raki05 Posted June 10, 2020 Posted June 10, 2020 There is no such thing as racism in India no body feels offended for what they are. These westerners never shy away to offend other Nationals even doing hate crimes against them abusing someone's mother and sister and take offence for what they are. How come being black is an offensive do they think it's a disease or some born disabilities like being blind or deaf. George Floydd's cold blooded murder should not be linked to some kind of revolution.
MechEng Posted June 10, 2020 Posted June 10, 2020 13 minutes ago, raki05 said: There is no such thing as racism in India no body feels offended for what they are. These westerners never shy away to offend other Nationals even doing hate crimes against them abusing someone's mother and sister and take offence for what they are. How come being black is an offensive do they think it's a disease or some born disabilities like being blind or deaf. George Floydd's cold blooded murder should not be linked to some kind of revolution. The interesting part I have noticed as a student in US is that it is mostly Indians who go out of their way to make friends with people from other nationalities, most stick to their own kind. Pakistan's pan islamism is fail because Turks don't interact with Arabs and Iranians, same for Arabs and Iranians as well who stick to their own group. They're all Muslims but are aware of their unique cultural identity. Speaking here from personal experience where Turkish students would discuss homeworks with me but never interested in being friends. raki05 1
beetle Posted June 10, 2020 Posted June 10, 2020 (edited) I recently got to meet two cousins who are named kaalu( pet names) by their own mothers....also one named after a vegetable. It is quite common to use physical features to call people.Lambu chotu,kaalu,motu,kanya ( cockeyed),tingu,thignu,laali..... Are we racists? Yes we are. We are most racist to our own people the most. Castism is also a form of racism. As for Sammy,this looks like mauke pe chauka! It is unlikely he did not know earlier. His ipl days are over so it is not inconvenient. The BLM movement is a good time to bring this up and become an activist. Lambu Sharma,what were you thinking Dimaag ghutne mein hai? Edited June 10, 2020 by beetle BacktoCricaddict and coffee_rules 2
mishra Posted June 10, 2020 Posted June 10, 2020 (edited) Castism is in every society (middleast europe America) , just name is different. Only difference is, Indian Government has recognised it and it has put it in its constitution to support downtrodden. Those who lecture Indians, Only now saying that they will “review” if statues of the slave traders is ok to keep in town squares and prominet locations or not? People like Sami do disservice and water down fight against racism by mixing stupid stuff. Edited June 10, 2020 by mishra coffee_rules 1
Norman Posted June 10, 2020 Posted June 10, 2020 (edited) 6 hours ago, Vancouver said: You and people who liked your comment are racists and ignorant. If you have to provide a description of someone, don’t use their race type as a characteristic. Blacks from American continent are least insecure people you will come across, they DGAF about their skin tone unlike Indians. Bhaiya ji...calling someone by their skin colour is not racist. It may be offensive or even condescending sometimes but it's not racist. Racism is discriminating/insulting someone because of their racial background. For example, a non-black African calling an Afro-Black a "Ni**er" or a non-East Asian calling an East Asian a "Dog Eater" or a "Chink" , non-Hispanics calling Hispanics "Beaner", non-Arabs calling Arabs "Towelheads" or "Terrorists" and non desis (South Asians) calling Indians "curry smellers" etc etc..... Obama was called the first ever "black" president of the US , do you think that was racist? 6 hours ago, Vancouver said: How will Ishant feel if his white team-mates tag him on Instagram as brown or black instead of his name? What makes you think Ishant or any other Indian for that matter will get offended at being called brown ? Indians/Desis themselves put "proud dusky brown" on their SM handles. South Asians and even middle Easterners sometimes labelled as brown in the West. I never saw any one of them get offended by that. 6 hours ago, Vancouver said: I am often mistaken to be a white guy in Canada even though I am Punjabi. I can tell you first hand that white privilege is real. Sorry what ? Getting mistaken for a white is a privilege ? What privileges exactly are you enjoying for being mistaken as a white ? 6 hours ago, Vancouver said: This subtle racism maybe okay for you when you are not on receiving end but don't speak for others Any kind of racism is bad what are you talking about? I never said racism is okay. Read my comment again. Edited June 10, 2020 by Norman
Manny_Pacquiao Posted June 10, 2020 Posted June 10, 2020 15 hours ago, Gollum said: In India there is no discrimination because of height, weight, nose size, being chashmish etc. but kaalu, chinki are different. People are discriminated because of that, even today Africans in Delhi/Goa are beaten up by mobs and called those derogatory terms, NE people (didn't you make a thread?) are spat at, cursed, called chinki etc. Many of our women face insults, abuse, torture because of their skin colour. Nothing to do with West here, all of this is in Indian context. That this country is still obsessed with fairness creams tells me all I want to know about our attitude towards skin colour. If Indians are so perfect why is our popular culture dominated by fair skinned people when majority of our citizens have darker shade. Why can't dusky actors/actresses land roles with the same ease? I can cite similar examples about NE citizens but that ain't the topic here. But you get the idea, we do discriminate openly against fellow Indians cos of appearance and then get defensive when it is pointed out. You've got to be kidding me. No discrimination on the basis of appearance? Absolutely wrong. People are discriminated against on the basis of height, weight and other physical traits ALL THE TIME. Why do you think people go to gyms, use skin-care and cosmetic products (incl. "fairness creams) and get plastic surgery? It's actually an advantage to be physically fit and attractive based on physical traits: https://scienceblog.com/14974/who-knew-good-looking-people-get-better-jobs/ https://www.theatlantic.com/business/archive/2015/05/the-financial-perks-of-being-tall/393518/ There are even academic papers written on this: https://www.hofstra.edu/pdf/orsp_shahani-denning_spring03.pdf That third one is a good read, by the way. Read it, when you have time. If the term 'kaala' or 'gora' was exclusively reserved for foreigners, or one specific 'profile' of people - then i would agree with you. But it isn't. Because Indians FREQUENTLY USE THESE TERMS TO REFER TO THEMSELVES. And that's a big difference. The terms 'black' or 'white' in the west aren't used interchangeably. Here's a popular mohammad rafi song: https://youtu.be/ILgrhR9rjyM North-easterners were at risk of being targeted because of the 'anti- chinese' sentiment in our media recently. And the ministry of home affairs acknowledged that, by giving them protection and a help-line if they were in distress.
Manny_Pacquiao Posted June 10, 2020 Posted June 10, 2020 5 hours ago, raki05 said: I still don't understand how come calling someone what they are is racism. Did you see white person getting offended by Gora or white similarly asian as brown. Bloddy these hypocrites swear on mother and sisters on a daily basis and get offended by caling them what they are. It isn't. When Indians use 'kaala' and 'gora' to describe themselves, there's nothing remotely 'racist' about this. Don't listen to the 'NRIs' and 'brown people' on this thread. They don't know **** about india, and they think the world revolves around America. America is not the world. and america's social norms and standards don't apply to other societies. raki05 and someone 2
Manny_Pacquiao Posted June 10, 2020 Posted June 10, 2020 6 hours ago, Vancouver said: You and people who liked your comment are racists and ignorant. If you have to provide a description of someone, don’t use their race type as a characteristic. Blacks from American continent are least insecure people you will come across, they DGAF about their skin tone unlike Indians. How will Ishant feel if his white team-mates tag him on Instagram as brown or black instead of his name? I am often mistaken to be a white guy in Canada even though I am Punjabi. I can tell you first hand that white privilege is real. This subtle racism maybe okay for you when you are not on receiving end but don't speak for others. LMFAOOOOOOOOO...if i had a dollar for everytime some desi says this. You wish you looked 'white'. Ishant won't give a **** about being called 'brown' or 'black' because he isn't a western minority living life as a second class citizen. Nobody in india is even aware of, nor has any reason to give a **** about the western world's social hierarchy. raki05, VT87 and maniac 3
beetle Posted June 10, 2020 Posted June 10, 2020 11 minutes ago, Manny_Pacquiao said: America is not the world. and america's social norms and standards don't apply to other societies. Agree. Manny_Pacquiao 1
maniac Posted June 10, 2020 Posted June 10, 2020 One small distinction we need to make here We might be se sensitized to these words or the words in this scenario were not used with malice or in a racist tone but.... still it doesn’t make it right to call someone by their physical appearance or deformities. Neither does our culture encourage that. So let’s not call this our culture and demean our own culture. You see someone in India spit pan/guthka on the street, you don’t make a big deal about it or don't care because you are desensitized to it but doesn't mean that is right. coffee_rules 1
Vilander Posted June 10, 2020 Posted June 10, 2020 This is disgusting. Indians need to stop being racist as a society. Kalu ?? As the scumbag is looking like a nordic god and as if thats better.
Vilander Posted June 10, 2020 Posted June 10, 2020 12 hours ago, Vancouver said: I am often mistaken to be a white guy in Canada even though I am Punjabi. No man probably never happens they probably know you are brown. Dont think that you are white you are not. Its does not make one better either. And white people dont want to identify with you neither do blacks..you are brown embrace it and be cool about identities. Its ugly juvinile wanting to be something you are not. coffee_rules and maniac 2
Vilander Posted June 10, 2020 Posted June 10, 2020 6 hours ago, Manny_Pacquiao said: Ishant won't give a **** about being called 'brown' or 'black' because he isn't a western minority living life as a second class citizen. Does not make it ok for him to call someone black. Its not about what he feels its about what Sammy felt.
Vilander Posted June 10, 2020 Posted June 10, 2020 6 hours ago, Norman said: What makes you think Ishant or any other Indian for that matter will get offended at being called brown ? Indians/Desis themselves put "proud dusky brown" on their SM handles. South Asians and even middle Easterners sometimes labelled as brown in the West. I never saw any one of them get offended by that. Does not make it ok for him to call someone else black. Sammy is not a kallu he is sammy. Ishant tried to typecast him and identify him based on his skin color and that offended sammy thats the point.
coffee_rules Posted June 10, 2020 Posted June 10, 2020 7 hours ago, beetle said: I recently got to meet two cousins who are named kaalu( pet names) by their own mothers....also one named after a vegetable. It is quite common to use physical features to call people.Lambu chotu,kaalu,motu,kanya ( cockeyed),tingu,thignu,laali..... See, there is difference between calling people you are related to or your friends with such names (which I don’t condone), but a different thing to call a stranger or remote acquaintance as Kaluu. That is insensitive and crass. That donkey looking giraffe is stupid if he thinks he is being funny. 7 hours ago, beetle said: As for Sammy,this looks like mauke pe chauka! yes, considering the statute of limitations and current trending topic. Still doesn’t absolve the lambu out of his stupidity.
Vilander Posted June 10, 2020 Posted June 10, 2020 7 hours ago, beetle said: I recently got to meet two cousins who are named kaalu( pet names) by their own mothers....also one named after a vegetable. It is quite common to use physical features to call people.Lambu chotu,kaalu,motu,kanya ( cockeyed),tingu,thignu,laali..... Are we racists? Yes we are. We are most racist to our own people the most. Castism is also a form of racism. As for Sammy,this looks like mauke pe chauka! It is unlikely he did not know earlier. His ipl days are over so it is not inconvenient. The BLM movement is a good time to bring this up and become an activist. Lambu Sharma,what were you thinking Dimaag ghutne mein hai? Indians should not promote desensitization on this. Its ugly to see, Indians from India often do this 'i said something bigoted but did not mean it as such'...well it does not matter what you feel it mattered how you made the other person feel. That's the crux.
coffee_rules Posted June 10, 2020 Posted June 10, 2020 6 hours ago, Norman said: B For example, a non-black African calling an Afro-Black a "Ni**er" or a non-East Asian calling an East Asian a "Dog Eater" or a "Chink" , non-Hispanics calling Hispanics "Beaner", non-Arabs calling Arabs "Towelheads" or "Terrorists" and non desis (South Asians) calling Indians "curry smellers" etc etc..... Obama was called the first ever "black" president of the US , do you think that was racist? Calling Obama a Black president is certainly not racist nor is it the same as calling some strangers as Kaluu. It is equivalent of calling Obama, President Blacky. Now, isn’t that racist? 6 hours ago, Norman said: Vilander 1
Manny_Pacquiao Posted June 10, 2020 Posted June 10, 2020 8 minutes ago, Vilander said: Indians should not promote desensitization on this. Its ugly to see, Indians from India often do this 'i said something bigoted but did not mean it as such'...well it does not matter what you feel it mattered how you made the other person feel. That's the crux. "Indians from India" can decide for themselves what is offensive and what isn't. Its not for "Indians from America" or "Indians with an identity crisis" to tell them what they can and can't find offensive. F*** off with your imperialistic attitude. Maybe "Indians" like you should stop promoting "densensitization" on the subject of killing animals and eating them for food? Now THAT is ugly to see.