Paris Olympics 2024 Discussion Thread

Hope boys aren't too crestfallen. Still a medal to be won, they owe their country that much.

Back to back Olympic medals is no mean feat even if they are bronze. We were without a hockey Olympic medal for 40 years and even the 1980 one was won in a weak field due to Western boycott. 1972 was the last time we won against full strength field, also the last Olympics to be played on grass turf. 

I have been following hockey since 2003 CT (actually started with 2000 Sydney but didn't understand much). Opening match we were leading Dutch 3-0 till final 5 minutes when they pumped in 4 goals. Disappointments were par for course, for most of 2000s we used to get ragdolled by South Korea and Pakistan (Sohail Abbas and Rehan Butt were reason for many of our losses), forget gora powerhouses. In 2008 Olympics China qualified ahead of us (first and only time we missed qualification), 2012 London we finished in 12th place, 12th out of 12 teams losing to RSA in 11th/12th playoff. Then when we were at our lowest and a laughing stock, Naveen babu stepped in, we rebuilt brick by brick. 

Our team  is playing its second Olympic medal match. Improved since Tokyo and actually played like a top 2 team here. Another day we would have won 4-1 against these Germans. All I am saying is don't give up hope on Indian hockey.

11 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said:

I like soccer both men and women. USA is a pretty good team. After India, USA is the team that i root for. SO i am happy they are in the final. I root USA in all events. Even the events that i don't quiet follow. 

And one must if they have lived there, earn and make a living there. I understand those who are in the new country for just a year or two might not feel the same emotions for their new country but if you have lived 5 years or something, that support should come from within. If its not then its clearly a person who has grown up in one of those weird countries where upbringing is different and kid is brainwashed and only taught white people are weird or kafir etc.

Edited by Cricketics

Gold for Phogat
Gold for Neeraj
Bronze for Hockey

We might equal London tally, More will be icing

A lot of 4th finishes would have taken us to double digits

2 minutes ago, coffee_rules said:

Gold for Phogat
Gold for Neeraj
Bronze for Hockey

Both wrestlers have infused new life into our campaign. Hope it spurs couple of other wrestlers to medal. 

Neeraj's throw today was a boost. We may still surpass Tokyo. 

6 minutes ago, Cricketics said:

And one must if they have lived there, earn and make a living there. I understand those who are in the new country for just a year or two might not feel the same emotions for their new country but if you have lived 5 years or something, that support should come from within. If its not then its clearly a person who has grown up in one of those weird countries where upbringing is different and kid is brainwashed and only taught white people are weird or kafir etc.

I have lived here long enough to root for them ofcourse not against India. 

We were one man short in the squad as well, so Germans had an edge with substitutions. And playing out of position is never nice. 

6 minutes ago, coffee_rules said:

Gold for Phogat
Gold for Neeraj
Bronze for Hockey

What are the other sports we are likely to win ? 

1 hour ago, New guy said:

Nah, how is it any worse than so many of the other useless sports we have in Olympics? Some random horse parade? Surfing? Break dancing? 

Better than some, worse than a few others। 

32 minutes ago, New guy said:
INDIANS IN ACTION - AUGUST 7
11:00 - Athletics - Marathon Race Walk Relay Mixed - Suraj Panwar/Priyanka
12:30 - Golf - Women’s Individual Stroke Play Round 1 - Aditi Ashok, Diksha Dagar
13:30 - Table Tennis - Women’s Team Quarterfinal - India vs Germany
13:35 - Athletics - Men’s High Jump Qualification - Sarvesh Anil Kushare
13:45 - Athletics - Women’s 100m Hurdles Round 1 - Jyothi Yarraji
14:30 - Wrestling - Women’s Freestyle 53kg 1/8 Final - Antim Panghal vs Zeynep Yetgil (Turkiye)
Women’s Freestyle 53kg 1/4 Final - Antim Panghal (Subject to qualification)
21:45 - Wrestling - Women’s Freestyle 53kg Semifinal - Antim Panghal (Subject to qualification)
21:45 - Wrestling - Women’s Freestyle 50kg Final - Vinesh Phogat vs Sarah Ann Hildebrandt (USA)
22:45 - Athletics - Men’s Triple Jump Qualification - Abdulla Narangolintevida, Praveen Chithravel
23:00 - Weightlifting - Women’s 49kg - Mirabai Chanu
01:13 (August 8) - Men’s 3000m Steeplechase Final - Avinash Sable

Aditi Ashok

Women's team TT QF

Antim Panghal

Vinesh Phogat

Mirabai Chanu

Sable

Action packed day. 

Think I have to take a long break from ICF, social media after the Olympics. Work getting affected so much. 

34 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said:

I like soccer both men and women. USA is a pretty good team. After India, USA is the team that i root for. SO i am happy they are in the final. I root USA in all events. Even the events that i don't quiet follow. 

Good for you. 

Sushil Kumar has 2 Olympic medals but is a convicted murderer. Doesn’t lessen the value of his medals or the dedication and skill needed to win an Olympic medal.

Vinesh brining in gold shows her skill and grit and deserves all the accolades. However that suddenly doesn’t make her accusations right or wrong. BrijBhushsan does scream goonda/Don when you look at him but even if Vinesh gets gold medal it doesn’t make her accusation right or wrong: there are courts and law for that.

Edited by maniac
13 minutes ago, Gollum said:

377 pages, will be 450 by end of tomorrow and one gold richer hopefully @Real McCoy

Then one more gold (Neeraj :cheer:), 3-4 more medals 

I had signed off to sleep. couldn't sleep after watching this nightmare of a match. now im back on ICF. like you I also need to take a break from ICF after the olympics. Im getting sleepy now. so signing off :sleep:

Aditi Ashok had a crazy run last time and was leading at a time in Golf for Gold until she missed few shots on the last day and finished 4th. Hoping she has a good run tomorrow and the days ahead. Starting of well on day 1 will be important. 

8 minutes ago, maniac said:

Sushil Kumar has 2 Olympic medals but is a convicted murderer. Doesn’t lessen the value of his medals or the dedication and skill needed to win an Olympic medal.

Vinesh brining in gold shows her skill and grit and deserves all the accolades. However that suddenly doesn’t make her accusations right or wrong. BrijBhushsan does scream goonda/Don when you look at him but even if Vinesh gets gold medal it doesn’t make her accusation right or wrong: there are courts and law for that.

Yaar politics gayi bhaad mein. Enjoy the medal which comes and save politics for  another week once this is over. This thread just deserve accolades for atheletes and few gali galoch here and there like mc bc dil se when someone chokes. Thats the true spirit of following Indian sports players. 

2 minutes ago, Cricketics said:

Aditi Ashok had a crazy run last time and was leading at a time in Golf for Gold until she missed few shots on the last day and finished 4th. Hoping she has a good run tomorrow and the days ahead. Starting of well on day 1 will be important. 

Aditi tends to overperform when representing her country. Won silver in last Asian Games when there were 15+ golfers ranked higher than her. 

42 minutes ago, Gollum said:

Both wrestlers have infused new life into our campaign. Hope it spurs couple of other wrestlers to medal. 

Neeraj's throw today was a boost. We may still surpass Tokyo. 

antim, aman, ritika, anshu are good.