rollingstoned Posted March 18, 2022 Posted March 18, 2022 Didn't see any thread for this so opened one. Bangladesh are batting first and are at 300/7 in the 49 th over. Looks to be a full strength saf team and they've batted well. We got whitewashed so interesting to see what happens. express bowling 1
sandeep Posted March 18, 2022 Posted March 18, 2022 Decent score put up and SA can always offer the potential to choke if the spinners can grip the ball ok. BD seem to have started to get better on the batting front. 'Yassir Ali' is a new name, good for a new toyger bat to have a quality score under his belt in away conditions early in his career. Few years back I used to think Liton and Soumya along with Mahmudullah will become a proper top class batting trio for them. Soumya withered away badly, while Liton hasn't been as consistent as toyger fans would like. I don't follow these guys that closely so not sure about how mahmudullah has been going...
Frustrated Posted March 18, 2022 Posted March 18, 2022 Thanx for creating this thread. I m actually beginning to get jealous of Bangladesh batting line up (both tests and ODIs). They out batted us in NZ in tests. Drew the test series (1-1) over there. Now in ODI, they hv scored 300+ against SA. We couldn't score 300 even once. rollingstoned 1
sandeep Posted March 18, 2022 Posted March 18, 2022 25 minutes ago, Frustrated said: Thanx for creating this thread. I m actually beginning to get jealous of Bangladesh batting line up (both tests and ODIs). They out batted us in NZ in tests. Drew the test series (1-1) over there. Now in ODI, they hv scored 300+ against SA. We couldn't score 300 even once. 11 minutes ago, Laaloo said: They are doing better than us Reactionary. A couple of ODI games where Indian team is off the boil and all of a sudden the chest-beating starts? Indian cricket team doesn't have a talent problem its a selection and tactical problem - and the solutions are really low hanging fruit. Now that the 'captain' is changed, so is the coach, they have carte blanche to change things, and they have no choice but to do it, so that's that. rollingstoned 1
Forward Defence Posted March 18, 2022 Posted March 18, 2022 Was watching the highlights of the SA odi series. Our biggest problem seems to be middle order batting. Everybody goes after Dhawan and Kohli but KL, both Iyers ,Pant and even Surya threw away their wickets at critical junctures. We also didnt cover ourselves in glory against WI in the home ODI s either (batting wise). Kohli moving to no 4 or 5 and giving more space to Shreyas,Pant or Surya to learn how to construct an ODi innings seems the way forward. sandeep and Frustrated 1 1
Forward Defence Posted March 18, 2022 Posted March 18, 2022 Bangladesh will probably win this. Will want to get Dussen early though. That guy is pure quality.
Forward Defence Posted March 18, 2022 Posted March 18, 2022 Markram is SA's KL Rahul. Poor Performace to Talent ratio.
Lone Wolf Posted March 18, 2022 Posted March 18, 2022 Brilliant from Bangla bros... They are a decent enough ODI side. In fact ODI is their strongest format. They did beat Saffers in WC19 as well. A series win here will be huge for them. We were so timid in SA that it was so hard to watch... Plethora of Trundlers & mediocre spinners to horrible batting.
SK_IH Posted March 18, 2022 Posted March 18, 2022 (edited) 1 hour ago, Forward Defence said: Was watching the highlights of the SA odi series. Our biggest problem seems to be middle order batting. Everybody goes after Dhawan and Kohli but KL, both Iyers ,Pant and even Surya threw away their wickets at critical junctures. We also didnt cover ourselves in glory against WI in the home ODI s either (batting wise). Kohli moving to no 4 or 5 and giving more space to Shreyas,Pant or Surya to learn how to construct an ODi innings seems the way forward. We should be least bothered with that loss, middle order got chances, failed, will definitely learn. If our middle order stands up when it matters in global events, I ll take more such useless bilateral defeats. Edited March 18, 2022 by SK_IH ComfortFood 1
rageaddict Posted March 18, 2022 Posted March 18, 2022 India got whitewashed during the Odi series in SA and here Bangladesh Bros are winning the first Odi. Kya baat hai.
Trichromatic Posted March 18, 2022 Posted March 18, 2022 Dussen didn't even ground the bat and umpire gave it not out. Third umpire and broadcaster saving SA.
sarcastic Posted March 18, 2022 Posted March 18, 2022 What a one-sided encounter. Ridiculous watching Miller coming down the wickets and getting stumped.
sarcastic Posted March 18, 2022 Posted March 18, 2022 3 hours ago, sandeep said: Reactionary. A couple of ODI games where Indian team is off the boil and all of a sudden the chest-beating starts? Indian cricket team doesn't have a talent problem its a selection and tactical problem - and the solutions are really low hanging fruit. Now that the 'captain' is changed, so is the coach, they have carte blanche to change things, and they have no choice but to do it, so that's that. True. But KL Rahul's captaincy was not up to the mark either and lot to be desired. Sure, it is his first ODI series but not up to the mark even for a debut captain.
Forward Defence Posted March 18, 2022 Posted March 18, 2022 1 hour ago, SK_IH said: We should be least bothered with that loss, middle order got chances, failed, will definitely learn. If our middle order stands up when it matters in global events, I ll take more such useless bilateral defeats. The losses dont bother me as much as the starts thrown away', the 50s not converted, the untimely cheeky shots etc. Hope the batsmen have learned a few things as the ODI WC is next year
Lone Wolf Posted March 18, 2022 Posted March 18, 2022 Except Qdk or Nortje this is a almost full strength SA side. Even Jansen is there... No Magala & co. Good stuff from BD.. Dominant win. Liton Das has become consistent for them. Afif reminds me of Raina. Plays little clutch inns from time to time.
Bigg Brother Posted March 18, 2022 Posted March 18, 2022 India has been historically piss poor in SA in LOIs except 2018 where Kohli's heroics managed us to win series there otherwise India always shat their pants in SA be it tests or LOIs.. Good show by Bangladesh today.. Frustrated and Vijy 2
ComfortFood Posted March 18, 2022 Posted March 18, 2022 2 hours ago, SK_IH said: We should be least bothered with that loss, middle order got chances, failed, will definitely learn. If our middle order stands up when it matters in global events, I ll take more such useless bilateral defeats. Moron no series is useless. Stop beating the same drum like an idiot. Every single odi match goes towards world series points~ and wc qualification. Look what happened to wi & sl in recent times having to play qualifiers.. Just coz we are the hosts this time it dsnt matter. You and the dicks here with odis meaningless t20 meaningless nla nla bla are phuking infuriating
sarcastic Posted March 18, 2022 Posted March 18, 2022 25 minutes ago, Bigg Brother said: India has been historically piss poor in SA in LOIs except 2018 where Kohli's heroics managed us to win series there otherwise India always shat their pants in SA be it tests or LOIs.. Good show by Bangladesh today.. I would say the real factor in 2018 series was the inform `Kulcha`.