Indian cricket team is heading in the same direction as the English national football team.

jalebi_bhai

32 minutes ago, Stan AF said:

This has been said by every poster here over and over for quite some time now. I'm sorry I don't buy this. The talent here is pretty average to say the least.

You don't have to buy it.

The simple point is that India excels at levels where raw talent is the deciding factor. Between 2012-2022, the u19 team have won 3/6 WCs and made 5/6 finals. No other country has been even remotely consistent.

It's similar to English football at age group level. England produces some of the best young players in terms of athleticism. They have pace, power and technique... basically all the raw ingredients required to succeed. It's once they enter into the senior team set up, where things go bad. Clueless managers and coaching with stale tactics. It's the foreign managers at their clubs who bring the best out of them.

Since the formation of the Premier League in 1992, not a single English manager has won the league.

We have a similar coaching and talent management issue at the senior level.

3 hours ago, jalebi_bhai said:

Some crazy parallels:

1. Run by two of the richest sporting organizations in the sport - ✓

2. Richest domestic premier league - ✓

3. Crazy depth in talent - ✓

4. Superstar culture - ✓

5. Good record in bilaterals/friendlies - ✓

6. Perennial underachievers in major tournaments - ✓

7. Cliques and lobbies within squad - ✓

8. Idiotic coaching staff/team management that plays an archaic/outdated brand of sport - ✓

9. Crazy, unjustified media hype for team - ✓

10. Perpetually frustrated fan base - ✓

India has had more success historically since cricket is primarily a sport played by the commonwealth countries but all markers suggest we're heading the way of the English football team. 

11. Has recently started demolishing minnows - ✓

Umran Malik is bowling at 150 km per hour. I mean when you have the best car in the world, and you leave it in the garage, then what's the point of having that car? Umran Malik should have been picked in the Indian squad for the World Cup," Lee 

Issue lies with selection and TM who believe in conservative cricket..You can have all the talent but if it is unutilized than its useless.

Edited by Stuge
47 minutes ago, Clarke said:

Do the angrez footballers prioritize EPL over international football or is there no conflict of scheduling ?

No conflict except for one tournament (African Cup of Nations), which doesn't apply to English footballers. 

Football in general is club centric (~8 months). The national teams play in dedicated windows called international breaks for friendlies/tournament qualifiers. Then you have the big tournaments where they play together.

48 minutes ago, Clarke said:

What are their biases compared to ours (seniority, trundler = accuracy etc)

At the moment, their manager is a moron. Plays to 'not lose' than to win. Has taken them to semis and final of last two tournaments, so English FA feels he's good but it's mostly down to the squad talent than the manager.

Traditionally, their problem has been cliques within the team. So they underperform even when they have world class squad. Also problem with coaches. English managers mostly play outdated brand of football.

All the big English clubs have foreign managers except Potter at Chelsea, and guess what, he's underperforming with them.

2 hours ago, Frustrated said:

OK.   And what about Nz?

They were a much better team than us in their own conditions. And had their GOAT test side. Losing to them with a completely different side doesn't make the Australian series a "fluke". 

That is peak Lahori logic.. no offense. 

11 minutes ago, Norman said:

They were a much better team than us in their own conditions. And had their GOAT test side. Losing to them with a completely different side doesn't make the Australian series a "fluke". 

That is peak Lahori logic.. no offense. 

But u did not say anything about our 0-2 whitewash in Nz where toygers drew the series 1-1.  

4 hours ago, Frustrated said:

But u did not say anything about our 0-2 whitewash in Nz where toygers drew the series 1-1.  

How many of Gill, Siraj, Sundar, Thakur , Nattu etc played in NZ when we lost 2-0? You are making absolutely no sense at this point. 

I don't know how anyone with straightface can say India is loaded with talent. Almost all IPL team have overseas players as finishers. All the Indian players are at best considators for their teams. There has been no standout bowler either spinner or fast bowler in IPL in more than a decade except Bumrah, Where and who are the  so called fricking talented players.

13 minutes ago, putrevus said:

I don'tknow how anyone with straightface can say India is loaded with talent. Almost all IPL team have overseas players as finishers. All the Indian players are at best considators for their teams. There has been no standout bowler either spinner or fast bowler in IPL in more than a decade except Bumrah, Where and who are the  so called fricking talented players.

Theek hai. You and Stan are right. India has no depth in talent.

Tell us how many talented players are there in India then. 

Per capita india produces nowhere near as much talent as SENA +WI, SRL. Not even close.Although in comparison to the 90s and earlier India does produce better talents with some 140 kph bowlers coming to the system, still no great wrist spinners or innovative off spinners.

What india do have is a pretty big pool of decent cricketers but thats to do with the size of the country and opportunity as opposed to all of them being freakish talents.

Edited by the don