Paris Olympics 2024 Discussion Thread

3 hours ago, Gollum said:

St Lucia population 1.8 lakhs

Smaller than Barbados @Lone Wolf

Bhai they have nothing else to do there. Sport is a perfect past time. They have all the time in the world. 

A German long jumper Luz Long (also main rival) helped Jesse Owens get his landing right. Owens considered him a very good friend till the end.

Ultimately victors write the histories. Nazis, Japs did many terrible things but so did the Anglos, in fact for much longer and continue till date. 

Brits still think of Churchill as a hero. One of the most evil men in history if you study his life and actions. 

Can't blame Churchill when our own piece of **** people betrayed our own kind. We did it to ourselves for the benefit of few big leaders. 

3 hours ago, neel roy said:

No different than holocaust. 5 million people starved and died in bengal famine due to hunger as destitutes.. all grains exported to England to support soldiers. Mothers amputated their arms to feed their babies..all under Churchills orders..

Churchill Isa trash human being. He should have been spat on and starved to death but without our own leaders at the time or kings/Chieftains who dint want to be united, brits wouldn't be able to invade india. We did it to ourselves. 

2 hours ago, AKane said:

When a nation with 1/20th our population can come 5000 miles from their home and rule us for 150 years, there must be something right about them and something wrong about us.

it should not have happened - dynastic politics hurt us then too. Bajirao I was a great general. 3 or 4 generations later Bajirao II  was an absolute coward. There was no need to go down the dynasty route. Appoint  the most capable person for the Maratha empire.

Yes filail love cost us big time. Bajirao one was a warrior. One of the Best leaders of all time. Never lost a battle. 

Rule over entire india wasn't 150 years. It's under 100 years but yes. People need to stop inflating the numbers. Northern India perhaps was under 150. 

5 hours ago, Gollum said:

Subconscious bias may also be at play in minds of judges. Mexico is a top boxing nation, we are nobodies. Price being paid by poor Nishant. 

Nishant would have put so much hard work, endured pain along the way to be in that situation...was robbed off a medal. That was my worst moment of the Olympics surpassing the chirag satvik loss.

Feeling this even after knowing that boxing judges have a reputation for giving wrong decisions. 

8 hours ago, nitinbwj said:

Mexican coach knew it. He was celebrating midway through 3rd round. Who was the Indian  coach. :phehe:

Might be some parchi sifarshi guy from federation who can't spring two sentences in English.

That's how it rolls.

2 hours ago, randomGuy said:

Nishant would have put so much hard work, endured pain along the way to be in that situation...was robbed off a medal. That was my worst moment of the Olympics surpassing the chirag satvik loss.

Feeling this even after knowing that boxing judges have a reputation for giving wrong decisions. 

Boxing at Olympics has always been very dirty.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Boxing_at_the_2012_Summer_Olympics

You can see in last section, how many of our boxers were robbed in London, even the commentators called it "daylight robbery".

All these with allegations of medal fixing etc make amateur boxing a very shady sport.

17 minutes ago, Number said:

You can see in last section, how many of our boxers were robbed in London, even the commentators called it "daylight robbery".

All these with allegations of medal fixing etc make amateur boxing a very shady sport.

Quit it. * it. Otherwise we need our government to intervene. 

Also watch this fight. Beterbiev vs usyk

Beterbiev clearly beat him in the Olympics and was robbed. And usyk knows this. 

1 hour ago, Number said:

I suggest withdraw from it from the next time. I have haryanvi friends tell me that the district level competitions are brutal... Cuts, bloodied faces... boxers have to come through a lot, n then at the ultimate stage, to get beaten by unfair decisions, brings the question - was all that hard work worth it?

Edited by randomGuy
9 hours ago, Singh bling said:

Jesse owens won gold in most racist country of that time when almost every other person barring few were against him and his race.

Well Jesse Owens played for USA, not some poor African country. That helped.

Also he faced more racism back home in the US than he did in Nazi Germany during the Olympics. 

21 minutes ago, randomGuy said:

I suggest withdraw from it from the next time. I have haryanvi friends tell me that the district level competitions are brutal... Cuts, bloodied faces... boxers have to come through a lot, n then at the ultimate stage, to get beaten by unfair decisions, brings the question - was all that hard work worth it?

Well I believe the sport is very famous and will survive even without Olympics so we should keep producing boxers. 

Instead of quitting may be we can try better lobbying outside the ring. :giggle:

There were reports of referees who have failed integrity tests in 2021 are officiating here. 

https://www.thetimes.com/article/ba70b93d-3f46-4e6b-ac7f-99abcaf28149?shareToken=2733d21dac98aa3a6e5743a6d26ef645

9 hours ago, Gollum said:

A German long jumper Luz Long (also main rival) helped Jesse Owens get his landing right. Owens considered him a very good friend till the end.

Ultimately victors write the histories. Nazis, Japs did many terrible things but so did the Anglos, in fact for much longer and continue till date. 

Brits still think of Churchill as a hero. One of the most evil men in history if you study his life and actions. 

Germans under Hitler, Iran & Ahmedinijad, Libya & Ghaddafi, Iraq and Saddam Hussien, Russia and Putin have never done as much crime as the anglos did and as you mentioned still doing. Churchill starved 3-4 million bengalis to death in wartime. Nobody bats and eyelid. Infact many dont know. Even british politicians and aussie and canadian politicians were aghast at churchill's evil act at the time.

We have to fight this churchill as the hero trope until its not said anymore. for that, we have to do a counter narrative to display facts like this to say he was way worse than hitler or any dictator. At the very least, it will help the fire going in Indian minds and hearts so that they are not fooled by the information warfare that's being conducted on us. With that said, today the war will be in Paris against the cunning thieves GBR with the umps at their disposal.

7 hours ago, vvvslaxman said:

Did you guys watch 4 x 400 mixed relay? Damn the way Netherlands pushed in the end was super stuff. USA was few feet away clinching the gold. THat tall Netherlands girl did an incredible finish.

Yeah. I just watched replay, superb effort. Thought the US girl was a bit casual.

9 hours ago, AKane said:

When a nation with 1/20th our population can come 5000 miles from their home and rule us for 150 years, there must be something right about them and something wrong about us.

it should not have happened - dynastic politics hurt us then too. Bajirao I was a great general. 3 or 4 generations later Bajirao II  was an absolute coward. There was no need to go down the dynasty route. Appoint  the most capable person for the Maratha empire.

caste