WTF did Pant play that shot for?

9 hours ago, neel roy said:

I m ok with him playing that shot provided he has played 20 balls and scored 7 or 8.. your chances of controlling or connecting substantially increases with that. He has hacked and got out of the same shot 4 5 times this ipl season itself 

Or respect the opponent and play accordingly ? Its Rabada of all people and he's keen on bowling short and fast. Even a set batsman might let it go after coming down the track once he realizes the length and that a hoick is going to be futile. 

Bowlers have figured out that they need to go over (not around) the wicket and angle the ball away. He will be caught fishing most of the times. This is a clear chink, and teams are exploiting it. However, since the chink is clear, he can also do something to fix it.

3 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said:

That was even more stupid given that Rabada was on roll. You do anything to survive that spell.

he probably thought that rabada was a garden-variety trundler. undoubted brain fade, and a real waste of his talent.

2 minutes ago, Lord said:

maybe needs a different stance vs over the wicket pacers.

Even average players can do well if he has judgement of line and length. You should have a mental image where a ball will go if he leaves it. I am talking about good balls. Sure you go after bad balls. But if the ball is not hittable without taking risk you should judge where the ball will go with reasonable accuracy. 

7 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said:

Even average players can do well if he has judgement of line and length. You should have a mental image where a ball will go if he leaves it. I am talking about good balls. Sure you go after bad balls. But if the ball is not hittable without taking risk you should judge where the ball will go with reasonable accuracy. 

he's fine when they bowl round the wicket. I remember on Lords 5th day he smacked Anderson for a four when he was bowling round the wickets,but then Robinson came over the wicket and he edged it. Also did well v Starc and Aus pacers who mostly bowled round the wicket (the chink was not known by then)

Its about how early he sees it.Maybe gets blinded a bit by that stance. Opening it up may work.

On 1/5/2022 at 2:15 PM, coffee_rules said:

Just saw on replay and was like WTF!

He has a blind ghumao for a 0!!

know he is a holy cow for some tyros here, but bhai thoda sambhalke khela karo. Bade badon ka test cricket hai ye!!!

Worthless Turd with the bat.

9 hours ago, Vijy said:

he probably thought that rabada was a garden-variety trundler. undoubted brain fade, and a real waste of his talent.

Pant has been his keeper at DC for several years now.  He knows what Rabada is capable of.

Between International commitments and T20 games, these "super starts" don;t play much domestic FC games and don't learn the art of spending more time at the wicket. Let him play some Ranjhi trophy games also every season. he needs that .

1 hour ago, First class said:

Between International commitments and T20 games, these "super starts" don;t play much domestic FC games and don't learn the art of spending more time at the wicket. Let him play some Ranjhi trophy games also every season. he needs that .

Ranji is not happening and all format dont have time to play it.