spinner in the game now. Period. People who keep complaining about the England 3rd test , please go and see Lyons figures for the whole ashes. The Dark Horse 1
The Dark Horse Posted October 5, 2019 Posted October 5, 2019 Ashwin gets unnecessary hate. Every team would like to have a bowler like him. raki05 1
shychipmunk Posted October 5, 2019 Posted October 5, 2019 Do we need a bowler (R Ashwin) who bowls more than 40 overs in a home test and gives away more than 125 runs to take his customary 5 wicket haul? It also means that bowlers from other end have bowled 40 overs and given away 150 runs for 2 or 3 wickets, so the other team is 275 for 7-8 wickets and will score 300 +. Should our spinners not dominate enough to skittle out opposition under 200? If our batsman fail in an innings we are bound to lose home tests as well. I would prefer Harbhajan who would take top 3 wickets within 15 overs and would not allow opposition to run away with the match. New guy 1
New guy Posted October 5, 2019 Author Posted October 5, 2019 (edited) 6 minutes ago, shychipmunk said: Do we need a bowler (R Ashwin) who bowls more than 40 overs in a home test and gives away more than 125 runs to take his customary 5 wicket haul? It also means that bowlers from other end have bowled 40 overs and given away 150 runs for 2 or 3 wickets, so the other team is 275 for 7-8 wickets and will score 300 +. Should our spinners not dominate enough to skittle out opposition under 200? If our batsman fail in an innings we are bound to lose home tests as well. I would prefer Harbhajan who would take top 3 wickets within 15 overs and would not allow opposition to run away with the match. Looks like this is the only ashwin match in india you have seen. Ashwin doesn't need 40 overs or 150 runs for his 5-fers. He has dominated big time. And lol at bhaji talong top 3 within 15 overs The stats in OP shows opposite of what you are claiming. Ashwin has taken 71 wickets within 20 overs. You dont have a bowling average of 25 if you take 5 fers in 40 overs after giving 150 runs. Bhaji who averages 32 is way more likely to do that Edited October 5, 2019 by New guy saik and raki05 1 1
shychipmunk Posted October 5, 2019 Posted October 5, 2019 7 minutes ago, New guy said: Looks like this is the only ashwin match in india you have seen. Ashwin doesn't need 40 overs or 150 runs for his 5-fers. He has dominated big time. And lol at bhaji talong top 3 within 15 overs The stats in OP shows opposite of what you are claiming. Ashwin has taken 71 wickets within 20 overs. You dont have a bowling average of 25 if you take 5 fers in 40 overs after giving 150 runs. Bhaji who averages 32 is way more likely to do that Ashwin is bowling on more helpful pitches against lesser batsmen whereas Bhajji bowled against champion batsmen on sporting pitches, also stats favour Ashwin as he bowls mostly at home and conveniently skips away tests feigning injury. Harbhajan has played each and every away test which has affected his stats.
New guy Posted October 5, 2019 Author Posted October 5, 2019 5 minutes ago, shychipmunk said: Ashwin is bowling on more helpful pitches against lesser batsmen whereas Bhajji bowled against champion batsmen on sporting pitches, also stats favour Ashwin as he bowls mostly at home and conveniently skips away tests feigning injury. Harbhajan has played each and every away test which has affected his stats. That has nothing to do with your claim ashwin taken 40 overs for his 5 fer Also ashwin averages better than bhaji everywhere so this is some hilarious revisionist history when it comes to harbhajan. Also i clearly remember bhajji actually faking an injury, so bhajji fans are projecting now
shychipmunk Posted October 5, 2019 Posted October 5, 2019 16 minutes ago, New guy said: That has nothing to do with your claim ashwin taken 40 overs for his 5 fer Also ashwin averages better than bhaji everywhere so this is some hilarious revisionist history when it comes to harbhajan. Also i clearly remember bhajji actually faking an injury, so bhajji fans are projecting now I am not an Ashwin hater, I just feel he is not penetrative or incisive enough.
Ankit_sharma03 Posted October 5, 2019 Posted October 5, 2019 (edited) 25 minutes ago, shychipmunk said: Ashwin is bowling on more helpful pitches against lesser batsmen Thats a myth Cook, clarke, smith , abdv , sanga, root, williamson are lesser batsman Quote whereas Bhajji bowled against champion batsmen on sporting pitches, also stats favour Ashwin as he bowls mostly at home and conveniently skips away tests feigning injury. Ashwin never faked injury, it was bhajji who faked in 2011 eng tour . Ashwin has been suffering from sports hernia in last 2 years Quote Harbhajan has played each and every away test which has affected his stats. no they dropped him when kumble became a beast post 2003 then kumble became no.1 spinner overseas Edited October 5, 2019 by Ankit_sharma03
shychipmunk Posted October 5, 2019 Posted October 5, 2019 18 minutes ago, New guy said: That has nothing to do with your claim ashwin taken 40 overs for his 5 fer Also ashwin averages better than bhaji everywhere so this is some hilarious revisionist history when it comes to harbhajan. Also i clearly remember bhajji actually faking an injury, so bhajji fans are projecting now I would prefer he takes 3 wickets in 15 overs instead of 5 wickets in 40 overs. In the former situation, other bowlers can finish off the innings quicker and we are not worried about opposition drawing the match.
shychipmunk Posted October 5, 2019 Posted October 5, 2019 1 minute ago, Ankit_sharma03 said: 3 minutes ago, Ankit_sharma03 said: Ashwin never faked injury, it was bhajji who faked in 2011 eng tour . Ashwin has been suffering from sports hernia in last 2 years One thing I don't understand is why Ashwin gets injured only in away tests and is always fit & ready for home tests. Never seen him skip a home test due to "sports hernia" !
Ankit_sharma03 Posted October 5, 2019 Posted October 5, 2019 3 minutes ago, shychipmunk said: I would prefer he takes 3 wickets in 15 overs instead of 5 wickets in 40 overs. Kya bol rha hai re Even Murali s/r was 55 which means a 1 wkt in almost 10 overs..... 3 minutes ago, shychipmunk said: In the former situation, other bowlers can finish off the innings quicker and we are not worried about opposition drawing the match. ashwin wkt taking skill is far ahead of bhajji