Tokyo 2020 Paralympics: Record 19 medals thus far!!!! Amazing

33 minutes ago, Number said:

We keep saying that Indians only care for Cricket but faxt is it is the only sport at world level in which we have excelled. 

Despite so much of money being poured in other sports there are no results. 

Which Indian kid would like to see Boxing of Amit Panghal and would like to be like him ?

What have we achieved in cricket?

Lower test win% than almost all countries, 3rd best % in SC behind Pak, SL. Historically a weak test side.

Won a test series in Aus for the first time almost 9 decades after getting test status. Yet to win in RSA. Won 1 test in NZ in last 50 years. Loss after loss in England. 

In ODIs we have never dominated any era, never won back to back WCs like ATG WI/Aus, never even made back to back finals like current NZ side. Despite IPL yet to win a T20 WC after 1st edition. No ICC tourney win since 2014, losses against trash like Lanka and Pakistan. 

We are nothing special in cricket. Hardly 10 countries play the sport seriously, half of them from the world's dustbin aka South Asia. In the other sports, competition field is global. Look at the competition our wrestlers face, hockey side, boxers, track&field athletes etc. We are at least winning something of value in badminton, when was the last time we won a serious ODI/T20I competition?

ROI in non-cricket sports is generally better, what funds are you talking about? Shooting is funded well, ok but what about other sports? Our participation in hockey test series/leagues has to be cancelled ever so often, camps cancelled because of paucity of funds. Since you cited boxing, for every Amit Panghal there is a Lovlina Borgohain who will inspire many Indian kids to take up the sport. Who knows maybe Amit may learn from his mistake and come back stronger in Paris :dontknow:

5 minutes ago, Number said:

Bhai Hardik on his day can win games single handedly against any opposition. Can smash best bowlers in the world.

There is no comparison in terms of talent wise where Hardik stands and where these guys are in their sport.

And how much backing does he get. These guys if they fail to win medals in common wealth,Asian games etc which are elite level competitions in their own right will be forgotten and won’t get any funding.

I don’t want to nitpick on Pandya but he has a A contract for being an allrounder who his half fit all the time. Do these athletes have the same luxury. We just saw how elite the contest is, Atanu lost not because he sucked but the other guy was much calmer and marginally better.

3 minutes ago, deepdynamo said:

Yes, Seema Punia made us proud at commonwealth level and we all appreciate that.

But her time was up with that peak at Rio (6th place).

She is now 38 year old and virtually no chance. Why is money being spend on her for last 4 years when she is past her peak.

Umm..maybe because she is still good enough to meet the very tough qualifying standards ahead of others? She did a 63.71 mtrs this year. Why shuldn't she be at the Olympics?

Can't compare a 12 nation sport with 100+ participation sport.

Also its not like we are dominating this sport after all the investment like Aussies did in 90/00's

4 minutes ago, ShoonyaSifar said:

Lol! An unsolicited advice - you should stick to cricket threads. You clearly have no idea about Olympic Sports

That’s harsh. He is probably angry with the meek surrender of the boxer. We all have been there :) he is actually a very knowledgeable poster.

6 minutes ago, ShoonyaSifar said:

Lol! An unsolicited advice - you should stick to cricket threads. You clearly have no idea about Olympic Sports

Bas 3 4 din aur fir wohi karna hai.

:cantstop:

1 minute ago, bharathh said:

Because is the best of the rest? This Kaur lady just came to the fore now. 

But what we will gain by sending Punia even if she is best of the lot ( and way short of olympic standard) at the age of 38 years.

I am all up for youngsters ( if they qualify) to test their waters at world stage and then work hard for next 4 years and try again.

But Punia at 38 year old in a demanding sports like athelete is a no go for me. If she funded it from her pocket to participate in Olympics then its fine though.

Just now, deepdynamo said:

But what we will gain by sending Punia even if she is best of the lot ( and way short of olympic standard) at the age of 38 years.

I am all up for youngsters ( if they qualify) to test their waters at world stage and then work hard for next 4 years and try again.

But Punia at 38 year old in a demanding sports like athelete is a no go for me. If she funded it from her pocket to participate in Olympics then its fine though.

Jeez. Do you think she decided to land in Tokyo and is here for fun? She qualified and earned her spot, was not there on invitation.

1 hour ago, maniac said:

look how elite these guys are, calm and nerves of steel.

No one will take cricket seriously when we see guys like Azam Khan,Shaw etc plodding around 

Let them catch a hard cricket ball first. Cricket is played with a hard ball. All nerves will go when a hard ball hit at 140 kph coming towards you.

2 minutes ago, Number said:

Bas 3 4 din aur fir wohi karna hai.

:cantstop:

Abbey then lets conserve our energy for abusing the millionaire show ponies and social media influencers when the Eng tests begin. Till then cheer for our athletes :two_thumbs_up:

Good start by Anjum Moudgil. #13 after kneeling section (prone and standing to follow). Come on girl, do a Vijay Kumar :cheer:

3 minutes ago, deepdynamo said:

You can't show up at the Olympics unless you get a quota for participation. Since India already had an athlete in the event she had to earn her place. She obviously is of Olympic standard

22 minutes ago, Number said:

There has been enough money spent on sports supporting their education, giving them good jobs, foreign coaches, training in foreign acedamies in last last decade. 

You can't hide behind the lack of support from govt excuse for so long. 

Many of them are content with a govt job and are happy to be what they are.

Not enough money. Sorry. Money matters. 

2 minutes ago, ShoonyaSifar said:

Jeez. Do you think she decided to land in Tokyo and is here for fun? She qualified and earned her spot, was not there on invitation.

Olympic Qualification is tough. That is universal for all Indian athletes.

But Punia @38 years has enough experience and training to breach that qualification mark in various events.

But deep inside we all now that she would be making the numbers only in Olympics.

On the other hand even if Kaur has not performed that well in qualifying round, it makes sense to persist with her and work on her.

2 minutes ago, rkt.india said:

Let them catch a hard cricket ball first. Cricket is played with a hard ball. All nerves will go when a hard ball hit at 140 kph coming towards you.

And can these guys shoot arrows? That’s not the point here. In one contest  the margin of error is pretty much non existent. They all look composed, fit and battle ready and the difference is marginal.

In another sport you can get away looking like the names I mentioned. It’s not sumo wrestling is it? There are other guys in the same sport who are much more elite in terms of athleticism but this kind of ridiculousness can get away in the guise of “tailunt”. Olympics sports don’t have that luxury. Everyone has to be at a certain level to play it.

5 minutes ago, Gollum said:

Two bad results. But if Sindhu can stun the #1 later today, this will be an awesome day. Let us hope for the best. 

not a good start and have a bad feeling about the rest of the day./night. Hopefully will wake up to some good news 

Edited by maniac
26 minutes ago, Number said:

Bhai Hardik on his day can win games single handedly against any opposition. Can smash best bowlers in the world.

There is no comparison in terms of talent wise where Hardik stands and where these guys are in their sport.

And he is a brilliant athlete too. 

Anjum Modgil is languishing at 15th place and Tejaswani Sawant at 35th place after completion of kneeling position in 50m Rifle 3 Pos.

Don't think both will catch up in next 2 positions.

Edited by deepdynamo