Gollum Posted August 6, 2024 Posted August 6, 2024 (edited) 2 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said: Was he the mujrim? His name is trending. Bad game today, but TV umpire was the mujrim. Jarman played well against Aussies, Brits. An ofs day today especially in Q2. Silly way to concede first PC, reason for the penalty stroke but TV umpire *ed up there. I am sorry but the video umpire was so bad today. The penalty stroke that she gave was clearly going wide when it hit the shin pads of Jarmanpreet. @FIH_Hockey needs to get their act in order big time— Viren Rasquinha (@virenrasquinha) August 6, 2024 Edited August 6, 2024 by Gollum
Cricketics Posted August 6, 2024 Posted August 6, 2024 (edited) 2 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said: Was he the mujrim? His name is trending. Shweta sounds like a Typical Bollywood fanatic Indian girl who watches one sport in ages because twitter/X showed her its trending. Edited August 6, 2024 by Cricketics Sgattick10 1
deathmonger Posted August 6, 2024 Posted August 6, 2024 40 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said: What are the other sports we are likely to win ? Mostly wrestling. Maybe Mirabai.
Gollum Posted August 6, 2024 Posted August 6, 2024 2 minutes ago, deathmonger said: antim, aman, ritika, anshu are good. Antim got a decent draw for tomorrow. Avoided the main threats in her half.
deathmonger Posted August 6, 2024 Posted August 6, 2024 3 minutes ago, Gollum said: Aditi tends to overperform when representing her country. Won silver in last Asian Games when there were 15+ golfers ranked higher than her. Also I think field is a bit easier too due to country limits. Gollum and neel roy 1 1
New guy Posted August 6, 2024 Posted August 6, 2024 (edited) 15 minutes ago, maniac said: Sushil Kumar has 2 Olympic medals but is a convicted murderer. Doesn’t lessen the value of his medals or the dedication and skill needed to win an Olympic medal. Vinesh brining in gold shows her skill and grit and deserves all the accolades. However that suddenly doesn’t make her accusations right or wrong. BrijBhushsan does scream goonda/Don when you look at him but even if Vinesh gets gold medal it doesn’t make her accusation right or wrong: there are courts and law for that. Which doesn't mean she is bullied and attacked her own country men before an important Olympics. And I love when you guys pretend to be deaf nd dumb and think when the entire ruling party is against you courts and law will do anything. The sheer tears and desperation of these athletes is proof enough to any but the most biased. For years and years you have spoken about corruption from other parties etc without cases even being ng proven in any court It's not that people are even talking about the accused guys being in jail, but the fact that these guys are still allowed to be in charge and bully athletes and put their own stooges in charge is the truly shameful thing. The fact that you are comparing victims with murderers show the sick mentality of Indian males and why India tops the list for most dangerous countries for women year after year.. With mentality like yours, your own sisters mad mothers and daughter and wives will never ever feel safe in this country. Instead of calling out the bullying and attacks you are comparing her to a murderer on the day she qualified for finals Pathetic. You are free to lick asses of any party you want including endangering your own women family members, but keep away your sick mentality from the athletes who are giving everything from their country. Edited August 6, 2024 by New guy rollingstoned and Ultimate_Game 1 1
deathmonger Posted August 6, 2024 Posted August 6, 2024 55 minutes ago, Gollum said: Hope boys aren't too crestfallen. Still a medal to be won, they owe their country that much. Back to back Olympic medals is no mean feat even if they are bronze. We were without a hockey Olympic medal for 40 years and even the 1980 one was won in a weak field due to Western boycott. 1972 was the last time we won against full strength field, also the last Olympics to be played on grass turf. I have been following hockey since 2003 CT (actually started with 2000 Sydney but didn't understand much). Opening match we were leading Dutch 3-0 till final 5 minutes when they pumped in 4 goals. Disappointments were par for course, for most of 2000s we used to get ragdolled by South Korea and Pakistan (Sohail Abbas and Rehan Butt were reason for many of our losses), forget gora powerhouses. In 2008 Olympics China qualified ahead of us (first and only time we missed qualification), 2012 London we finished in 12th place, 12th out of 12 teams losing to RSA in 11th/12th playoff. Then when we were at our lowest and a laughing stock, Naveen babu stepped in, we rebuilt brick by brick. Our team is playing its second Olympic medal match. Improved since Tokyo and actually played like a top 2 team here. Another day we would have won 4-1 against these Germans. All I am saying is don't give up hope on Indian hockey. Yeah, the likes of Malaysia Pakistan are no match now. Gollum 1
Gollum Posted August 6, 2024 Posted August 6, 2024 (edited) 4 minutes ago, deathmonger said: Yeah, the likes of Malaysia Pakistan are no match now. And we have improved instead of other Asian teams dropping to our level. The number of wins we have got against Ger, Neth, Bel, Aus, Spain, GBR/Eng in last 7-8 years, I doubt we had that many wins against them in the 25 years prior. I think we have beaten Aussies 26 times since 1960, I can recall 5-6 wins against them since 2016. We have beaten Germans 26 times in our history, probably 8-10 out of those 26 times since Rio. We are 15-0 against Pak since Rio with average margin of defeat being 5 goals. Edited August 6, 2024 by Gollum
maniac Posted August 6, 2024 Posted August 6, 2024 1 minute ago, New guy said: Instead of calling out the bullying and attacks you are comparing her to a murderer. Pathetic. I am comparing her with another Olympic athlete coincidentally from the same sport who also won medals that we celebrated but is a murderer and there was no immunity. Law took its course. When you can separate that what makes this case different? So her accusations are correct if she wins a gold and she is a liar if she loses first round? Truth is truth. Also that BrijBhushan guy is not liked by his own party.
vvvslaxman Posted August 6, 2024 Posted August 6, 2024 Although medal count is less than Tokyo i think we did well overall i suppose. If you really want to keep increasing the medal count every olympics you need more players following the foot steps of predecessors. You need a supply chain. You cannot have some odd talented player doing well in one disicpline and once he calls it a day we never win that event again. Just like no one could folow the foot steps of PV Sindhu. Number 1
LordPrabhzy Posted August 6, 2024 Posted August 6, 2024 1 minute ago, Gollum said: And we have improved instead of other Asian teams dropping to our level. The number of wins we have got against Ger, Neth, Bel, Aus, Spain, GBR/Eng in last 7-8 years, I doubt we had that many wins against them in the 25 years prior. I think we have beaten Aussies 26 times since 1960, I can recall 6 wins against them since 2016. We have beaten Germans 26 times in our history, probably 8-10 out of those 26 times since Rio. without stronger asian sides to accompany India there is no way the biased referring lobby of whites can be challenged. Only India is the non white asian powerhouse of hockey in the Top 12 and then its Malaysia, and on its own it cant have any influence. Gollum, New guy and Ultimate_Game 1 2
New guy Posted August 6, 2024 Posted August 6, 2024 (edited) 6 minutes ago, maniac said: I am comparing her with another Olympic athlete coincidentally from the same sport who also won medals that we celebrated but is a murderer and there was no immunity. Law took its course. When you can separate that what makes this case different? So her accusations are correct if she wins a gold and she is a liar if she loses first round? Truth is truth. Also that BrijBhushan guy is not liked by his own party. You compared a crying victim begging for justice with a convicted murderer for no reason other rhan to defend your cult party. Her accusations were always correct to anyone but the pure blind bhakts, the sheer tears and desperation of the athletes where they put their career at stakes is proof enough. Unless you are the dumbest person in India you know law has never taken its course against important members affiliated with ruling party. If he was not liked by anyone, he would not have been allowed to plant his stooge as a replacement who worships him and keeps talking highly about him You can backtrack all you want but you showed your true nature and glimpse today. In all my many years on social media, this is one of the sickest thing I have ever read. Edited August 6, 2024 by New guy Sgattick10 1
Gollum Posted August 6, 2024 Posted August 6, 2024 Funny thing is all our gora coaches have spoken about bad umpiring calls against India. When they coached us they too felt the pain and were outspoken about it. Like Oltmans who coached Netherlands before, or Graham Reid who coached Aussies before. Fulton who coached Belgium before will experience this same sinking feeling now that he is part of our setup. Ultimate_Game and New guy 1 1
neel roy Posted August 6, 2024 Posted August 6, 2024 9 minutes ago, Gollum said: And we have improved instead of other Asian teams dropping to our level. The number of wins we have got against Ger, Neth, Bel, Aus, Spain, GBR/Eng in last 7-8 years, I doubt we had that many wins against them in the 25 years prior. I think we have beaten Aussies 26 times since 1960, I can recall 5-6 wins against them since 2016. We have beaten Germans 26 times in our history, probably 8-10 out of those 26 times since Rio. We are 15-0 against Pak since Rio with average margin of defeat being 5 goals. Is it the first time in many years that aus is not in top 4 in olympics hockey?
Gollum Posted August 6, 2024 Posted August 6, 2024 Boxing, hockey mein judges/refs hold too much power. Too subjective, and richer countries, countries with better legacy (eg Cuba, Mexico in boxing) will have a big advantage. This is why vital to target sports like shooting, archery more ruthlessly, where it is just you, the target and your nerves. You hut the bull's eye, no lowda referee can claim it hit outer 6. And so many medals to collect. Archery federation needs to be investigated, even the seniors who as per reports are looking out for their self interests and blocking progress of youngsters. Wrestling is awesome because of its transparency, also you can challenge decisions during match unlike boxing. Ultimate_Game and neel roy 1 1
neel roy Posted August 6, 2024 Posted August 6, 2024 11 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said: Although medal count is less than Tokyo i think we did well overall i suppose. If you really want to keep increasing the medal count every olympics you need more players following the foot steps of predecessors. You need a supply chain. You cannot have some odd talented player doing well in one disicpline and once he calls it a day we never win that event again. Just like no one could folow the foot steps of PV Sindhu. Supply chain is there only in wrestling. Every olympics since since 2012 we got a medal.
Gollum Posted August 6, 2024 Posted August 6, 2024 3 minutes ago, neel roy said: Is it the first time in many years that aus is not in top 4 in olympics hockey? They had a disastrous campaign in Rio. Came as favorites, campaign ended in tears. Their posters on reddit, footy forum talk a lot about their Rio disaster. I don't have much recollection of their performance in those Games because of timings, and them being in another group.
Gollum Posted August 6, 2024 Posted August 6, 2024 Just now, neel roy said: Supply chain is there only in wrestling. Every olympics since since 2012 we got a medal. 2008 Sushil also. Our most consistent sport. neel roy 1
Gollum Posted August 6, 2024 Posted August 6, 2024 14 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said: Although medal count is less than Tokyo i think we did well overall i suppose. If you really want to keep increasing the medal count every olympics you need more players following the foot steps of predecessors. You need a supply chain. You cannot have some odd talented player doing well in one disicpline and once he calls it a day we never win that event again. Just like no one could folow the foot steps of PV Sindhu. We are improving but not at the pace we expected.
Gollum Posted August 6, 2024 Posted August 6, 2024 What is the longest thread on ICF @Austin 3:!6 @Lord? This may touch 500 pages by the time Olympics ends. Then we have Paralympics from Aug 28.