U19 World Cup Discussion

nsareen

26 minutes ago, Lone Wolf said:

We thought of KL Rahul same earlier on before IPl 2016.  Guy has been touted as a batting prodigy since junior cricket.  Let's see.  He is still 17 so there's definite room for improvement & development. 

Being a classical player can work in white ball cricket too. Kohli is a good example as is Williamson. 

But you are right .. he may evolve into something very different after 5 years.

3 hours ago, express bowling said:

There are many talented players in India at U19 level.

Question is ... are the right ones being picked and are the ones being picked being guided correctly or utilized correctly.

1)  It is not necessary to bowl 140 k+ at U19 level. But floaty medium pacers like Ravi Kumar won't do. And Bawa is just a part timer. This means we have played only 1 proper pacer for the most part.

2)  Do you spot any top 4 batsmen in the mould of Shaw, Pant or Kishan ?  It means we are looking for consolidators at the top again.

3)  In a post innings interview, Kanitkar said that Dhull is a stroke player but is being guided to bat through the innings. One such batter is ok, maybe 2 ... but looks like all the top 4 are being guided to be sheet anchors till the 42nd over and accelerate after that. And batters like Bana are not encouraged at the top.

4)  I think you will agree that Wrist spinners are more impact-ful in white ball cricket these days, compared to finger spinners. But have you seen any specialist wrist spinner in our squad ?

5)  We need a couple of tall bounce bowlers but we have not promoted any in this tournament.

6)  Did big hitters like Bawa and Hangargekar get sufficient chances to bat in this tournament ?

You are one of the posters here who is disgusted about the state of affairs in the Senior team. And often rightly so. But don't you spot a similar trend being promoted in our U19 team this time ?  One reaps what one sows. Think about it.

Some countries have the license to bowl fast and we don't. People talk about SRT inducted young - they conveniently leave out Harbhajan - he started at 18 in tests and ODI both. Maninder debut was at 17. Harbhajan and Maninder are spinners though. Can you imagine a fast bowler selected like that?

Even England - they love losing to Australia. The classic example was 1974-75 when Lillee/Thomson  did their thing and the Chappell Bros were running riot. England took Bob Willis to Aus and listen to this..... left out John Snow who had won them an Ashes in Aus before and basically owned the Chappell Bros. Even in 1975 WC ... Ian Chappell lbw b Snow 2 Greg Chappell lbw b Snow 4.

Here is Snow 7/40 at SCG vs Aus in 70/71.

Snow+Willis would have answered Lillee/Thomson - but the powers that be did not want that. Snow was left out ....... Strange things do happen. The reasons Boycott did not play that series are deeper than his feud with Denness.... I think.

Similarly India does not want to bowl fast, will not be an all out fast bowling country and does not have the license to do that...... the Gods on earth have willed that. You are the land of Gandhi... You can have your Gavaskars and Tendulkars and the Kumbles and Harbhajans. You can even have Bumrah (with his walk-up instead of run-up) and Shami .... but you cannot be a country that boasts Ambrose and Walsh. Not allowed.

Edited by AKane
45 minutes ago, nsareen said:

final will be played where pakistan is playing sri lanka today , seems to be a high scoring match on this ground.. will be a battle of the batsmen it seems on this ground .. who would hold the advantage ??

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Yes North sound Antigua has been best batting surface.  Eng v SA quarterfinals happened here as well when we saw big hitting from England team.  But Indian batsman have also struck form at right moment. 

England pace attack isn't as good as Australia so it will be a batting shootout

1 hour ago, the don said:

M Shehzad from Pak is a fine young cricketer. Should make the step up. Really good ball striker. 

Yes , he is very good young batsman but captain Qasim Akram is a real deal , cracked fastest century in any under 19 WC today and then took 5 wickets, will play for Pakistan soon in WBC. This was  a good team , better than 2018 and 2020 but one bad day against Australia ruined everything. They beat good team including BD, SL and Afghanistan in this WC and India in UAE. 

18 hours ago, ShoonyaSifar said:

Nothing to do with their talent. Primarily because the TMs have been impatient with them while they keep backing the failing seniors. Covid and lack of FC cricket hasn't helped much in their continued development either 

Also, other than Sachin, can you name one Indian player in last 20-25 years who was well established in international cricket by the age of 21-22?

Mithali Raj, Smriti Mandhana, and Shafali Varma is on her way :P

@sandeep:

Lol at this admin guy Sandeep he is so riled up that he opened an already locked thread just to respond and to avoid any backlash locked it again. So let me respond you here bhai admin k naam pe kalank hai tu. BTW i am what i am i would respond the way i want your kindergarten education is not gonna work here and stop threatening and warning as if you are going to block my career progress :phehe: i dont give a f**k so shoo.

6 hours ago, First class said:

Yes , he is very good young batsman but captain Qasim Akram is a real deal , cracked fastest century in any under 19 WC today and then took 5 wickets, will play for Pakistan soon in WBC. This was  a good team , better than 2018 and 2020 but one bad day against Australia ruined everything. They beat good team including BD, SL and Afghanistan in this WC and India in UAE. 

You seem like a sane poster, I ll just say don't get entangled in this business of "just one bad day" . It becomes torture after a while.

18 hours ago, express bowling said:

Dhull and Rasheed are good.

But Rasheed will probably be a classical player.

Dhull's body shape worries me. While it is a strong "feminine" built, I get the feeling he looks like he will be injury prone in the future if he doesnt add serious mass to his frame. His shape reminds me of Pandya. Ive seen physically stronger built attractive girls at the gym than Dhull.

I just dont understand how the best cricketers in India are not given the best access to nutrition.

By no means Im not saying the kid needs to put on muscle/weight unnecessarily, but surely he is underweight.

39 minutes ago, raki05 said:

https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/sports/cricket/news/icc-under-19-world-cup-how-andhra-cricket-adopted-humble-shaik-rasheed/articleshow/89336544.cms

Nice read about Rasheed. He comes from a very humble background , chalo MSK Prasad/Andhra Cricket ne kuch to achha kiya.

If I had to pass life lessons to these kids, it would be dont go tuk tuk and dont take white ball cricket games deep while chasing.

Nothing wrong with tuk tuk, to get your eye in. Even then the time to go tuk tuk is in the nets, in the morning of the game.

Also please dont use the Dhoni template of taking white ball games deep into the last over. IF the opportunity presents itself to win the game earlier, take it.

These kids are learning about life from a young age, but it is instilled now, so its ingrained in them.

1 hour ago, SRT100 said:

Dhull's body shape worries me. While it is a strong "feminine" built, I get the feeling he looks like he will be injury prone in the future if he doesnt add serious mass to his frame. His shape reminds me of Pandya. Ive seen physically stronger built attractive girls at the gym than Dhull.

I just dont understand how the best cricketers in India are not given the best access to nutrition.

By no means Im not saying the kid needs to put on muscle/weight unnecessarily, but surely he is underweight.

Dhull isn't a fast bowler like Pandya

15 minutes ago, rkt.india said:

Dhull isn't a fast bowler like Pandya

Doesnt matter, I know that.

The fact that his feminine slim svelte body looks potentially to break down is a concern.

An 18yr kid for the national team should be of a much stronger build. The irony is that during COVID times, the body weight of people in the west has risen dramatically. Then we see these kids from India looking malnourished.

3 hours ago, SRT100 said:

The fact that his feminine slim svelte body looks potentially to break down is a concern.

An 18yr kid for the national team should be of a much stronger build. The irony is that during COVID times, the body weight of people in the west has risen dramatically. Then we see these kids from India looking malnourished.

That's life in India. No access to proper nutrition and diet. Most don't even eat much meat. Even when they do, they will skip meat and eggs on certain days of the week. Quantity consumed is low. 

Standard of living is poor India. Cricket is also a niche sport. Only the upper middle class can afford it. The random ones that get through scholarships are rare. To get to good cricket schools, you will be required to travel far etc. 

Considering all our issues plus politics and quotas when it comes to selection process, we have done really well to be number 1 in tests for 5 years straight. Sure, we can dominate for longer if we actually pick our best players but we worship seniors and celebrities, so we won't rebuild until they wilfully retire. 

Hangerakar and vats have good builds. They are our real prospects in bowling tbh. 

https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/sports/cricket/news/icc-under-19-world-cup-how-andhra-cricket-adopted-humble-shaik-rasheed/articleshow/89336544.cms

Great story for Indian cricket.  

May more Rasheeds make it through from humble beginnings to First Class cricket, IPL and beyond.  

I do not love T20 cricket as much as some, but am forever grateful to how the IPL has revolutionized the Indian cricket economy.  

3 hours ago, SRT100 said:

Fitness <> bulk.  

There are different body types and peak fitness, excellent health will look different in different bodies.  

Too many folks put unnecessary importance on "looking" fit rather than being fit.  Cricket is not weight lifting.  A lean, wiry athletic build is absolutely fine.  And judging 18 year old kids before they properly fill out is the height of ignorance.  

Its crucially important that a scientific approach to fitness, strength and conditioning is taken for these top talents in India. Even the weirdo Shoaib Akhtar was at his best when he was leaner.  He put on bulk, ruined his body and his career.  

This lack of confidence and knowledge about fitness, and body types, translates into insecurity and such nonsense about "feminine" body etc.   Fitness is about efficacy, not appearances.