Indian test squad for WI announced

3 minutes ago, singhvivek141 said:

Harshit Rana was there, he is tall enough, performed well in IPL and has good FC/List A record.

Kuldeep Sen is fit as well.

Harshit has played only 5 FC games and numbers are at best decent.Only one List A game where he went wicketless. Too less for national selection

Sen is good but didnt play any FC cricket this year and half IPL. If hes 100% fit should have been selected.

I see they have picked Saini anyway.

14 minutes ago, Lord said:

Harshit has played only 5 FC games and numbers are at best decent.Only one List A game where he went wicketless. Too less for national selection

Sen is good but didnt play any FC cricket this year and half IPL. If hes 100% fit should have been selected.

You seriously think Undercutter and Mukesh are better for odi selection?

And 5 FC games + decent IPL is enough for a tour like WI that too where most of your main bowlers are either injured or are in verge of retirement

Not in a tour like WI then when?

Thing is , selectors are utter clueless and meek

Their chalta hai, attitude has sunk everything in Indian cricket

Edited by Suhaan
3 minutes ago, Suhaan said:

You seriously think Undercutter and Mukesh are better for odi selection?

When did I say that? I didnt even talk about ODIs

India needs role based seleection. A leggie, a new ball wicekt taker, a death over specialist, a middle over enforcer. This have to be their primary role. Ofcourse they shuld be able to do well in more than one role.

6 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said:

India needs role based seleection. A leggie, a new ball wicekt taker, a death over specialist, a middle over enforcer. This have to be their primary role. Ofcourse they shuld be able to do well in more than one role.

That's lots of thinking,beyond everyone's reach here

7 minutes ago, Suhaan said:

That's lots of thinking,beyond everyone's reach here

When they pick a side they don't realize they are going to be part of a unit. Otherwise we would not see 4 openers for a series. If Rahul comes back that will be 5.

40 minutes ago, Lord said:

Problem is this is not the Saini of 2016-2017 who was bulldozing everyone with his sheer pace.

Saini is now 31 year old, doesn't have that pace and simply not a long term prospect. It's again a makeshift approach by selectors, not a long term goal.

8 hours ago, nitinbwj said:

Mukesh Kumar? 

Many experts are calling him a very good bowler but does he maintain 136K Pace with accuracy and full length test match style bowling?

i would have been happier if kuldeep sen would have been selected. i think Sen is faster and probably he can be coached and become a bit more accurate.

1 minute ago, vishalvirsingh said:

Many experts are calling him a very good bowler but does he maintain 136K Pace with accuracy and full length test match style bowling?

i would have been happier if kuldeep sen would have been selected. i think Sen is faster and probably he can be coached and become a bit more accurate.

Based on what I saw last year's Irani Trophy, he is accurate and bowls test match length..he is a workhorse who can bowl long spells.

Pace wise, whatever speeds were shown of him were around 128-133. Sen was between 136-141 and Umran in 140-146 range.

11 minutes ago, singhvivek141 said:

Problem is this is not the Saini of 2016-2017 who was bulldozing everyone with his sheer pace.

Saini is now 31 year old, doesn't have that pace and simply not a long term prospect. It's again a makeshift approach by selectors, not a long term goal.

Saini has bowled just the same way when he was discarded

Suddenly he's seen someone with eggsperience,in a nutshell you can say age>30yrs,high chances of national selection

1 minute ago, Suhaan said:

Saini has bowled just the same way when he was discarded

Suddenly he's seen someone with eggsperience,in a nutshell you can say age>30yrs,high chances of national selection

I think he debuted in 2019..he was bowling quick but due to injuries and then Covid halted his progress. Then we had an establish attack of Shami, Siraj, Bumrah, Umesh with Thakur as all-rounder...no space for any new pacer.

Coincidently, he didn't performed that well in IPL also which is the de facto parameter these days. Even now he hasn't done anything noticeably in domestic but is now getting rewarded by DDCA for his hardwork (just like Jaydev).

23 minutes ago, singhvivek141 said:

31 is not too old. Mark Wood is 33

If hes fully fit,he's good enough. 

4 hours ago, vvvslaxman said:

Gill should be 3. Jaiswal should be the opener. 

Gill would have to open eventually anyway once Rohit retires. Better stay where he is and get practice 

5 hours ago, MultiB48 said:

Mukesh should have been picked in the final in place of umesh , English conditions suite him the most,but they didn't have the courage to do so and waited for umesh to fail but umesh is good with the old ball in India and can still be useful in our conditions.

Mukesh and saini are both 30 year olds and will bowl like 30 year olds, harshit would have brought some youthful energy.Anyone can fail in international cricket but everyone saw he is in good rhythm,maybe next season he might not be in such  rhythm or might get injured, should have picked him now.If they leave pacers in ranji for too long then they will turn into ranji pacers.

And Harshit has played 5 FC ,enough when you have plethora of injured pacers and fading one's(remember this is WI tour)

As you said,it's offcourse pacers should be tried young as they fade out quickly than batsmen and spinners

Edited by Suhaan

Bakwaskar lamenting Pujara drop

https://www.hindustantimes.com/cricket/one-man-has-been-singled-out-while-the-others-also-failed-sunil-gavaskar-tears-bcci-selectors-apart-over-pujara-drop-101687546196313.html

Rather than asking why chokli, sharma is not dropped he is asking other way around he is saying poojara was made scapegoat because he has no social media followers. Abey ghonchoo usney aisa kya ukhada hai pichley 3 saal me. Guy has an career overseas avg of 32 i mean if you want to target sharma and chokli no need to bring in Budhara simply say how come Sharma and chokli still in the team. This guy always play from both sides double dholki hai ye.

1 hour ago, Majestic said:

Pujara deserves to get dropped. There is no scapegoat thing like that here.

An Indian batsman with a 42 average is not supposed to play more than 100 tests.

If you see his career overseas avg its even more pathetic. I am just surprise how a single format player with such pathetic overseas avg played 100 test.