Back in late feb my cousin in mumbai attended 7 weddings in 8 days. All backlog from 2020. 

No masks, no nothing....when i spoke to him about putting on a mask he told me not to worry as he is young even if he gets covid it will be fine.

As much as indians like to blame governments ( state or national) the primary blame lay with society. 

India will continue to get waves till people act with discipline. 

3 hours ago, BacktoCricaddict said:

People who have natural immunity will survive the virus, keeping its replication under control.  Others will die.  Eventually, most survivors would have developed immunity and if infected, they will fight it off quickly.  They may spread it to others, but those others are also likely to be immune, can keep its replication down in their bodies, and have only mild symptoms.  The virus then "settles" or "stabilizes" or "becomes endemic" in our population like the cold virus.  

For those who don't care about the high death rate at the front end, this is an awesome strategy.  They will invoke Darwin and survival of fittest etc., until it hits them or their loved ones.  

Statistics lack emotion at times.

India has officially reported 260,000 covid deaths.  Even if we assume the actual death rate due to direct covid and indirect deaths due to overwhelmed system is 2.6 million , its still less than 0.5% of the population. In relative terms its very a low figure. In contrast during the spanish flu india lost 6% of her population in the second wave.

But if you have lost a loved one that statistic becomes meaningless....medical stats are good till they impact you.

4 hours ago, ravishingravi said:

TN and Karnataka look bad right now. Hope they pull through this week. 

TN has very low vaccination numbers.. unlike rest of India.  Its a ticking time bomb, other states have announced they will procure vaccines in global tenders, nothing from TN yet. 

2 hours ago, G_B_ said:

Back in late feb my cousin in mumbai attended 7 weddings in 8 days. All backlog from 2020. 

No masks, no nothing....when i spoke to him about putting on a mask he told me not to worry as he is young even if he gets covid it will be fine.

As much as indians like to blame governments ( state or national) the primary blame lay with society. 

Brat. how are his parents now ? hope they are safe, please teach him a lesson that he will not forget pls.

16 minutes ago, Vilander said:

Brat. how are his parents now ? hope they are safe, please teach him a lesson that he will not forget pls.

They suffered from covid in March.  But not serious. entire family (sister included). To be fair nearly everybody i knew in the city had covid or had immediate family who had covid then. 

But how many people are you going to teach a lesson to? The pics and videos he uploaded on the common cousins whatsapp group had multiple young people dancing away without masks. The wedding had dj and a dance floor. 

Maybe somebody else from mumbai can confirm but in feb 2021 there was an overload of weddings. It was business as usual. This cousin was telling me he would attend a wedding in the mornings and another wedding or reception at night at weekends. 

In feb uk was in total lockdown. It was annoying to see indians act in a way which suggested that covid was nothing. India imo was lucky to get a mild strain in the first wave. 

33 minutes ago, G_B_ said:

They suffered from covid in March.  But not serious. entire family (sister included). To be fair nearly everybody i knew in the city had covid or had immediate family who had covid then. 

But how many people are you going to teach a lesson to? The pics and videos he uploaded on the common cousins whatsapp group had multiple young people dancing away without masks. The wedding had dj and a dance floor. 

Maybe somebody else from mumbai can confirm but in feb 2021 there was an overload of weddings. It was business as usual. This cousin was telling me he would attend a wedding in the mornings and another wedding or reception at night at weekends. 

In feb uk was in total lockdown. It was annoying to see indians act in a way which suggested that covid was nothing. India imo was lucky to get a mild strain in the first wave. 

This is a country where if someone is down with flu then everyone in neighborhood will visit asking 'haal-chaal'. While I don't see it but one can only hope people start following covid appropriate norms. As far as learning lesson go, there is nothing to be learnt which will be evident in few months when health infra structure wont even be an issue before UP goes to poll. 

8 minutes ago, jf1gp_1 said:

in few months when health infra structure wont even be an issue before UP goes to poll.

i dread the same.. people not learning a lesson from this.

2 minutes ago, Vilander said:

i dread the same.. people not learning a lesson from this.

Stupidity is not limited to India or Indian, look at what's happening in Spain. How is that any different than kumbh ? Report are talking about new variants escaping vaccine, be cautious but everyone believes they are invincible, no different than G_B_ cousin attending all those weddings.  

2 hours ago, G_B_ said:

My dads friends daughter attended a marriage. When she went for a dance rehearsal, she brought back home COVID and the grandmother got sick. She passed away last month and my dads friend was also serious and admitted in the hospital for a few weeks but back home now.

8 hours ago, G_B_ said:

Around about the same time there was a wedding in Mumbai. Bride and family were COVID positive and hid this fact. More than 500 people attended that wedding. 

I would just say we accept realities of India and move on. I do believe this wave has instilled more fear. This could help save some lives. 

Weddings are more about showmanship & upmanship these days! It's all about showing whatever the * you can to make yourself feel better, wedding or really any other celebration these days are total BS over the top :whack2:

The people in the country deserve 1000% of what they're getting, I only empathize with the poor who have little means for testing much less actual medication or drugs! * the rich & their wannabe imitators :hmpf:

32 minutes ago, R!TTER said:

Weddings are more about showmanship & upmanship these days! It's all about showing whatever the * you can to make yourself feel better, wedding or really any other celebration these days are total BS over the top :whack2:

The people in the country deserve 1000% of what they're getting, I only empathize with the poor who have little means for testing much less actual medication or drugs! * the rich & their wannabe imitators :hmpf:

Everyone likes to showoff in some form or the other. Some like to do it by buying expensive watches when a Rs 100 watch shows you the same time. Some like to eat expensive food and drink expensive wines. Others like to 'gram their travels in exotic locations. As long as they are not spending their own money what is the issue? 

4 hours ago, Laaloo said:

My dads friends daughter attended a marriage. When she went for a dance rehearsal, she brought back home COVID and the grandmother got sick. She passed away last month and my dads friend was also serious and admitted in the hospital for a few weeks but back home now.

I suspect these weddings are mass spreader events.

Problem is Indians living with large joint families...youth go out and elderly pay a price.

These wedding were also meant to be limited to 30 guests. Rarely is if followed 

2 hours ago, ravishingravi said:

Around about the same time there was a wedding in Mumbai. Bride and family were COVID positive and hid this fact. More than 500 people attended that wedding. 

I would just say we accept realities of India and move on. I do believe this wave has instilled more fear. This could help save some lives. 

This is another major issue

People with covid symptoms hiding it

There were 300 weddings sceduled in gurgaon between 5-15 may ....reduced from 700.

Thankfully, the govt has reduced the number of people attending to 11. 

Par shaadi to jaroori hai.

Every other day there is a pic of covid positive bride of groom marrying in ppt kit like they are doing something great.As if it is some sign of love. 

24 minutes ago, G_B_ said:

I suspect these weddings are mass spreader events.

Problem is Indians living with large joint families...youth go out and elderly pay a price.

These wedding were also meant to be limited to 30 guests. Rarely is if followed 

Elderly are not so innocent.

Who is sceduling and organising these weddings?

Who can put their foot down and postpone the weddings?

Who wants everything done according to traditions in the pandemic?

Who controls Indian households...specially joint ones?

What happened to the wisedom of the elderly ?

I know people who are sick and tired of their elders not wanting to understand the gravity of the pandemic and wanting pujas , ceremonies etc as usual .

The poojas can be done in a sombre ceremony at weddings.

Who is the one pushing for dance rehersals and djs?

Have a wedding but keep it low key. 

Its clear india cannot shut down its economy as it would result in a huge financial blow. But there is a middle way.

1 hour ago, bharathh said:

As long as they are not spending their own money what is the issue

Right & they're not spreading Covid in the process huh :hmpf:

So finally it all boils down to money in this country, yeah like I said it deserves 10000% of what we're witnessing :bike:

18 minutes ago, beetle said:

Who is sceduling and organising these weddings?

Who can put their foot down and postpone the weddings?

Who wants everything done according to traditions in the pandemic?

Who controls Indian households...specially joint ones?

I dunno, the bride & groom?

You overestimate the "elderly" - they're nowhere near as respected or feared even as far as 10 years back! No one really gives a * about them anymore.

Again you overestimate the elderly, & where does it say that according to transition you have to have 1000 guests?

Not the elderly! If the younger ones, about to be marries, are earing they're definitely not under the thumbs of the elderly as you're trying to point out.

Edited by R!TTER