India women cricketers to earn same match fee as male counterparts, BCCI secretary Jay Shah confirms

vvvslaxman

7 minutes ago, Norman said:

Hmm what about the U19 and A teams? Blind team players? Should they also be played the same? I mean... they too are representing India. 

Bhai we are talking about the match fees not central contract or advertisement money. The women already make peanuts compared to men in the latter two, deservedly so because they aren't nearly as popular. 

The U19, A-team and Blind teams aren't our main teams. We have just two main teams- Men's and Women's seniors. They both might not be same in popularity but are same in stature and hence should be paid equal match fees. 

Just like all Govt employees of the same rank are paid equally doesn't matter how much work they do or how honest they are. 

31 minutes ago, Norman said:

What non sense !!! :facepalm:

"First step towards tackling discrimination"..

Abe ghonchu what discrimination? Male cricketers earn more because they bring in more revenues, not because they're male. Just simple economics. 

If they had money to spend, they should have spent it on improving the state of our crappy stadiums and into coaching and academies im tier-2 cities. But nope... has to do the virtue signalling... 

Real discrimination is nepotism vs merit. He should resign from his post instead of doing political correctness gimmicks.

Edited by nevada
36 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said:

They are hormonally different. We should only compare women with other women. Not men. 

Bringing pay parity is based on a man vs woman comparison. 

Personally I don't have a problem here even if its a subsidy since it incentivizes women cricketers to perform at the highest level, just not sure how far can the equality argument be pushed and implemented. 

9 minutes ago, AuxiliA said:

Bhai we are talking about the match fees not central contract or advertisement money. The women already make peanuts compared to men in the latter two, deservedly so because they aren't nearly as popular. 

The U19, A-team and Blind teams aren't our main teams. We have just two main teams- Men's and Women's seniors. They both might not be same in popularity but are same in stature and hence should be paid equal match fees. 

Just like all Govt employees of the same rank are paid equally doesn't matter how much work they do or how honest they are. 

Indian cricketers are not like most of the athletes who represent India internationally though, they are not govt employees. What they are paid even as a salary is dictated by market forces and not policy.

12 minutes ago, Clarke said:

Bringing pay parity is based on a man vs woman comparison. 

Personally I don't have a problem here even if its a subsidy since it incentivizes women cricketers to perform at the highest level, just not sure how far can the equality argument be pushed and implemented. 

I have no problem either. I thought everyone would be on the same page since it is peanuts compared to how much t hey make and how much men cricket team member in addition to the salary. My bad

8 minutes ago, rollingstoned said:

Indian cricketers are not like most of the athletes who represent India internationally though, they are not govt employees. What they are paid even as a salary is dictated by market forces and not policy.

That is what the central contract money is for, which is still 10x for the men. We are talking about the per match fees here, which is basically like any govt job salary. They are paid just to show up, it's not based on performance or popularity. 

1 minute ago, AuxiliA said:

That is what the central contract money is for, which is still 10x for the men. We are talking about the per match fees here, which is basically like any govt job salary. They are paid just to show up, it's not based on performance or popularity. 

Are even all the men paid the same match fee? 

44 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said:

After they won world cup. Each player got 40 lakhs from under-19. Support staffs were paid 20 lakhs.

Yes and same should be the case with women players as well. But this is different isn't it.. this is match fees and not some bonus/reward.

26 minutes ago, nevada said:

Real discrimination is nepotism vs merit. He should resign from his post instead of doing political correctness gimmicks.

If they start quitting over nepotism, half of the country will become unemployed.lol

1 minute ago, Norman said:

Yes and same should be the case with women players as well. But this is different isn't it.. this is match fees and not some bonus/reward.

Its okay. it will be like 0.005% of their net income.  Women's cricket is gaining popularity. It doesn't really have to rake in money.  It is not like they give away money to like 100 players. It will be only a handful of players. I don't think it is that big a deal. Men make money through IPL far more than BCCI salary. Then they have endorsements. Compared to 10 years women's cricket has grown really big.  It will further evolve.

3 minutes ago, rollingstoned said:

Are even all the men paid the same match fee? 

Yes all seniors get the same match fees. Doesn't matter whether it's Kohli or a newbie. 

1 hour ago, SRT100 said:

Exactly the revenue they bring in should be a measuring stick of their earning capacity. This is a joke and if anything the men should complain because obviously they are missing out, if the BCCI can afford to pay the men the same as the women.

Its not impossible for a woman to earn more than men in sport. Just look at Rhonda Rousey in MMA.

not at all  justifiable  by any means...  that 's it . so much gap  in the   general calibre of performance,,   generating revenue  etc etc . But then... what better to expect from a

corrupt  oppertunistic politician?,

2 hours ago, rkt.india said:

But do women cricket make Money for BCCI?

Thats such a poor logic. 

Btw, how do you even know women cricket is not fetching money for BCCI? If they have sponsors, they are making money. And loads of.

In business, not everything is equated with money, hence CSR initiative being a necessity for corporates. A board like BCCI needs to show how forward they are, they need to be an example. Hence, they need to encourage women as much as they can. 

Also, business is a long term plan. ROI is not calculated in a month's time. It can be a long term investment. So, by your logic, a more pertinent question will be- Is BCCI marketing women cricket enough? Are they spending enough money on them for them to make money for BCCI? NO!!!

The more they do, the better results they will get. 

Just because women cant bowl at 145 doesnt mean they are lesser than Shoaib or Brett Lee. The effort that they are putting maybe even more. And I am not even talking about the societal pressures and objectification that women are put through. So, think before you question about parity in pay and status.

Congratulations BBCI you have eventually realised you can dominate another form of cricket( WIPL as well) in the world because that's what it is another form of cricket and anybody like on this forum and all other social media sites who compares Women's cricket with Men's cricket in any shape or form  are idiots . 

Appearance fees in men's cricket means so little to the top nations players  that they all pool it and  it is given to charities .

In the world of women's cricket women like Smriti Mandhana and Harmenpreet Kaur are rock stars , role models for millions not just in India , I know I have watched the India women's team numerous times live , I have been in full stadiums where those Indian players are heroes to the small girls and boys .

If some of you guys don't see the bigger picture of 10 years hence then shame on you but I bet those same people when the  India women's team are kicking the *ss of Australian and England teams  they will be cheering the loudest .

12 minutes ago, Tattieboy said:

Congratulations BBCI you have eventually realised you can dominate another form of cricket( WIPL as well) in the world because that's what it is another form of cricket and anybody like on this forum and all other social media sites who compares Women's cricket with Men's cricket in any shape or form  are idiots . 

Appearance fees in men's cricket means so little to the top nations players  that they all pool it and  it is given to charities .

In the world of women's cricket women like Smriti Mandhana and Harmenpreet Kaur are rock stars , role models for millions not just in India , I know I have watched the India women's team numerous times live , I have been in full stadiums where those Indian players are heroes to the small girls and boys .

If some of you guys don't see the bigger picture of 10 years hence then shame on you but I bet those same people when the  India women's team are kicking the *ss of Australian and England teams  they will be cheering the loudest .

Shame on you.

Youre rewarding mediocrity.

Women's cricket is that bad, you could get XI ex male cricketers aged over 40 that would beat them.

They should be paid in accordance to what they bring in. Its the whole Ronda Rousey argument in MMA, she was making much more money than many men, why? Because she was bringing in more money. Should she be penalized and receive less and share it with the men?

The bigger picture.

There is way too much money in cricket.

For a country which struggles with providing basic quality of life, this sort of investment in sports is just wishful thinking if we want to match the developed world.

4 hours ago, Gollum said:

Peanuts for BCCI but illogical move. Just for PR......more fair than tennis though because women play same duration as men. 

Those who support this decision, one question, why do male models make less money than female ones? 

Models don't represent their country at highest level. I got your point, but both men and women are best in the country, they don't complete with each other.