maniac Posted September 1, 2022 Posted September 1, 2022 (edited) 4 minutes ago, zen said: Not necessarily true ... Aus won two world cups under Ponting, where his captaincy is not a big factor ... It is how the teams and players, along with the opponents, were set up (similarly for teams like MI and Ind in Asia Cup). If someone is going to "steal" credit from the team and even players saying because of Ponting McGrath, Bevan, Martyn, and Hayden did well, it is going to sound extremely dumb correct you answered your own doubt. You named Mcgrath and Lee etc while Ro won championships with a middle order of Pandey, Jadhav, MSD (later version) and bowling attack of Vijay Shankar, Unadkut and a rookie Siraj. Do the math :) Edited September 1, 2022 by maniac
zen Posted September 1, 2022 Posted September 1, 2022 (edited) 3 minutes ago, maniac said: correct you answered your own doubt. You named Mcgrath and Lee etc while Ro won championships with a middle order of Pandey, Jadhav, MSD (later version) and bowling attack of Vijay Shankar, Unadkut and a rookie Siraj. Do the math :) And you are relying on logical fallacies ... We are not taking about world cup ... In Asia Cup or Nidhas, as has been discussed, usually familiar conditions for players much like in IPL), Ind is a hot favorite irrespective of its team composition (and form of the players). There are other players in the team as well Edited September 1, 2022 by zen
Swag Posted September 1, 2022 Posted September 1, 2022 Well done Rohit. Bring home the T20 WC, you will attain 'Dhoni' level. WIn the ODI WC then you'll have your own 'Rohit' level:) maniac and sarcastic 1 1
coffee_rules Posted September 1, 2022 Posted September 1, 2022 (edited) @maniac get this straight. GT won IPL because of Pandya alone. None others contributed. MI won 5 IPLs under Rohit because of the team composition . If India wins this Asia cup it is because of Pandu or some falana player. You are fighting a lost cause Edited September 1, 2022 by coffee_rules Vk1 and Swag 2
Adamant Posted September 1, 2022 Posted September 1, 2022 3 hours ago, maniac said: if you mean Rohit then Dhoni 3 hours ago, zen said: Then based on your logic all credit goes to Dhoni, and stepping back the one who nurtured Dhoni, and so on Credit goes to Adam and Eve. Vahin se paida hue ye sab. Logic ki maa behen ek kardi hai.
Adamant Posted September 1, 2022 Posted September 1, 2022 List of Icc trophies won by Kohli - Icc test cricketer of the year Icc odi cricketer of the year Icc odi cricketer of the decade Icc t20 14 wc man of the tournament Another Icc t20 16 MOTT Icc Fairplay trophy Kaun kehta hai Kohli ICC trophy nahi jeeta.
Adamant Posted September 1, 2022 Posted September 1, 2022 13 minutes ago, coffee_rules said: @maniac get this straight. GT won IPL because of Pandya alone. None others contributed. MI won 5 IPLs under Rohit because of the team composition . We f India wins this Asia cup it is because of Pandu or some falana player. You are fighting a lost cause @maniac You are arguing with a guy who adds no ball, wide ball and byes to Pandya's score bcoz of the fear he created.
zen Posted September 1, 2022 Posted September 1, 2022 (edited) 5 hours ago, coffee_rules said: @maniac get this straight. GT won IPL because of Pandya alone. None others contributed. MI won 5 IPLs under Rohit because of the team composition . If India wins this Asia cup it is because of Pandu or some falana player. You are fighting a lost cause Note: First, GT was never highly rated. For e.g., @maniac in fact rated it as "Kenya", which would lose in knockouts (as usual he was wrong ) and he has done multiple threads tracking SDP's performances. Second, SDP's performance as a captain is praised for his on field tactics (esp. for a first time captain w/o much experience), leading from the front -> runs + wkts, batting out of his usual position to stabilize GT's batting order, etc. (tangibles) ... He, along with Nehra, is also said to created a stable and positive environment - PS Link! Third, a lot of players did well for GT (performances of Miller, Tewatia, etc. are legendary). I have not said that Tuk Tuk is not a good captain but discussed "facts" on what can be attributed to him, along with the folly of judging captains only based on W/L % (the topic here) ... People are not saying that Miller (hardly had a consistent IPL in the last few years), Tewatia (had an inconsistent last season or even two), Saha (who was pushed out of team Ind), Gill (who was considered as not a good T20 player), Shami (again not considered a good T20 bowler), etc., along with newbies like Sai Sudarshan, Sai Kishore, Abhinav Manohar, Yash Dayal, etc., all did well because of some magic portion given by SDP (here many Tuk Tuk fans make up such "stories"), ... Edited September 2, 2022 by zen coffee_rules 1
zen Posted September 1, 2022 Posted September 1, 2022 (edited) 2 hours ago, Adamant said: @maniac You are arguing with a guy who adds no ball, wide ball and byes to Pandya's score bcoz of the fear he created. Comment on topic and not no matters you have no clue about … I don’t waste my time on providing explanation to every Tom, Dick, & Harry on this forum (100s of posters come and go). Edited September 1, 2022 by zen
coffee_rules Posted September 2, 2022 Posted September 2, 2022 (edited) 3 hours ago, zen said: Note: First, GT was never highly rated. For e.g., @maniac in fact rated it as "Kenya", which would lose in knockouts (as usual he was wrong ) and he has done multiple threads tracking SDP's performances. Second, SDP's performance as a captain is praised for his on field tactics (esp. for a first time captain w/o much experience), leading from the front -> runs + wkts, batting out of his usual position to stabilize GT's batting order, etc. (tangibles) Third, a lot of players did well for GT I have not said that Tuk Tuk is not a good captain but discussed "facts" on what can be attributed to him, along with the folly of judging captains only based on W/L % (the topic here) ... People are not saying that Miller (hardly had a consistent IPL in the last few years), Tewatia (had an inconsistent last season or even two), Saha (who was pushed out of team Ind), Gill (who was considered as not a good T20 player), Shami (again not considered a good T20 bowler), etc., along with newbies like Sai Sudarshan, Sai Kishore, Abhinav Manohar, Yash Dayal, etc., all did well because of some magic portion given by SDP (here many Tuk Tuk fans make up such "stories"), ... My only point to troll you was that if you give credit to HP for winning IPL, then on the same account RS should receive credit for 5 IPL wins and Asia/Nidahas wins. Plus after taking over from Lohli he has positive results esp batting first. But in every other post you mock tuk- tuk . Fine if you don’t like RS, but I value fairness. Yes GT win is solely because of HP. Something worked for him once he was dropped after last WT20 and he has a golden touch, everything he touched has worked. Hope we win WT20 on his form. Edited September 2, 2022 by coffee_rules zen 1
zen Posted September 2, 2022 Posted September 2, 2022 (edited) 28 minutes ago, coffee_rules said: My only point to troll you was that if you give credit to HP for winning IPL, then on the same account RS should receive credit for 5 IPL wins and Asia/Nidahas wins. Plus after taking over from Lohli he has positive results esp batting first. But in every other post you mock tuk- tuk . Fine if you don’t like RS, but I value fairness. Every captain gets some credit but as I said that MI is a well established franchise. Not many give too much credit to Ponting’s captaincy for Aus winning in 2003 & 2007 ... While India is a powerhouse in Asian conditions. A win is great but this is relatively a low hanging fruit ( a loss goes against you more than a win for you) ... As VC, RS was a part of the TM w/ Kohli too. This year, Ind did fairly well v SA (2-2), Ire (2-0), WI (3-0, ODIs), & Zim (3-0, ODIs) under different captains. “Without Rohit even in the squad”, Win % = 83, where 3 of the 4 series are outside the subcon. PS let’s not forget IPL 2022 (where for e.g. he had Unadkat too like in Nidhas), and if Ind does not win Asia Cup (a low hanging fruit), and the upcoming T20 WC, it would mark the worst performance year for a captain who got to lead strong teams in 3 multi team competitions this year (not many captains get such opportunities)! Edited September 2, 2022 by zen
Number Posted September 3, 2022 Posted September 3, 2022 While he is getting some success but the way his fitness is going to dogs, his attitude towards his own batting, I don't see him lasting long.
Nikola Posted September 3, 2022 Posted September 3, 2022 Should still retire from t20 format after world cup and let someone lead who has lesser workload for t20 format. Fitness is big issue for his age and attacking early isn't giving him big score in this format so probably needs to think on how he could balance it out maybe. Captaincy itself was given too late to him and his plan of changing batting style of team isn't working as both him & kohli are in decline.
Ankit_sharma03 Posted September 3, 2022 Posted September 3, 2022 11 hours ago, Number said: While he is getting some success but the way his fitness is going to dogs, his attitude towards his own batting, I don't see him lasting long. after becoming captain his avg is 30 s/r 151 cant complain about these numbers Number and sage 2
Number Posted September 3, 2022 Posted September 3, 2022 19 minutes ago, Ankit_sharma03 said: after becoming captain his avg is 30 s/r 151 cant complain about these numbers Seems good but I got a feeling that his impactful knocks are now not that frequent. Hope he improves his fitness.
Ankit_sharma03 Posted September 3, 2022 Posted September 3, 2022 8 minutes ago, Number said: Seems good but I got a feeling that his impactful knocks are now not that frequent. Hope he improves his fitness. He hasnt played a big knock but we wanted his s.r to go up which has. It wud have always come at a cost . ravishingravi 1
Khota Posted September 4, 2022 Posted September 4, 2022 Rohit needs to lose 30 lbs or should be benched.
sage Posted September 4, 2022 Author Posted September 4, 2022 42 minutes ago, Khota said: Rohit needs to lose 30 lbs or should be benched. Benching one of the most successful captain's in the world who is also averaging 30 striking at 150? Nuts. Rohit haters are mentally ill.
Vijy Posted September 4, 2022 Posted September 4, 2022 his captaincy is fine in short formats, but his fitness is the issue. especially in tests, he goes missing in the "big" series