Pak tour of SL 2022

Babar is technically more sound either of Javed/Inzamam. Javed was feisty. Very street dog approach.  Inzamam was a natural with flaws which he never tried to fix. He has a pretty decent backfoot game through off side.  Their best under-19 product ever. KL Rahul and Agarwal are from the same under-19 batch. Should have had better career than this.

3 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said:

Babar is technically more sound either of Javed/Inzamam. Javed was feisty. Very street dog approach.  Inzamam was a natural with flaws which he never tried to fix. He has a pretty decent backfoot game through off side.  Their best under-19 product ever. KL Rahul and Agarwal are from the same under-19 batch. Should have had better career than this.

being technically more sound is a good start, but is not the only crucial aspect. someone like kanhai was more technically sound than viv richards (or even sobers), yet finished with lower avg and matchwinning knocks. I am not knocking babar here - as I wrote earlier in the thread, it was a world-class knock from him.

Edited by Vijy
5 hours ago, Vijy said:

agree... that's why I was comparing babar with javed, because the latter is typically seen as the benchmark for Pak batters. hence, one would judge other pak batters against him

Javed also had lot of decisions go in his favour. He would never average what he did if there was drs and unbiased umpiring. He is more of a 45-49 averaging batsman. 

Appears as though poyz have misread the conditions in hindsight. Nawaz is not even a frontline spinner and they have underbowled Yasir so far for some reason. Sl will still need to set a good score imo. 

9 hours ago, Vijy said:

being technically more sound is a good start, but is not the only crucial aspect. someone like kanhai was more technically sound than viv richards (or even sobers), yet finished with lower avg and matchwinning knocks. I am not knocking babar here - as I wrote earlier in the thread, it was a world-class knock from him.

In his case it definitely helps. His head is still and bat flow is in line with his feet movement more often than not.  

Chalo Sri Lanka effectively 100/2.

And they bat all the way down to no.10 until Theekshana. Just somehow get 150 more runs and Poyzz ki L lagne waali hai. 

14 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said:

In his case it definitely helps. His head is still and bat flow is in line with his feet movement more often than not.  

That for me is the key for any batter. When the bat flow and the body weight transfer is along the same line is when you are hitting the ball optimally. Current version of Joe Root does that better than anyone else. 

Chandimal plays great knocks and suddenly goes missing. I remember he score 170 off against india and they won test match. I didn’t hear much about him until the Australia  test matches and now he play another very good knock.

50 minutes ago, gattaca said:

Chandimal plays great knocks and suddenly goes missing. I remember he score 170 off against india and they won test match. I didn’t hear much about him until the Australia  test matches and now he play another very good knock.

That was some inns...  But Indians initially could have had him twice....  That was our last no DRS series I guess.

Mishraji's crying apppeal off him comes to mind lol

11 hours ago, Norman said:

Chalo Sri Lanka effectively 100/2.

And they bat all the way down to no.10 until Theekshana. Just somehow get 150 more runs and Poyzz ki L lagne waali hai. 

Wow they actually got 230 more runs and are still going. How bad is the Pakistani bowling attack? Wicket was spitting venom yesterday. Did it flatten out? 

No matter what... chasing 350 ish on days 4-5 is pretty much impossible on a wicket like this. But you never know these days... 

54 minutes ago, Norman said:

Wow they actually got 230 more runs and are still going. How bad is the Pakistani bowling attack? Wicket was spitting venom yesterday. Did it flatten out? 

No matter what... chasing 350 ish on days 4-5 is pretty much impossible on a wicket like this. But you never know these days... 

Didn't pick the right team, poverty of spin options that is the worst in cricket right now and a past it Yasir. This place creams itself over Naseem but not sure what they see in him.