Serpico Posted October 7, 2020 Posted October 7, 2020 https://www.espncricinfo.com/story/_/id/30052809/australia-vs-india-test-series-start-pink-ball-game-adelaide Schedule: Nov 25-30 - Three ODIs, Brisbane Dec 4-8 - Three T20Is, Adelaide Dec 17 - First test, Adelaide (D/N) Dec 26 - Second test, Melbourne Jan 7 - Third Test, Sydney Jan 15 - Fourth Test, Brisbane express bowling 1
Gollum Posted October 7, 2020 Posted October 7, 2020 Why T20s and ODIs before tests ? Poms and Aussies don't do this when they come here, can't BCCI look after our players' interests for once? Fully expect us to lose Bumrah because of injury in some JAMODI, just like it happened in Eng 2018. Tridibans_16 1
Serpico Posted October 7, 2020 Author Posted October 7, 2020 Also apparently this is going to be a very wet season in Australia with an El nino predicted to hit in January. If boys play well, they might escape with a draw at Brisbane and Sydney, which is good for our WTC chances. with 48 points here and at least another 90 points in england series, we will have around 500 points and have a good chance of making it to finals. If they can somehow sneak a win at MCG, we can also retain the B-G trophy
Serpico Posted October 7, 2020 Author Posted October 7, 2020 3 minutes ago, Gollum said: Fully expect us to lose Bumrah because of injury in some JAMODI, come on he is going to play at least 15 IPL matches, he won't get injured with 3 more t20Is. But I hope they rest him for the ODIs though
Cricketics Posted October 7, 2020 Posted October 7, 2020 Adelaide albeit a day night test, it will be much flatter than most. Sort of memories of 2003 where we started off in Brisbane and Adelaide before going into Melbourne and SCG. Adelaide will be much flatter than most grounds, even with pink ball, so not a bad location to start the test series from for Indians. Think of it from the point of view of Pujara who would be coming into without much game practice as compared to all the IPL boys.
MechEng Posted October 7, 2020 Posted October 7, 2020 (edited) Gulabbo ball means more swing. Itna blush karegi yeh gulabbo ball cricket bat se, ki har baar beat karegi batsman ko. Edited October 7, 2020 by MechEng
retired_hurt Posted October 7, 2020 Posted October 7, 2020 Chalo ji, first test is lost. Hope we make match out of the rest of them.
coffee_rules Posted October 7, 2020 Posted October 7, 2020 Hope we do better than we did in NZ. No Rahane I suppose. Need Saini in oDIs and give a break to Bumrah.
BacktoCricaddict Posted October 7, 2020 Posted October 7, 2020 7 hours ago, MechEng said: Gulabbo ball means more swing. Itna blush karegi yeh gulabbo ball cricket bat se, ki har baar beat karegi batsman ko. Time to bring back Praveen Kumar and Debashish Mohanty.
Gollum Posted October 8, 2020 Posted October 8, 2020 15 hours ago, Serpico said: But I hope they rest him for the ODIs though No, for Kohli these JAMODIs are more important than WC KO. He will play Bumrah play every match and force him to go at 100%.
express bowling Posted October 8, 2020 Posted October 8, 2020 How many practice games are there for test matches ? Are we going to be unprepared again for tests ? There isn't much time available between this series and the IPL
Serpico Posted October 8, 2020 Author Posted October 8, 2020 with bhuvi injured and shami not effective in ipl. can expect a new cap in the t20 series? someone from mavi/nagarkoti/tyagi?
Adamant Posted October 8, 2020 Posted October 8, 2020 Isn't it good to have some loi matches before test series so as to get some practice in aussie conditions. Secondly, the fact that adelaide test is being played with a pink ball increases our chance of winning. If we win the toss at adelaide we will win the match. We have the ability to make big runs in mcg and scg, we saw that last time. Also This time our openers will surely do better than what kl rahul and vijay did.
Deleted_User_1 Posted October 9, 2020 Posted October 9, 2020 Kohli will be giving catching practice in the slips with the pink ball with his trademark shot of lunging at the ball outside the off stump. Should be good BC MC mazaa!
Real McCoy Posted October 9, 2020 Posted October 9, 2020 On 10/7/2020 at 10:08 PM, Cricketics said: Adelaide albeit a day night test, it will be much flatter than most. Sort of memories of 2003 where we started off in Brisbane and Adelaide before going into Melbourne and SCG. Adelaide will be much flatter than most grounds, even with pink ball, so not a bad location to start the test series from for Indians. Think of it from the point of view of Pujara who would be coming into without much game practice as compared to all the IPL boys. Don't underestimate the pink ball. It moves in night conditions. I don't think our batsmen are going to prepare for this. As the saying goes, if you fail to prepare, then you are preparing to fail. If you lose the first test, it will be hard to come back. In the 2011-12 series, the first test in MCG was close. We had them at 20/4 in the second innings or something until Hussey pulled them out to a matchwinning total in the end. After that it was just pure carnage I have written off this India team who couldn't even beat the kiwis and lost 2-0 without a fight. 4-0 win for the aussies.
rkt.india Posted October 10, 2020 Posted October 10, 2020 (edited) Don't see any warm-up games. Dont get why they are playing all formats in less than 2 months so India will have to pick almost two squads. Edited October 10, 2020 by rkt.india
Lone Wolf Posted October 11, 2020 Posted October 11, 2020 21 hours ago, rkt.india said: Don't see any warm-up games. Dont get why they are playing all formats in less than 2 months so India will have to pick almost two squads. There is a D/N Warm up game scheduled probably would be Intra squad. Wait for official schedule.
Adamant Posted October 11, 2020 Posted October 11, 2020 On 10/9/2020 at 12:11 PM, Real McCoy said: Don't underestimate the pink ball. It moves in night conditions. I don't think our batsmen are going to prepare for this. As the saying goes, if you fail to prepare, then you are preparing to fail. If you lose the first test, it will be hard to come back. In the 2011-12 series, the first test in MCG was close. We had them at 20/4 in the second innings or something until Hussey pulled them out to a matchwinning total in the end. After that it was just pure carnage I have written off this India team who couldn't even beat the kiwis and lost 2-0 without a fight. 4-0 win for the aussies. The indian team which visited newzealand had a rusty bumrah and out of form kohli, also ishant sharma was injured. 4-0 isn't even a possibility.
Real McCoy Posted October 11, 2020 Posted October 11, 2020 1 hour ago, Adamant said: The indian team which visited newzealand had a rusty bumrah and out of form kohli, also ishant sharma was injured. 4-0 isn't even a possibility. Good luck, Ishant may get one top order wicket that of Finch. Warner and Smith are gonna make him chase leather Kohli will pay for choosing him over Saini. He will go with Ishant (new ball with wind assistance as he did on the previous ozzie tour), Bumrah and Shami. Aussies don't forget. They lost the previous series and they are much more intent on humiliating India. Go check aussie forums. They hate us more than England these days. Kohli may do a Sachin that is score a century in a losing cause. During Sachin's playing days, all we expected was a century from him and most of us were content with it. 4-0 is very much the possibility and this series will prove to the rest of the world that Smith >>> Kohli
Adamant Posted October 11, 2020 Posted October 11, 2020 3 hours ago, Real McCoy said: Good luck, Ishant may get one top order wicket that of Finch. Warner and Smith are gonna make him chase leather Kohli will pay for choosing him over Saini. He will go with Ishant (new ball with wind assistance as he did on the previous ozzie tour), Bumrah and Shami. Aussies don't forget. They lost the previous series and they are much more intent on humiliating India. Go check aussie forums. They hate us more than England these days. Kohli may do a Sachin that is score a century in a losing cause. During Sachin's playing days, all we expected was a century from him and most of us were content with it. 4-0 is very much the possibility and this series will prove to the rest of the world that Smith >>> Kohli If you are talking about test matches, then we don't need this test series to find out who's the better batsman. Secondly, Mark my words, ishant sharma will trouble warner the most. Ishant sharma is actually amongst the top5 bowlers in the world as of now. We don't really appreciate him enough. Saini ahead of ishant sharma will be a big mistake.