Indian white ball cricket falling behind the world when it comes to All rounders

List of multi dimension players other teams have 

West indies (they can make an XI out of them)

1. Shepard (future star)
  2. holder
  3. pollard (has started  
  4. Russell
  5. akeal hossain
  6. fabien allen 
  7. carlos brathwite
  8. roston chase
  9. Odean smith
  10. Dominic drakes (bowling a/r)
  11. Nyeem young ( will hear about him in coming years)
  12. Alzaari joseph (good slogger)
  13. Sunil narine (although not making himself avl)

Australia

1. Mitch marsh
  2. Stonis
  3. Maxwell
  4. Cameron green ( too good a talent to miss out for long in white ball)
  5. Tim david ( in talks to play for Aus)
  6. Agar
  7. Sean abbott (have become very consistent in domestic)
  8. pat cummins
  9. Marnus (can bowl)
  10. smith (can bowl)
  11. head (can bowl, although not in scheme)

England - They have a few more , im sure im missing a few 

1. Moeen ali 
  2. Ben stokes
  3. liam livingstone
  4. sam curran
  5. tom curran
  6. david willey
  7. woakes
  8. Adil rashid (can bat)
  9. Archer(great slogger)
  10. Lewis gregory
  11. George garton

Pakistan

1. Faheem 
  2. Shadab (his batting is much better then his bowling)
  3. Mommad wasim jr (future star)
  4. Nawaz 
  5. Khushdil (very very hand part timer)
  6. Imad wasim
  7. Hassan ali (slogger)
  8. Qaasim akram (u-19 captani, very good batsman n handy part timer)
  9. Ifthikar ahmed

NZ- (nothing exciting in their group)

1. Jamieson
  2. Rachin ravindra
  3. Neesham
  4. Santner
  5. Chapman
  6. Bracwell
  7. Daryll mitchell
  8. Cole McConchie

South africa - Apart from jenson nothing great 

Bang aur SL- bekaar teams hai dono

Our situation is such that an injury to hardik n jadeja and we are looking around 

Current India U19

Angkrish Top order bat but can bowl handy off spin 

Nishant Sindhu (left arm spinner plus a batsman) 

Hangargekar (slogger + potential 90mph bowler) 

Others include Abhishek Sharma,  Abdul Samad Deepak Hooda. 

Shardul Deepak are handy sloggers down the order. 

So we do have players just that this batch of Rohit Kohli Dhawan Kela Rahul is the worst.  One dimensional players. 

great thread @Ankit_sharma03 

Dinesh Karthik on cricbuzz touched upon this and said that players are wary of getting injured to bowl part time spin due to busy schedule.. that's a silly and almost selfish reason when our team lacks 6th 7th bowlers.. 

1 hour ago, bowl_out said:

But all rounders don't exist

Maybe but bits & pieces players are usually very handy in LO cricket - except that "karke aaaya" guy :lollypop:

10 minutes ago, Vk1 said:

great thread @Ankit_sharma03 

Dinesh Karthik on cricbuzz touched upon this and said that players are wary of getting injured to bowl part time spin due to busy schedule.. that's a silly and almost selfish reason when our team lacks 6th 7th bowlers.. 

yea i saw that he is spot on

fast bowling all rounders around the world is struggling from injuries due to 3 formats + leagues , i think only jason holder comes to my mind who has been least injured but he aint a 140 bowler 

Someone like cameron green whose career hasnt even taken off has already had quite a few injuries 

Hardik

Thakur

D Chahar

Sundar

Axar

Jadeja

Ashwin

Krunal

these all do both regularly. Not counting batsmen who bowl like V Iyer,Jaiswal,Samad

then there are U19 guys.

more than enough. Just need to back them.

8 minutes ago, Lord said:

Hardik

Thakur

D Chahar

Sundar

Axar

Jadeja

Ashwin

Krunal

these all do both regularly. Not counting batsmen who bowl like V Iyer,Jaiswal,Samad

then there are U19 guys.

Thakur - white ball bowling very limited

Chahar- not sold on him as bowler in ODI and he also has limitations

Sundar- power game not developed n bowling for 50 over needs to worked on (but good option)

Jadeja- never been great in white ball

axar- batting not strong

Ashwin- ok

Krunal - just can pass in t20 that to only on certain kind of pitches as bowler, battting is very weak against pace

Samad- a part timer 

venky - not international standard 

Reality is once hardik n jaddu got injured we were struggling n come Wc if we dont find their backup we are in huge problem

8 minutes ago, Lord said:

Hardik

Thakur

D Chahar

Sundar

Axar

Jadeja

Ashwin

Krunal

then there are U19 guys.

Sundar- power game not developed n bowling for 50 over needs to worked on (but good option)

axar- batting not strong

Ashwin- ok

Krunal - just can pass in t20 that to only on certain kind of pitches as bowler, battting is very weak against pace

Samad- a part timer 

Reality is once hardik n jaddu got injured we were struggling n come Wc if we dont find their backup we are in huge problem

6 hours ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

axar- batting not strong

Ashwin- ok

Samad- a part timer 

most of the WI players you have named, such as pollard, are just as bad or worse in ODIs even if not T20s.

11 hours ago, Lone Wolf said:

Current India U19

So we do have players just that this batch of Rohit Kohli Dhawan Kela Rahul is the worst.  One dimensional players. 

You missed raj Bawa from this year's batch plus darshan nalkande

12 hours ago, Lone Wolf said:

Current India U19

In current U19, there's also anneshwar gautam, raj bawa, kausal tambe. nearly everyone does a secondary skill.

however, in past, a lot of U19 batters were useful bowlers and then they largely gave up bowling: Jaiswal, Sarfaraz, Rohit, Kohli, etc

9 hours ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

axar- batting not strong

Ashwin- ok

Samad- a part timer 

Classic case of grass being greener on the other side. 

Most of the guys you mentioned in OP too aren't really out and out all rounders. 

23 minutes ago, Norman said:

Classic case of grass being greener on the other side. 

Most of the guys you mentioned in OP too aren't really out and out all rounders. 

Iftiqar/Khushdil/Hassan Ali/Imad ko ye all rounder option keh raha hai tou Shardul/Venky/Deepak Chahar/Axar/Sundar bhi bure nahi hai. 

So basically OP has listed every all rounder option possible for each country & India ke bas Jadeja aur Pandya bata diye, way to put forward a grim picture, matlab kuch bhi

WI all rounders brigade look apt for this year's WC, now they are your classic seam bowling all rounders. 

If I have to point out I ll say India missing out on a leg spinner who is a batsman, not slogger but a capable batsman. In an XI, at most two players can be absolutely dud batsmen but we usually carry 3

Just now, SK_IH said:

WI all rounders brigade look apt for this year's WC, now they are your classic seam bowling all rounders. 

If I have to point out I ll say India missing out on a leg spinner who is a batsman, not slogger but a capable batsman. In an XI, at most two players can be absolutely dud batsmen but we usually carry 3

legspinning ARs are very hard to come by, because leggies themselves are somewhat rare. Benaud was a leggie AR, but the GOAT in this category was the SA Aubrey Faulkner.

Gopal, if he had maintained his form, could have become one in LOIs, and potentially even in tests

2 minutes ago, Vijy said:

legspinning ARs are very hard to come by, because leggies themselves are somewhat rare. Benaud was a leggie AR, but the GOAT in this category was the SA Aubrey Faulkner.

Gopal, if he had maintained his form, could have become one in LOIs, and potentially even in tests

Gopal doesn't have the game i think, he always comes across as a batsman in the mould of Kumble, might be useful to stitch a partnership together thats about it. Infact his bowling has taken a nose dive as well recently.