GT deserves wooden spoon

zen

A part of me thinks that if GT somehow makes it to the playoff, it can surprise with a 2nd title in 3 years. However, the way the team has played so far, it deserves the wooden spoon (after MI that is :p: ).

This season, we are seeing the high SR cricket taken to the next level, and this team is playing that get the par score and bowl (bowling used to be its strength) to win. 

Saha, Sai Sudaeshan, Vijay Shankar, etc., are more suitable for par score cricket than power cricket. Mohit Sharma’s success has meant more bowlers like him being tried instead of the pace that we used to see in previous seasons (Shami, Ferguson, Alzaari, Little, etc.). 

A wooden spoon will serve as a good wake up call. One needs to go where the game is headed (stay ahead of the curve) rather than trying to play within yourself to minimize errors and leverage on other team’s errors. 

:hitler:

12 hours ago, IndianRenegade said:

Gill himself is not a t20 player. what else can you expect?

Gill had a good season in 2023, scoring 890 runs at an SR of 158 with 3 100s. A'bad suits his batting style. 

This year he appears to be burdened by captaincy. Maybe Rashid, who has been the VC since 2022, could have been made the captain. 

OS players is another issue where the bowlers are strong but the batsmen consist of the likes of KW and Wade. Wade has been with the team since 2022 but is hardly utilized. KW again is not an ideal T20 batsman esp. in a lineup that already has Saha, Sudarshan, etc. 

5 minutes ago, BacktoCricaddict said:

"Over my dead body!! Wooden spoon hamara hai and hamesha hamara hi rahega! Don't try to grab the one thing that we can legitimately claim as ours!"

-Yours truly,

ICF Bangloreans

"Ee salaa chamcha namde"

:no:

GT needs all the titles whether it is the cup or the spoon :aha: 

32 minutes ago, BacktoCricaddict said:

"Over my dead body!! Wooden spoon hamara hai and hamesha hamara hi rahega! Don't try to grab the one thing that we can legitimately claim as ours!"

-Yours truly,

ICF Bangloreans

"Ee salaa chamcha namde"

“Deserves” is the keyword. GT deserves but don’t have it, we deserve it and  we do own it as well! Ee sala wooden spoon namde!!

59 minutes ago, coffee_rules said:

“Deserves” is the keyword. GT deserves but don’t have it, we deserve it and  we do own it as well! Ee sala wooden spoon namde!!

This is how it always starts. They will start saying "deserved" and this and that, while surreptitiously trying to outright snatch what is rightfully ours. Hushaaraagirbeku.